We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Massa Martana
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just got married at castello di montignano and I can not recommend the castle and the staff highly enough.... We had 63 guest staying over 3 days and they were all made to feel like this was there home, absolutely nothing was too much trouble and there were no rules, not once were we or our guest told something wasn't possible or not aloud! It was the perfect setting and venue to make our day as special as possible!

There were quite a lot of under 30s attending and nearly all were English so you can imagine the amount of alcohol consumed and madness that ensued, however Claudia and her team were so accommodating that not once was I worried that my guest were feeling unwelcome! In fact I think they actually enjoyed the party as much as we did.

The venue itself is surrounded by the most beautiful views you could ask for and the castle is the perfect fusion of classic / medieval style building fused the luxurious modern bathrooms and elegant bedrooms offering a service that is absolutely 2nd to none. The food and wine is fantastic, absolutely everybody raved about it, which in my eyes is a huge achievement when cooking for 63 people!!

Claudia did an absolutely fantastic job as a wedding planner, organising a wedding from abroad is challenging at the best of times but she is brilliant at what she does - she is trustworthy, honest, humble, kind... you honestly could not ask for more support.

If you are considering a holiday or a wedding day at the castle my advise is to go for it!!! it will be the experience of a life time and they will exceed all your expectations!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    142
    39
    14
    4
See reviews for
96
389
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
215 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We arrived to the hotel quite by accident - and were surprised.
The hotel is located in a small place called Montignano in Umbria - 12 families lives there. Pretty easy to make mistake and miss it - but worth trying to reach.
Beautiful hotel. Staff - there are no words to describe the service, the desire to help and friendliness of all the staff from reception to the breakfast waiters.
The room we got was big, with designed bathroom.
The hotel has a SPA - warm bath , Sauna etc. - loved every minute spend there .
Wonderful breakfast
Dinner - very strict food, tasty and beautifully served. Serving and pouring the wines was very professional.
During our stay an art exhibition was presented - beautiful and intriguing.
Highly recommended place - worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Me and my wife have been there twice, and everything was amazing, the location, the service, the spa, the massages and the food....The owners Giuseppe and Claudia are the perfect hosts...!!! Can't wait to go there again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

My family recently stayed 2 nights at Castello di Montignano. It was a wonderful experience!
Our suite was beautiful. We also chose two treatments at the wellness center and loved every minute!
The food at the Materiaprima restaurant.was truly outstanding We enjoyed local products, with a very innovative cuisine. Everything we had was excellent and beautifully presented.
We particularly liked the contrast between the ancient stone building, and the surrounding borgo, and the renovated rooms with all the modern amenities of a luxury hotel.
The owners, Giuseppe and Claudia made everyone feel at home. All staff members were efficient and friendly. Thank you!
We will definitely go back in the summer to try their outdoor pool from which you can enjoy a beautiful view of the surrounding valley.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

My wife and I have just got married at Castello di Montignano. We had a party of circa 50 visit from the UK, generally couples between the ages of 25 and 40. Every single one of them loved the hotel. My wife and I took about 30 seconds to decide it was where we wanted to get married after arrival, and every time we have visited (many times now) we have been made to feel like it is our home.

The rooms are the perfect balance of luxury and rustic, mixing othopaedic mattresses with wooden beams, and every room has fantastic views of the stunning rolling countryside. The rain showers are to die for, breakfast is a massive spread, and the food and wine is all locally sourced from nearby and cooked to perfection by the chef. I simply cannot praise this hotel enough. They made our wedding day amazing from start to finish - the flowers, set up of the various areas, music, photography - we were simply overwhelmed. Furthermore, how many people get to have a spa party the night before their wedding, while the boys are downstairs drinking fine whisky.

However, it is no coincidence that Castello di Montignano offers such a personal and immaculate service. The owners, Claudia and Giuseppe are always around, and are truly lovely people that would do anything for anyone. Their staff are a credit to them, in particular their assistant Beatrice, and I simply cannot understand how anyone can criticise service. Everything is done with attentiveness and a smile. I could get 30 guests to put a perfect review on here, and whilst everything else is also fantastic, they would all say that the staff stand out.

Do yourself a favour and ignore the nonsense comments from people like Shlomzee, who must go to places looking for something to complain about, rather than to enjoy a holiday or to relax. We have travelled all over the world, stayed in the Ritz Singapore, Oberoi Udaipur, and many many others, and not one has ever made us feel as happy as this place - hence why we decided to get married here.

If you read this Claudia/Giuseppe - See you very soon - and thank you so much for a truly amazing wedding.

Lyndon & Roxana

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding, but Arnolfi is extremely romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndonG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

With love and attention to every detail, Claudia and Giuseppe surpassed our expectations by taking every yet impossible idea and made it come true for our unforgettable wedding celebration.

Our guests wouldn't stop praising the outstanding food- that is proudly "kilometre zero", locally grown and fresh.
Cooking for a big wedding party can be challenging (especially for an outside dinner), nevertheless their team excelled impressively.
As did their staff, that was always attentive, accommodating and helpful to every little need- also at impossible hours.

"Your castle is my castle" was their take on this elegantly renovated, modern yet antique boutique hotel and we fondly think back to how they made us feel at home and part of the "montignano-family" at every moment of our week stay!
Thank you!

Lots of love from New York! See you soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nandabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

If you are going to Italy... anywhwere in Italy - do yourselft a favour and travel to Castello di Montignano. Claudia and Giuseppe, along with their staff make you feel so incredibly welcome. We had our wedding there (July 30th). It was perfect. Literally perfect. The staff attended to every need of our guests. Claudia, Isabella and Bea, did an amazing job of organzing and executing an experience for our guests they will never forget!

Claudia and Giuseppe, you should be very proud of all you and your team at Montignano have been able to accomplish. We will visit often.

We cannot thank you enough!

Mike and Nat

p.s. we will post picks asap....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeG0333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Martana
23.4 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
22.1 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residenza San Pietro Sopra Le Acque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
11.4 mi away
Il Baio Relais & Natural SPA
Il Baio Relais & Natural SPA
#1 of 1 in Camporoppolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
21.1 mi away
Valle di Assisi
Valle di Assisi
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa

Property: Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
Address: Localita Montignano, 6, 06056 Massa Martana, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Massa Martana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Massa Martana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Montignano is a Heritage Hotel set on a hill with great view, very close to Todi and Massa Martana and very easy to reach from Rome.It has 12 romantic rooms with view, Spa Acquadegna with relax area, outdoor pool, gourmet Restaurant Materiaprima. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Montignano Relais Hotel Massa Martana
Castello Di Montignano Relais And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing