We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delight is made of simplicity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Massa Martana
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delight is made of simplicity”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I've just been here at the end of July for a friends' of mine wedding.
The wedding civil ceremony, the night wedding reception and the day after pool party were all kept on site and that was great for everyone, especially for the foreigner guests.
The location is unique as well as its surroundings are, the staff is always kind and really competent so that everything is quite simple but extremely well done and without that frenzy you can usually find at this kind of events.
I should also give an excellent mark to the food. All the meals were great, in the right portions and never too much.
I can just add that is also quite easy to reach from Rome by car in two hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrexAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    144
    39
    14
    4
See reviews for
100
408
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed there this past July, an extended family of 17 ranging in age from 4-80, and we had an absolutely wonderful time. The views are majestic and the rooms we had were all spectacular. Everyone was happy and we couldn't have chosen a better place. It is less than two hours from Rome and an hour from Assisi, Orvietto, Perugia and other charming hill side towns. The owner, Giuseppe Alcini and his wonderfull staff welcomed us and we felt as if we were part of the Alcini family and the castle was truly our fantasy home. Our only criticism is the food, which is good, but not as spectacular as the rooms, location and pool. We can't wait to return.

Wonderful spot for weddings, family vacations and quiet weekends away from Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruisip, Middlesex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We were recently there for our son's wedding, nothing was too much trouble,the staff were brilliant. The rooms were beautiful, the Spa wonderful, and location fabulous.
I can't recommded this hotel enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJames639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just got married at castello di montignano and I can not recommend the castle and the staff highly enough.... We had 63 guest staying over 3 days and they were all made to feel like this was there home, absolutely nothing was too much trouble and there were no rules, not once were we or our guest told something wasn't possible or not aloud! It was the perfect setting and venue to make our day as special as possible!

There were quite a lot of under 30s attending and nearly all were English so you can imagine the amount of alcohol consumed and madness that ensued, however Claudia and her team were so accommodating that not once was I worried that my guest were feeling unwelcome! In fact I think they actually enjoyed the party as much as we did.

The venue itself is surrounded by the most beautiful views you could ask for and the castle is the perfect fusion of classic / medieval style building fused the luxurious modern bathrooms and elegant bedrooms offering a service that is absolutely 2nd to none. The food and wine is fantastic, absolutely everybody raved about it, which in my eyes is a huge achievement when cooking for 63 people!!

Claudia did an absolutely fantastic job as a wedding planner, organising a wedding from abroad is challenging at the best of times but she is brilliant at what she does - she is trustworthy, honest, humble, kind... you honestly could not ask for more support.

If you are considering a holiday or a wedding day at the castle my advise is to go for it!!! it will be the experience of a life time and they will exceed all your expectations!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We arrived to the hotel quite by accident - and were surprised.
The hotel is located in a small place called Montignano in Umbria - 12 families lives there. Pretty easy to make mistake and miss it - but worth trying to reach.
Beautiful hotel. Staff - there are no words to describe the service, the desire to help and friendliness of all the staff from reception to the breakfast waiters.
The room we got was big, with designed bathroom.
The hotel has a SPA - warm bath , Sauna etc. - loved every minute spend there .
Wonderful breakfast
Dinner - very strict food, tasty and beautifully served. Serving and pouring the wines was very professional.
During our stay an art exhibition was presented - beautiful and intriguing.
Highly recommended place - worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Me and my wife have been there twice, and everything was amazing, the location, the service, the spa, the massages and the food....The owners Giuseppe and Claudia are the perfect hosts...!!! Can't wait to go there again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My family recently stayed 2 nights at Castello di Montignano. It was a wonderful experience!
Our suite was beautiful. We also chose two treatments at the wellness center and loved every minute!
The food at the Materiaprima restaurant.was truly outstanding We enjoyed local products, with a very innovative cuisine. Everything we had was excellent and beautifully presented.
We particularly liked the contrast between the ancient stone building, and the surrounding borgo, and the renovated rooms with all the modern amenities of a luxury hotel.
The owners, Giuseppe and Claudia made everyone feel at home. All staff members were efficient and friendly. Thank you!
We will definitely go back in the summer to try their outdoor pool from which you can enjoy a beautiful view of the surrounding valley.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Martana
22.1 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
1,702 reviews
3.2 mi away
Relais Todini
Relais Todini
#1 of 17 in Todi
309 reviews
23.4 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Residenza San Pietro Sopra Le Acque
11.1 mi away
Il Baio Relais & Natural SPA
Il Baio Relais & Natural SPA
#1 of 1 in Camporoppolo
668 reviews
21.6 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa

Property: Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
Address: Localita Montignano, 6, 06056 Massa Martana, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Massa Martana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Massa Martana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Montignano is a Heritage Hotel set on a hill with great view, very close to Todi and Massa Martana and very easy to reach from Rome.It has 12 romantic rooms with view, Spa Acquadegna with relax area, outdoor pool, gourmet Restaurant Materiaprima. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Montignano Relais Hotel Massa Martana
Castello Di Montignano Relais And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing