We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casale Del Sole

16 metre x 12 metre pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
16 metre x 12 metre pool
Sun deck giving an incredible view west across the valley to the distant mountains. Sun deck faces west from the kitchen terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
16 metre x 12 metre pool
Sun deck giving an incredible view west across the valley to the distant mountains.
Sun deck faces west from the kitchen terrace
Kitchen terrace with stone dining table seating 10 -12 people
Double Bedroom 2 with ensuite. can also be made up as twin beds
Ensuite for Double bedroom 1
Upper terrace faces west over the valley
Double Bedroom 1
Aerial view of Casale Del Sole set in Vineyards and gardens
Hot summer nights
lavender path to the pool
Modern kitchen with all facilities
main living room and indoor dining table
Lower terrace looking into the sunset
Kitchen terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Massa Martana, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bethany M
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Casale Del Sole was our favorite part of our 12 days in Italy. We stayed in four different locations and this one was the winner. The house is beautifully decorated in a Tuscan theme. We felt at home with the casual feel. The view from the many terraces overlooking Umbria were breathtaking. We were in amazement every morning and night with the views. The pool was closed and the vegetation was not in bloom when we were there....I couldn't imagine the place at peak season. Very good location for day trips.
Marylise and Paulo were fantastic hostesses. Marylisse was always available to help with any questions. The owner Chris was always accomodating in that he got back to us quickly during the booking process.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2018
Hi Bethany, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed the delights of our house Casale Del Sole and Umbria in general. It gives us great pleasure to let our house to such nice guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Marylise and Paola both say hi...and we all say....come back and see Umbria again soon! Best Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopershe...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had a great time! The house is lovely and comfortable and the views are amazing. Chris was very helpful and shared a detailed list of the best places to eat in the area, which we used a lot. Would love to go back in summer and use the pool!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2018
Hi Shevaun, Thanks so much for your stay at Casale Del Sole. We are delighted you enjoyed your time there and my restaurant tips! We are always happy to help. Thanks for taking the time to write your kind review and do come back in the summer for a swim too..it's fabulous..ha ha! Very best Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksnit
The Cincinnati Region
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful time in Umbria”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I couldn't have had a more wonderful time. The house was perfect, well equipped with everything we needed even down to a welcoming bottle of wine. If we had any questions Marylise or Paola we're on hand to help us through any problem we had. The breathtaking views alone, from any window or patio, makes this house a memorable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdeery
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely breathtaking”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Casale del Sole is a slice of heaven in Umbria. Stunning rural surroundings, beautifully appointed - truly a place to relax and appreciate everything this part of Italy has to offer. Even though it was April and the pool was not open, we were blessed with stunning weather, and enjoyed taking the opportunity to explore local hill top towns - we particularly loved Todi. Our kids had a fabulous time using the games room inventing 'new versions' of table tennis and table soccer. We imagine ourselves coming back to Casale del Sole one summer in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johneslee...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We couldn't imagine a more perfect Umbrian setting”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stylish luxury in the heart of the picture-perfect Umbrian countryside. A sensitive and tastefully restored farmhouse, with all the comforts of home as well as a beautiful pool and numerous areas in which to relax, each with its own individual character.
The sunset viewed from the deck is spectacular.
This is the perfect place to escape the world and its day to day worries; relax and feel the stresses fade away.
We hope you enjoy it as much as we have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and sunsets
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuperDave...
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Villa in the Heart of Umbria”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was exactly the type of place we were looking for. It had great amenities, wonderful scenery (rolling hills, vineyards, cypress trees), provided a sense of seclusion while being close by to town. The property is secluded (ie. you’re not near any other house), has a private gated drive way and is in a peaceful area. The house has a rustic ambience to it, but it’s fairly new. The house has 3 bedrooms and room to sleep additional people plus several bathrooms. There is a large living room for lounging in, a fully stocked kitchen for cooking in, and a large dining room. The house has wifi throughout, a library of movies plus various board games. While the property also had a pool, being winter, we didn’t take advantage of that, although we did make use of the fireplace.

We were also pleased that despite a significantly late flight arrival, we were able to meet up with the property manager late at night (after 11pm) so we could get ourselves into the property. She had even put together a little basket of food supplies which we used for a couple of our meals there. The owner provided a list of nearby attractions and restaurants. We tried the first 3 restaurants on the list and were quite pleased.

The house is located near the town of Massa Martana which is mostly useful for its grocery store (SuperConti) plus a restaurant or two. We used the house as a jumping off point for visiting various towns in Umbria and Tuscany. Todi was 20 minutes, Assisi was 50 minutes, Civita di Bagnoreggio was under an hour, Montepulciano was 105 minutes while Montalcino was closer to 2 hours.

The main challenge we had was locating the house the first time despite the detailed directions. Other tip I’ll mention as we struggled with this is that the clothes dryer is the unit on top of the washing machine that is “zipped up”.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, sizable house, great views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T
South Molton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful memories of this amazing house”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in April 2013

Tranquil, stylish, comfortable, just absolutely perfect.. Wonderful views, Lovely walks.
The best ever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A good walk and a glass of wine by the fire
Liked least: Nothing, everything was fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing