We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No working WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Pajara
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

A four star hotel with WiFi that gives 56kb speed? Strange. However, it is still possible to connect a laptop before 8am, and get basic stuff done. Everything else is what you can expect from a four star hotel, like food and rooms. Breakfast is above average.
It is just ridiculous to give out free WiFi that is swamped and not working, instead of charging for a working WiFi.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mats78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Mats78, we wish to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us. We are glad to read that the general impression of your stay was positive. Regarding the WIFI, we are aware that we had some technical problems in the last few weeks and we would like to apologize for that inconvenience. We are trying to control the Internet connection using the latest technologies in this field to provide the best quality connection. We hope we can change your opinion during a possible future visit. Until then please accept our greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,113)
There are newer reviews for Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 3,113 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week over Easter season, in search of a relaxing break with my partner. We arrived at the hotel early afternoon, and after a long flight it was annoying trying to find our way round this big complex. Into our second day tot made more sense! The beach is truly beautiful, but wear bug repellant! There's no rush for sunbeds but bring your own towel, each towel requires a 20euro deposit, and 1 euro for each clean towel!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jaxcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We wish to thank you for you review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our Hotel and for choosing our hotel for the relaxing break you were looking for and surely found at Melia Gorriones. Our hotel is a big complex and it is understandable that not finding your way by arrival, tired of a long flight, can be harder on the first day than it is on the second day. Please never doubt to ask for our assistance, we will gladly help you. Our hotel is situated on one of the best places of the Island which is at the same time a protected natural area. That is why we try to help the environment in every single aspect. We are very concerned about the big quantity of water pollution produced by hotels laundry. To help to reduce ours we are charging 1€ for every changed beach/pool towel. We hope you had a relaxing time in Fuerteventura and hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel and venue are superb, there was six of us and we went all inclusive which is ideal when part of a group. We were primarily there for the kite/windsurfing, but liked having the option of the hotels sports facilities/exercise classes in case of no wind days, there was wind every day.... We did have a bad experience with our car hire through Low cost and as yet they don't seemed to have grasped the inconvenience caused by it. We had no collection instructions on our "voucher" so assumed it was with Avis the same as the rest of the groups car hire.... one and a half hours later having visited every car rental counter we could find we then made three long calls to Low cost in the UK to be eventually told that our collection point was off site & that we needed to go to the bus stop outside to await a transfer bus.... very very frustrating indeed !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Zoe S, thank you for taking some minutes of your time to give us some feedback regarding your stay at Melia Gorriones. For a wind and kite surfing holiday you surly picked out THE place to be. We are happy you could enjoy the water and the wind. Please note that in a possible future visit with the unlikely case that there is no wind, we can offer you a lot of other sportive activities. We feel sorry for the unpleasant experience you had with the rental car. As we as hotel don’t have any influence in this. we recommend you to inform the care hire company about the inconvenience they provided by not giving the right explanation. We hope to welcome you again for another windy holiday in the near future. Until that time comes, we send you our greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Myself and my husband Jack have just returned from another fantastic week in the Melia Geronnes this has been our 3rd visit to the hotel and once again from the minute we arrived it was perfect , this holiday was a complete surprise for me which my children booked and organised for my birthday which was very special. All the staff are very pleasant and can not fault any of them , on this visit I would like to mention Teresa who was managing the hotel she is a credit to the Melia hotels every day she made a point of asking how we were and I was genuinely upset when we were leaving the hotel and saying goodbye to her The food is of a la carte standard with a large selection and variety at all meal times and all freshly prepared, again the waiting staff in the restaurant are all very mannerly and extremely keen to make sure their guests have everything they need .

We have now booked up and are returning on 15th November and would love to have the same room again as this room we had this stay was by far the best room we have had ..It is just a pity Teresa will not be there in November as she is based in Majorca at that time of year .Looking forward to returning to the hotel .

Our video http://youtu.be/KlhuUWwftDA

P & J x

Room Tip: Pool room are best
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackandPauline_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear JackandPa, thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your “Melia Gorriones experience” with us and other travelers. We are extremely happy that we can welcome you as our regular guests. It is such a great pleasure for us to read that your stay in Melia Gorriones makes you feel at home. It is good to hear that your expectation regarding our gastronomy and staff are fulfilled and that they represent a highlight in your holiday every time you visit us. We assure you that we pass all of your comments to our staff (especially Teresa) because your satisfaction is their greatest motivation. We very much appreciate your loyalty and hope to welcome you back soon. Until then we send you are most sincere regards from sunny Fuerteventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is very modern and the rooms are lovely, very clean. Food was great, we were all inclusive and the drinks were great. Short walk to the beach - this is the only hotel on the huge stretch of beach so there is plenty of space. Pool areas were very nice, there is tennis and classes such as Pilates available. It is on a windsurf/ kite surf beach so it is windy. The free drinks stop at 11pm and the bar closes at 12 so if you are looking for a party hotel this isn't ideal. The bar for adults only was fantastic and had a lovely roof terrace. Windsurf and Kite surf facilities only 5 minute walk - with friendly staff and great equipment. Only drawback was some of the reception staff who were not very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

We wish to thank you for your review published on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in March 2014 at our Hotel. It is a great pleasure to hear that you spent overall wonderful holidays with us in Melia Gorriones. Furthermore, we are delighted that you enjoyed the activities program and the night entertainment. Note that we now have daily live music in our Gabi Club (only adults bar) . With pleasure, we will pass on your kind words to the Renee Egli wind and kite surf centres and are convinced that they will be thankful for including them in your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon at our hotel and we will be happy to pamper you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

First of all, the location is stunning, to say the least. Loved it. And i don´t even surf :O)
And we got a room with a fantastic view of the ocean. So far so good....
But the hotel is worn down, to say the least. Our room wasn´t cleaned properly upon arrival, with he bathtub ful of hair. Cleaning just got worse and worse during our 14 day stay. We were out of soap for the last 4 days. The extra bed was so thrashed, that our 7 year old daughter had pain in her back after one night, and we had to order extra blankets to put on top of the bed.
If you are looking for a quiet vacation, DO NOT stay in the main buliding. Music was very loud on many nights, even though it came from the 1st floor, and we were on the 5th. I specifically wrote the hotel before arrival, asking for a quiet room. But i guess they didn´t care, or couldn´t read english. And yes, even in a hotel like this, they still have people in the reception who basically didn´t speak any english. In the year 2014 i find that a joke, to tell the truth.
Staff overall was very friendly though.
We had all-inclusive, and the food was more or less okay. But several times the waiters dropped glasses which broke on the floor, and they only managed to sweep up 2/3. That meant, that on several occasions our daughter almost fell over rather big pieces of glass. A bit stressful as a parent. And if you eat outside, be prepared to share your food with cats and birds!
The playground was not in very good shape either, but that goes for the whole outside area.
I could keep on going, but the list is just too long. Basically this is what you can expect in the Canary Islands ( i know, because i used to live there for 4 years ). Renovation is just not a very high priority in most places, since the stupid turists ( myself included ) just keep comming back :O)
We chose not to complain a lot to the hotel, because that would just have ruined our vacation. We tried to get another room, but then one they offered us stank of cigaretsmoke, although it was suppose to be a non-smoking room.
In the end we just laughed about it, and made competitions about who could guess the day we would get a new soap ( we all lost our bets, because it never happened ).

Would i recommend it? If you are a dedicated surfer, then yes. Sublime conditions just outside your doorstep. If you don´t care about the things mentioned above, you will probably love it.

Recommended for families with children: Not really.

Will we come back: Don´t think so....

Room Tip: As far away from the reception/staircase area as possible!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Christian N, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay in our hotel. We are sorry to read that our hotel did not completely meet your expectations. We are glad you liked the magical location and the overall friendliness of our staff. Do not doubt about it that we share each and one your positive and negative critics with our employees and heads of departments. Your feedback really matters to us and we appreciate your comments and will take them in consideration, for future improvements. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

i thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the melia gorriones,kitesurfing in the lagoon was awesome,took my own equipment,entertainment was top class,not cheesy,but quality especially in gabi club,waiter/waitress service was excellent,only one downside were a couple of bartenders were too rushed and slapdash with drinks and not too friendly,oh and you can have a long walk to your room,otherwise fantastic stay,definitely recomend this place

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Timothy M, thank you for taking some minutes of your time to share your opinion about Melia Gorriones with us and other travelers. For a kite surfing holiday we can assure you that you found THE perfect spot on the island. We are happy you could enjoy the water and the wind. Please note that in a possible future visit with the unlikely case that there is no wind, we can offer you a lot of other sportive activities. We are glad you could enjoy the night entertainment in our Gabi Club. We are waiting impatiently to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
7.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
3.1 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
29.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
2.0 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
558 reviews
1.0 mi away
SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda
SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda
#4 of 27 in Costa Calma
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura

Address: Playa Barca S/N | Fuerteventura, 35627, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Pajara
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pajara
#20 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range: £83 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Melia Gorriones is located in the south of Fuerteventura on Sotavento beach, which is listed as a protected natural area and where sand dunes extend over 30 km to the end of the Jandia Peninsula. The famous Rene Egli centre, the largest windsurfing and kiteboarding school in the world, provides courses and hires out windsurf boards and kiteboards right on the beach in the lagoon opposite the hotel. Amongst the facilities and services, Melia Gorriones has WiFi Internet in the hotel lobby, 1 children´s pool and 2 adult pools including a spectacular saltwater lagoon-style pool measuring 1,455sqm, spacious dining areas, playground, 24 hour gym, 1 tennis court and 1 paddle tennis court, large gardens, Spa, and an astronomical observatory. Choose The Level with exclusive access to The Level Lounge, private breakfast area and sun terrace with two whirlpools, as well as superior services and facilities in your room including pillow menu, bathrobes and free minibar with soft drinks, water and beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Gorriones Hotel Pajara
Melia Hotel Gorriones
Melia Hotel Pajara
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing