We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Playa
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Pajara
GreenLeadersBronze level
cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great holiday”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Jandia player from the 1st may 2013 for a week with First Choice
We went for all inclusive and we were not disappointed the food was great and hot as long as you get your table first ! we watched a lot of people rush in to the food area come back plates plied high and then look for a table !!.Would you ?, when going out for a meal in this country do the same, i think not We just got our wine/beer which is on tap, found a table then whent to get our food. There is fresh fish/ chicken/ pork cooked by chefs in front of you then a very good salad section.The room was clean and had a good sea view we were on level 2 in the main block.OK this hotel is on a side of a hill so its a bit of a walk back from the beach After reading some reviews that there were only 1 or 2 channels for the brits there were 3 maybe 4 and A blast from the past!! on one channel were THE WALTONS !! to hear GOOD NIGHT JON BOY at the end had us in tears. NOTE the hotel when were there was only a third full if you stay when it is any more beware! as it is a very big hotel so give a miss in school holidays Apart from this we found the hotel to be great and would go back again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,516
    2,024
    853
    318
    191
See reviews for
1,712
2,428
91
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had a lovely week at the Barcelo Jandia Playa. We have never stayed in that part of Fuerteventura before but were very glad this time. The hotel is super and all that you want for a relaxing week in the sun. All the staff with whom we came into contact were lovely and oh so obliging. As we went “all inclusive” we had many chances to sample the restaurant’s excellent menus. We were quite amazed at how the chefs managed to ring the changes on a daily basis. We love fish and were never short of different fish types and presentations upon which to savour. The wine was excellent and better than most other places we have stayed at on the island. Pool areas are wonderful and, ideal places to chill out and take in the sun with cooling drinks on tap nearby. Our apartment was clean comfortable and we had a balcony overlooking the nearby white sandy beach where beachwear or otherwise felt comfortable on the afternoons we spent there. Cleaning staff are diligent and looked after their guests very well. Evening entertainment is very good overall, with music to suit all tastes and easy to dance to. Productions such as Chicago were of high quality and well appreciated in the hotel’s theatre by the audience. Would we stay there again? Absolutely!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leon194z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This resort should not be classed as a 4*. I have stayed at 3* resorts previously which were better than this. My boyfriend and I have just return from a disheartening holiday. The resort was not hour from the airport as told but was nearly 2 with several drop offs on the way. The reception staff were rude and not helpful when we checked in as we didn't arrive till later on in the day, and was just given a map of the resort. and left. Our room was in block 8 which was a long walk from the main building and we requested a sea view but our view was block 9!. The room was very stuffy as air con was poor. The 2 single beds were made as a double and kept moving when trying to sleep, maid service was poor and on our last night one of wardrobe door came off its hinges and hurt my partners shoulder and when told about this the staff didn't do much about this matter ie money off our bill etc.The resort is very quiet which we wanted, but wouldn't suggest this resort if you are of a younger age as it was mainly for the older generation and mainly German speaking holidaymakers. The beach is good but is 400m from the gate of the hotel and can only be accessed via certain routes. Shops a 25 minute walk from the hotel and if you wanted a more lively place to go it is even further to next resort, to do so There are 2 main pools one with a pool bar which were ok but were cold for the time of year we went. Entertainment was poor as we only discovered the shows in the evening halve way through our stay which we werent advised about and the shows were a little confusing. Casino night was the only good night there. Activities during the day were ok, entertainment and bar staff were friendly but more activities could be done during the time. I wouldn't class the spa as a spa as it only had a 2 sauna rooms and a Jacuzzi !. Food needs to be improved as was poor quality and not much choice as only in one part of the hotel other than the snack bar where food was served. The all inclusive band does not get you what you think it does ie brand drinks but cheaper watered down drinks and you still have to pay for drinks in the disco room which we were not told about until we checked out and found a bill which we refuse to pay and the reception staff were very rude about this. ! The only good thing about this holiday was the weather !

Room Tip: Block 9 has a sea view and is quieter but is a little far to walk from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Char1989England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed here for a week on an all-inclusive basis. Our room was in block 8, which was lovely and quiet. It was easy to get to the spa and beach from there but a bit of a walk back to the main building.

The hotel was lovely with two huge swimming pools and a smaller pool in front of the wellness centre. The water was quite cold when we were there but we braved it!

There are plenty of activities to take part in such as archery, rifle shooting, yoga etc, all at the hotel. There is also a gym there but the equipment is a bit old and the air con wasn't working.

For those of you looking for some pampering, there is a lovely spa at the hotel but the treatments are quite pricey. I opted for a pedicure, which was lovely and relaxing.

Our room was lovely and spacious but did get a little hot as the air con is very weak.

The hotel food was 3 star quality. There isn't a lot of choice as there is only one main restaurant to dine in for the all-inclusive package. We did get a little fed up of having similar dishes after a week. There is also a handy snack bar where you can grab food, drinks and ice cream during the afternoon/evening. And the all-inclusive package includes free drinks (a selection).

In the evening there is entertainment in the theatre and piano bar. While we were there we went to a casino night and also watched tribute and magic shows.

The hotel is in a quiet resort. You can walk down to the local shopping centre and beach from the hotel. If you're looking for a wider choice of bars, restaurants and shops you need to walk further along to the next couple of resorts, which are livelier.

For us, this holiday was just what we needed as we wanted a relaxing, quiet resort with good weather so it ticked all the boxes.

The hotel seems to be very popular with German holidaymakers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My wife and I went there over Easter this year. It was advertised in the Thomas Cook brochure as an adults only fully all inclusive hotel. The brochure omitted (surprise surprise) to mention that th "Club Premium" section was not a stand alone Hotel, but part of a large non inclusive child friendly Hotel. The premium section was seperated by a single door and the swipe card access to the Club Pool/Bar was broken so anyone could walk in or out without being challenged. The noise from the Hotel pool was constant and didn't help our quest to have a relaxing holiday. Also to get to our "Fine Dining" restaurant we had to go through the main hotel which was total bedlam and then be served food that was either luke warm or not cooked through. We are not fussy people, but We got fed up of sending food back to be re-heated - they couldn't even manage to serve soup hot. There was no entertainment in the hotel and the all inclusive evening bar had 2 TV screens without sound and without any English channels. And to finish the holiday in fine style the return flight was four and a half hours late - give this one a miss!

Room Tip: requested a sea view room but didn't get one as we were told the "Club" section was fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

we went all/inc for 7 days, bar service i could not fault, food was good, some building work was going on at our time of visit but beleave it has now finished,did not like enterainment, all in all good value , would go back again

Room Tip: if not booking deluxe room try to get block 8 or 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I am a fan of Barcelo hotels, and have to say I am satisfied with my latest stay at Jandia again (although there are better Barcelos, for example Santiago in Tenerife).
Staff very friendly and helpful, can't get any better. Especially entertainment and reception staff. Worthwhile saying thank you to all hard working folks. It seemed a little understaffed to me, but maybe due to the time of the year.
Food not too bad, but small seafood variety, again, comparing to other Barcelos.
There are minor downsides as tiles needed replacing, or tv a bit outdated, but nothing dramatic and would definitely recommend this hotel if you need a relaxing, beautiful and not expensive break.
Entertainment good, every night something different.
I would also like to mention that we received a sea view room in block 9 without paying for this.
It was a beautiful, clean room with spectacular view on the beach!
Thank you again :)

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Magdalena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.0 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
7.5 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
37.0 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
54.5 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#17 of 70 in Pajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Playa

Property: Occidental Jandia Playa
Address: Sancho Panza, s/n | Urbanizacion Playa del Jable, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Playa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pajara
#7 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#14 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 634
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Priceline, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Jandia Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Playa Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Jandia Peninsula
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Playa
Occidental Jandia Playa Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing