We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoors is 4 star, indoors is 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Playa
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Pajara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Pool areas are amazing, stunning views of jandia beach. Great pools & space for beds. Standard rooms are basic, need renovating to be a 4star. Beds are like rock. Air con is really weak. Food was fairly standard but a good choice was available. I would go back here in an upgraded room if the price was cheap

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 5,620 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

great hotel.. clean and well run however the slopes to and from the pool and apartments was a problem for the two of us (we are both in our seventies) ...there is no mention of this in the brochures!! However a great break and would go again although perhaps later in the year when the pools are warmer..............well served by the entertainment team and the hotel staff.

Room Tip: pool side facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel, Staff, Food, Weather great however the Thomas Cook airline legroom was nothing less than terrible. Stop the reclining seats there is no room or need on a relatively short flight. What happened to the online check in? The onboard meal was good well done James Martin!!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view need to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Gorgeous hotel with splendid gardens, full of palm trees, cactuses and other beatiful plants. Great location (Jandia), large clean rooms and excelent cuisine with plenty and plenty of food. Very friendly staff, lot of possibilities what to do (pools, tennis, sport program, dancing,...). We totally love the hotel and recommend it to everybody!!

Room Tip: We booked normal room and were very satisified, althought the rooms with sea view have to be marvell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Arrived for a week on 18th May. Great location, easy walk to the beach if you want to go, it's on a hill so be prepared for some legwork!
Check-in fine, all reception staff speak English. Were taken by golf buggy with luggage to rooms as it was a fair walk (block 3). Couldn't get in to room so were let in by the porter. Had to go back to reception to find that door cards were not activated!! Room fairly standard fare with dark wood everywhere, probably need a bit of updating now. We had a good sea view and didn't pay any extra for it. We booked independently so mailed them a few weeks before to ask for a high floor if possible. It was clean and maid service everyday, clean towels etc.
Buffet restaurant overall good but as noted in some other reviews we also found food was very often not hot - cooked, but not hot. That said, no instances of Dehli-belly ensued in the week!
Pool area snack bar is currently under refurbishment - why in May I have no idea. Surely the time to be doing this is out of season??
Bar service good and staff cheerful. Piano bar - live music is all well and good but if you want a quiet night there is nowhere to go to get away from it. Due to the location of the bar on the lower ground floor, the sound (loud of course) just comes up the open space (2 floors) to the Lobby bar. This wasn't every night, (seemed to be alternate nights) but would have been better off in the Theatre/bar to allow some peace and quiet for those that just wanted a quiet drink.
Coffee area near the buffet restaurant needs more regular cleaning. Spilled drinks, empty cups etc were a feature throughout the week.
Despite me informing reception of non-working hand driers in the toilets just off the lobby bar, they still weren't working by the time we left - a real bugbear for me as I believe that if a customer has informed reception that there's a problem, whatever it may be, that these things should be attended to within 24 hours. They weren't working when we left. Hot drinks machines not available in the buffet restaurant at lunch and dinnertimes? Very odd that you can't get a coffee in a proper cup after a meal.
Wi-Fi at 25 Euros a week a bit steep. Many other hotel chains are providing this free - have a think about it Barceló.
I don't think the place was full this particular week, might have been a bit more hectic and noisy if it were.
Overall a good week, just needs some minor improvements to make it better.

Room Tip: Block 3 or 9 have the best sea views. Pre-travel, ask for a high floor for best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here 14th - 22nd May.
Going to keep it short and sweet, times people go on...
Hotel overall is fab! Great service from all staff, cleaning standards spotless. Entertainment team work hard during the day to keep people busy if they want to join in, if not they won't ask you twice. Evening entertainment was hit and miss. Sometimes really good artists came in and one night we had nothing??
The main hotel building is split over 3 levels, so if you have mobility difficulties this hotel ain't for you.
Hotel room are either in the main hotel building which also holds the jandia club premium section. The remaining rooms are spread out across the resort over some 8/9 low rise blocks. We were in block 5 right near the pool/restaurant on the ground floor. 2 beds, very good size and decent size bathroom with bath/shower over head and a patio area.
The food was great! Plenty of variety for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
One BIG problem was the snack restaurant was closed for a refit!! Why during the summer season!? I stayed here in. Nov it should of been done then! So we were quite disappointed over that, however the hotel provided an alternative which was a BBQ type near the 2nd main pool.
Staff all fantastic especially Vessi in the lobby bar - so so good and spoke over 5 languages a real credit tot that hotel.
Location; if you walk to the end of the complex you go through the gate and take the elevator doWn to a shopping centre which has some ok shops and perfume shops. Across the road - the fantastic beach!! Some parts are nudist. And it's about 25min stroll along the walk path into the main part of town.
Have a fab time!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TOMFLY07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location: near beach and the ocean (about 100 metres, you have to pass through the street, but there is an underpass), also close to promenade with shops, cafes and restaurants (20 minutes of walk).
Rooms: we had a room with the ocean' view, but mostly we saw shopping center between beach and the hotel... Anyway, rooms and bathrooms are pretty spacious and were cleaned every day.
Selection of food was quite large and it was really tasty (especially fruit coctails!). Desserts were kinda boring. I love pool bar and drinks, especially Pina Coladas, necessarily you should try it.
Fitness center/gim is rather small and there were just few machines (few of them broken), so it wasn't a big atraction.
I criticized a little, but I really love it and I would visit again.

Room Tip: Building number 9 is the closest to the ocean but you have to go uphill to the restaurant. Main buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xMystra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.0 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
7.5 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
37.0 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#17 of 73 in Pajara
5,189 reviews
37.1 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4,937 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Fuerteventura Palace
IBEROSTAR Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Playa

Address: Sancho Panza, s/n | Urbanizacion Playa del Jable, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Playa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pajara
#5 Best Value Hotel in Pajara
#8 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#14 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range: £83 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 634
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Occidental Jandia Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Playa Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Jandia Peninsula
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Playa
Occidental Jandia Playa Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing