We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Playa
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Pajara
GreenLeadersBronze level
northants
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great hotel and staff”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

excellent hotel and staff special thanks to Teresa on reception fixed out problem we had with room moved us when the first suitable room become available wished first choice would have given us more information about Jandia itself beautiful place beaches outstanding but nothing much else once you've walked to Morro Jable there is not much else for you to do market two days a week found it a bit expensive would use barcelo hotels in future dont think we would go back to Playa Jandia

Room Tip: try to get a room up by reception as every where else is a bit away
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthantsLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    2,016
    850
    318
    191
See reviews for
1,709
2,415
91
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southam, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We are a young couple who had chosen this hotel for our first holiday abroad.
The hotel it's self looks like it's in a derelict area with nothing about, as we got told on the coach transfer that there are more goats on the island than there are people, to us this wasn't a great start. The journey took about an hour and 20minutes from the airport, with only two stops which included ours.

When we arrived to the hotel we both thought, it looked better than expected both from the outside and in. We were greeted by the manager who spoke English well and was very friendly and bubbly,the hotel was big so it took us a little while to find our room, but when we did we were pleasantly surprised. It looked clean with a modern bathroom, although the furniture needs to be up dated.We found the bed rock hard it had no give in it what so ever, so we didn't have a decent sleep and also the wardrobe was a bit stiff to close.

If you want a view it's best to go for one of the sea view rooms, as the rest of the blocks were facing each other all you could see were people leaving their rooms. We were located on block 5 so it was only a short walk to the pool, although the beach was a bit of a walk that was up hill. Unfortunately we arrived on a bad week as the wind was awful, it was impossible to go on the beach, as the sand flew everywhere and the waves were rough, we were only there for 5 minutes and then decided to leave.We didn't get told about the sunbeds on the beach that they were private, so we got told to move by a rude man, there were no signs about the use of them.My towel also flew off the sunbed and landed on another women while she was relaxing, even though i put it down to prevent it flying off, the wind was to strong.. Slightly embarrassing. Saying that the beach looked lovely and clean, with gold sand and blue waters, and the pool looked lovely and clean it was very cold but once you're in it's fine. You're not meant to reserve sunbeds but everyone did, my boyfriend took his towel off for a second and some women dragged it away so when he turned back round it was gone.

We found that most of the hotel was more full of German and French people i think i only heard about 3 English families and couples speak all week. The majority of people there were couples.

The restaurant needed to be updated and my boyfriend said the smell in there was awful and hated walking in there. We had to walk around for a little bit to wait for a table to become free, and when we did we found the cutlery and glasses to be dirty, we had to pick up at least 5 different plates before we found a dry and clean one, the food it'self was okay for about two days and then become tasteless and boring as it was more or less the same food everyday.. I personally thought the food tasted really salty and the seafood seemed not to be that fresh as it had a strong smell and seemed rubbery, it also wasn't hot at all we even had some pasta that had just came out and it was still cold. The juices tasted like dish water i also had a fly in my drink while i was pouring myself one.The desserts were basic with a few cakes and ice creams that were served. The ice cream scoop was disgusting which was placed in dirty water with different ice cream flavors swimming around it. We weren't a massive fan of breakfast as the bacon was all fat, the fried eggs were fine so was the toast and beans but that was it the, sausages looked like they came out of a can and, the scrambled eggs had a funny taste to them.

The bar at the top of the hotel was lovely, and so were the staff they were always smiling and trying to have a little joke with us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CollettJacob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castelleone, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just arrivés 3 day ago but want to write to you all what a great place this is.
When you want to come to this hotel book than something extra for you zelf and do take a Premiums room whit all the extra's that you get with it!!! Its great,rooms are beautiful,clean,big beds and great professionele service.
The premium hotel is forbiden for children so there is absolute silence around you to relax and to enjoy your lovely holiday. You also eat in the poolrestaurant without sceaming children.
The food is great and the service even better. Hanging around the pool and poolbar is very very, relaxing on the comfotable sunbeds and everything is includid with the premium service that you have,food and drinks.Soo dear readers,when you want to go on holiday to Fuerteventura,go to this place!! Its great.At last but not least a very special Thanks to Angela Carreno for all your effort to make our stay at Barcelo Special!!!!!

Room Tip: Take room at the second Floor at the Premium part from this hotel. Great Ocean vieuws!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmrobert955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Pool areas are amazing, stunning views of jandia beach. Great pools & space for beds. Standard rooms are basic, need renovating to be a 4star. Beds are like rock. Air con is really weak. Food was fairly standard but a good choice was available. I would go back here in an upgraded room if the price was cheap

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

great hotel.. clean and well run however the slopes to and from the pool and apartments was a problem for the two of us (we are both in our seventies) ...there is no mention of this in the brochures!! However a great break and would go again although perhaps later in the year when the pools are warmer..............well served by the entertainment team and the hotel staff.

Room Tip: pool side facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel, Staff, Food, Weather great however the Thomas Cook airline legroom was nothing less than terrible. Stop the reclining seats there is no room or need on a relatively short flight. What happened to the online check in? The onboard meal was good well done James Martin!!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view need to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Gorgeous hotel with splendid gardens, full of palm trees, cactuses and other beatiful plants. Great location (Jandia), large clean rooms and excelent cuisine with plenty and plenty of food. Very friendly staff, lot of possibilities what to do (pools, tennis, sport program, dancing,...). We totally love the hotel and recommend it to everybody!!

Room Tip: We booked normal room and were very satisified, althought the rooms with sea view have to be marvell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.0 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
7.5 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
37.0 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
54.5 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#16 of 70 in Pajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Playa

Property: Occidental Jandia Playa
Address: Sancho Panza, s/n | Urbanizacion Playa del Jable, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Playa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pajara
#8 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#14 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 634
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Priceline, Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Jandia Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Playa Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Jandia Peninsula
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Playa
Occidental Jandia Playa Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing