We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Jandia Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Occidental Jandia Playa
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Pajara
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oromocto NB
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The check in was easy. The room we had was nice with good air conditioning but was a quite a walk to the pool and buffet restaurant. There were lots of loungers around the main pool. There was only one bar open during the day which was the pool bar. The buffet was very nice with a lot of options. The al a carte was probably the worst I've been to. That includes the staff and the food selection. The staff was very nice. We had the pleasure to meet Tony from the animation and he made our trip so much better. All in all not a bad place.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building. Thats where the buffet and bars are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johnnyjake9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,420
    1,909
    807
    308
    185
See reviews for
1,621
2,271
88
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pajara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We revisited the Barcelo Jandia Playa again this July but this time without the children and had such a lovely break that we are already preparing to book again next year. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly, and the location is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pajara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Really great: food, location, pools, music and entertainment team around pool, clean rooms, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar staff, plenty of lounge seats inside to play cards and chat. Great layout.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We read a few reviews online before we came and they had us a little anxious. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The selection of food was amazing. It would be silly not to go all inclusive. The food quality was decent, we got what we paid for. The selection of drinks on the all inclusive was also very impressive. The bar staff were great, really friendly. They are also extremely generous with the spirits. The cleanliness was really good too. The cleaners do a great job. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from a fantastic beach which was good. The only thing I could complain about was the speed at which the receptionists operated. There are a good four of them on at all times, yet we waited at least 10 minutes every time we wanted to ask as simple question.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to reception (the hotel is huge). We got a room miles away. It was a good 5 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pajara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Good hotel for families, location could be better. If you are willing to pay extra to upgrade then you get 5 stars, if not very poor all inclusive. Food variety poor and sometimes cold if you get their late

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from two weeks all inclusive at this hotel. There are many good things about this hotel, but there are also lots of smaller things that just aren't quite on the money.

The hotel's location is fabulous - a really pleasant 40 minute beach-side walk to the town - Morro Jable will land you in amongst some lovely little shops and wonderful bars and restaurants. You can while away a good couple of hours supping a cold beer or cocktail and eating delicious fish dishes or paella whilst watching the tides, surfers, windsurfers and people. 5 minutes in the other direction will put you directly onto the gorgeous beach which offers white sands, turquoise waters and amazing waves. The beach bars which are dotted along the sand offer everything from juices to cocktails to beers and food ranging from sandwiches to steaks. A really great spot to continue people watching whilst taking some shade from the midday sun.

The hotel rooms are of a good size and are comfortable, with the chambermaid service being very reliable and consistent. The bathrooms are also of a good size and offer the usual facilities. However, you will get through floor towels like no tomorrow, because no matter what we tried, the shower always flooded the marble surround of the bathtub and onto the floor. Dangerous and pretty frustrating that you can never really dry your feet properly until you've walked out of the bathroom altogether.

The pool areas were lovely with plenty of sun loungers and shade available if you didn't want to spend all day in full sun. If you go anywhere other than the main pool, directly outside the restaurant you won't be approached by the entertainment staff to join in with any of the activities on offer. The pool areas are cleaned down every morning, but generally between 7.30 & 8am when everyone is heading towards breakfast, so make sure you wear shoes which can cope with waterlogged tiles or you might end up on your butt!!

Food and drinks were always readily available with loads of choice. meat and fish dishes were usually cooked infront of the guests, which is always reassuring and whilst it was never steaming hot, it was edible and really well cooked. A wide choice of delicious salad items and deserts are offered too.

Breakfast offers the same wide choice and again, is always delicious, but the drinks machines don't smell very pleasant, although the pineapple juice always tasted ok. The coffee machines in the restaurant vary in speed, strength and volume. Throughout our two week stay, I failed to find one which delivered a full cup's worth without me having to top it off with either hot water or a second fill of coffee.

The hotel is pretty big with some 600 + rooms, so I think the staff struggle to keep up, especially in the snack bar area. there never seemed to be enough staff, so they were slow to clear away dirty plates and cups. this improved during the second week of our stay, but on one morning, the snack bar was still littered with the previous days' crockery etc when we went to breakfast at 8am. there wasn't anywhere for guests to leave their dirty plates etc and very often the bins were overflowing with paper cups, so I would have expected the staff to be 'on it' a bit more in this regard.

This last niggle, although very minor and even to my ears sounds really petty, is a real personal bug bear; all inclusive guests have to wear a wristband, which I understand - but they're not tan-through - so you end up with a white mark round your wrist. I don't wear any wrist jewellery when I sunbathe, purposely because I don't want a tan line, so the fact that I've got one though having to wear the wrist band really irks me! the black clip used to secure the band on your wrist also really hurts if you catch yourself on it! As I say, I know that's really petty, but it was one of those things which got my back up a little bit!

Overall, the hotel is good, but with just a few tweaks, it could be great. whilst we would return to Fuerteventura, I don't think I would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: try and get into block 9 if you can - direct view from the balcony onto the beach and very close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salbag07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

A great location, all appetites and interests catered for, but lets itself down by a lack of attention to the details and more staff required for litter collection

The food service and range was excellent, the rooms huge and comfortable, the staff were professional and courteous at all times. The pool areas and bars were spacious and plenty of sun beds.

Just a little more attention or staff to collect litter, and to help with the general tidiness would have given 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taur033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - ...
#4 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
7.5 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
37.1 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
54.5 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#15 of 71 in Pajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Playa

Property: Occidental Jandia Playa
Address: Sancho Panza, s/n | Urbanizacion Playa del Jable, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Playa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pajara
#7 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#14 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 634
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Barcelo so you can book your Occidental Jandia Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Playa Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Jandia Peninsula
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Playa
Occidental Jandia Playa Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing