We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what it says on the tin... ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Playa
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Pajara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exactly what it says on the tin... ”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family in November, met some amazing friends with who we still keep in touch with..
The hotel was clean, relaxed atmosphere, great food, clean rooms with everything in, a true 4 star hotel.
Due to it being November the night life was limited, anyone expecting cocktail bars or the odd night club may be disappointed,that said, the hotel nightclub was fun, friendly and reasonably priced... all staff were friendly and eager to help us enjoy our time with them.
The beaches were beautiful, however there was lack of a bar or cafe for refreshments. Yes there is a nudist beach but were not prudish, well except mum who giggled like a school girl Lol... great hotel and would definitely visit again but maybe at a more busy time in the season.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,669
    2,171
    919
    343
    205
See reviews for
1,880
2,630
97
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Nice hotel, everything is there but don't expect anything out of the ordinary. Ah, and don't bother going to the Corelejo Canarian Buffet. Not worth the effort.
Animation is good. Bars are good. If you want a really good holiday, rent a car and see the island. Don't stay just in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend visited for a week in July and had no problems with the hotel. Our rooms had everything we needed and were cleaned and restocked every day. The pool area was fantastic and even though we went at the end of July we had no problems getting a sun bed.. The pool area was also cleaned every morning. The staff were friendly and willing to help :) we stayed on an all inclusive basis and the food was lovely, they had a good variety including a station that served Chinese food, pastas, and even a separate a la carte restaurant which we were able to eat in once for free during our stay although you did have to book this at reception and it wasn't open every day of the week! The entertainment was average.. Started a bit late for families though. Overall a fantastic hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Kellyjelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here for a week with my girlfriend in the first week of August 2014, a good hotel in the way of cleanliness, maintenance and safety, the food and surroundings/location excellent. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family especially those with children, as they appeared to be well catered for. We enjoyed the entertainment as a couple. However there were a few frustrating things that I feel should be addressed:

We arrived after 9pm and found the reception process a bewildering experience. The staff of two people didn’t seem to be aware of who was next in line and just dealt with existing guests who were ignoring the queue or whoever they felt like so we were left waiting along with other tired arrivals. Although the reception staff were pleasant and polite after a few days we didn’t feel things had been that well explained (as in terms of half board procedure), other staff begrudgingly put us right later on. We asked one lady in the reception hall about getting to the Zoo (She appeared to have some “attractions” leaflets on her desk) she rudely replied that she only dealt with car hire. Oh well, Muchas gracias.

I would have expected a prominent set of rules for the self service food counters and the use of anti bacterial hand gels, I say this as nearly every night I saw some people eating/noshing over food as they selected it, some sneezing or coughing over food, others using their hands to select items, all of which is not great in terms of food hygiene.

And finally the old adage of reserving sun loungers. There were many signs around the pool stating that it was forbidden to do so, yet nearly all were ”reserved” with towels by 9:30am. The poolside staff were not stopping this either. We also read that “management would not be held liable for incidents caused by this” which is clearly a “wash of hands” of the subject - why have a rule if you’re not going to enforce it? We only wanted to sit for an hour a day, most loungers didn’t get any use while we made use of the floor. I sure didn’t want to start a fight on my holiday!

Overall a great place to stay it just felt a little impersonal at times, perhaps that is the pitfall of staying in a branded hotel.

Room Tip: Go half board and get a quieter dining experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank easyroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We first arrived after a long transfer and flight to find a lovely hotel in a lovely location.....bearing in mind we went in November however there was very few British people there mainly Germans and Russians who rarely dipped below the age of 50. It was like being on the set of Cocoon.
The food was lovely, very similar to what you would expect in a good standard all inclusive hotel, meal times however weren't too enjoyable as the old people would frequently shoot disapproving looks every time our toddler made a noise.
The pool wasn't heated so unless you wanted to do 30 length of the swimming pool it was going to be cold. The kids are was closed (obviously we were in November so kind of understandable).
Couldn't fault the staff they were veryfriendly the bar staff maybe a little slow but not a big issue.
Jandia itself is a beautiful place but again it's more geared up for German pensioners than young British families, lots of German pubs, bars etc. As I'm writing this I'm fearing I sound xenophobic but this is not the case I just think people (especially young families) should realise they will be visiting the German version of Palm springs or Benidorm without the liveliness!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pajara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I would like to recommend this hotel as it was amazing, loads for the children to do, and activities for adults also. The food was really nice and loads to choose from and the acts during the night were really good. The beach is close but to get to it you have to trek down a hill so on the way back your knackered hiking back up but this is an excuse to keep fit! I highly recommend visiting as it is the best place I've been to, and my partner has been to by far! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
7 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pajara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went to this hotel with my partner, only recently returned, very family orientated advise to stay in Barcelo+ if you are travelling as a couple and don't want to be permanently surrounded by children.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Mcintyre E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.0 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
7.5 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
37.0 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#19 of 73 in Pajara
4,932 reviews
37.1 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Playa

Property: Occidental Jandia Playa
Address: Sancho Panza, s/n | Urbanizacion Playa del Jable, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Playa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pajara
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pajara
#9 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#15 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 634
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Jandia Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Playa Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Jandia Peninsula
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Playa
Occidental Jandia Playa Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing