We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Mar
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Pajara
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

All I can say about this hotel is "it is fabulous". We travelled as a couple with a 10 year old child for a week just after the summer holidays. It was the first time we had been all incusive and we were sceptical about what the food would be like and how it would feel to have to join the masses to eat and drink. We didnt need to worry about any of that as the quality,choice and variety of food at all sittings was brilliant (fish, pork, turkey, lamb, steak, chicken, many veggie dishes, salads, cheeses, bread, paella and cold meats etc). There were themed evenings and a bbq. During the day the snack bar had burgers, hotdogs, chips, pizza, salad and much more. There were different cocktails to try every night and lots of other cocktails in the all inclusive service all day. We were amazed by the quality & cleanliness of the complex. The room was basic but nice. We only had a doube room with an extra bed. We wouldnt do this next time as it was a bit cramped but it didnt spoil things as we only spent time in the room to sleep and shower etc. The staff were so friendly and seemed happy to be there themselves. There are plenty of activities during the day if you want to take part and the animacion team are all really hard working and a pleasure to meet. There is a hill to walk down to the nearest beach, but to be honest, unless you have a medical condition that makes it difficult to walk, its just a hill. The pools are beautiful and cleaned all the time. If there is any rubbish blowing around it is due to holiday makers not putting things in bins (of which there are many) We cannot sing this hotels praises enough. There is a spa supermarket at the bottom of the hill if you need anything that the hotel dont provide. We are regular travellers to many parts of the world and this was deinately one of the best holidays by far. The only thing I could find to say that I would have suggested to the hotel is tea and coffee making facilities in the room. (we took a travel kettle and coffee and bought milk from the spa shop and then asked for a carton from the bar) Also the kids club is up to 12 but the activities are for much younger children and then the other activities are more for adults but our child still had a ball. There are chipmonks living at the bottom of the hill and going to feed them was an experience. Also the beach that is just further on from the lighthouse near a restaurant on the beach called restaurante heidi has the most amazing clear water and fish that are harmless and you can feed them while standing among them!! JUST GO!

Room Tip: Be specific before you book as the complex is so big you could end up with a view of anything, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    1,792
    786
    260
    169
See reviews for
1,668
2,124
77
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Jandia Mar block 8 and the first point I would make is how thin the walls are, you can hear everything and couple that with having ignorant neighbours in this instance Easter Europeans who come in and decide to play music loud at 1 am you know you are in for a long week. Had to make 2 trips to the reception to make complaints about the noise on two different nights but to be fair when the security man came the noise stopped.
If you check in at the same time as a coach load of other guests be prepared for a bit of a wait to check-in. Also found the food on the warm side rather than hot but there was plenty of choices and did not find it at all repetitive. The evening entertainment is not up to much these days in fact they had a Mr Barceló competition twice in our seven night stay and yet on a previous stay at the Barceló Fuerteventura a few years ago the evening entertainment was really good.

Good points- there were plenty of beds available even with the usual reserving, the hotel and rooms were clean also did not find the queue for drinks too long.

I have visited the Jandia playa about a year ago and would say that it is the slightly better of the two hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smmjh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from a week all inclusive and we really enjoyed it. It was our first time staying at an all inclusive resort and we would def go back again. Meals are good but not excellent.They have a few of the same items each sitting which is great all different types of meats including veal, chicken, beef, pork and lamb, the pork stew is amazing!! each sitting had at least 2pasta dishes and at least 2 items if fish weather it was squid, salmon, hike, cod etc. The times for the restaurant is: breakfast 7am -10am dinner: 1pm -3pm and lunch 7pm - 10pm ( summer time) you can also make reservations for the Italian restaurant in the resort however when we tried to book they said it was fully booked up until after our holiday had ended. The poolside snack bar is open from 12noon to 6pm where they offer pasta, hotdogs, burgers, chips, salads and bread which we found really good.
All the soft drinks are branded ( coca cola, diet coca cola, fanta orange & lemon and sprite. Local beer is "tropical" which is on tap, plus red, white and rose wine and sangria is also on tap. They have most spirits but there local brands which we didn't find a problem. You can also upgrade rooms however we didn't need to, ours was spotless and was cleaned everyday!
Downside to this we noticed was that you had to pay 7 euro per day if you wanted wifi which I found astonishing, 21 euro per week to have a safe which we didn't mind paying as let's face it.... Anything happens and you don't have one your not insured!! You can also request to extend your room 24 hours before you check out which was really handy for us, normal check out is at 12pm but we paid 20 euros to have it extended until 2pm.
There are 2 shops on site which I found handy, however because it was our first time all inclusive we didn't actually realise just how chilled out everything is and I only took 1 book and read it in the first day.... I would love it if the shops offered books / papers / magazines etc.
Local town is beautiful ... Great designer shops and a taxi costs approx 3euro. The hill everyone complains about is TRUE..... Oh my god!!!! Heart attack! Ask at the reception for the excursion book which has all the attractions and prices in ( we wasn't told about this and didn't realise until the last day which we were gutted about)
We also visited the oasis safari park which we really loved however the prices were so astonishing...entrance 25 euro per person, 30 euro per person to swim with sea lions, 10 euros each to go on camel ride!! You purchase everything for the family and your soon looking at 200 euro for a day cos there are restaurants in site and your there for the full day.
The beach is absolutely beautiful!!!! Really enjoyed our stay but a week was enough for us, we would def go back

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just come back from 11 nights at the hotel. Overall this is a great hotel. We stayed in room 430 which has a view overlooking the pool and the sea. The rooms were spotless with a large bathroom. There are complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. The rooms were cleaned every day and you could have your towels changed as often as you wanted by leaving them in the bath. The food in the restaurant is good with a themed night most nights. The food was repeated in week 2 but there is a good choice so this didn't bother us too much. The wine and beer on tap are both very good and I also enjoyed the sangria on tap. The pool area is really clean and there were always available sunbeds, although the ones with shade were harder to come by. You need to get out early to get these. As many others have mentioned the hill is quite steep. The bus runs 3 times in the morning and 3 again in the afternoon/evening to the beach. The local town of Morro Jable is about a 10-15 minute walk or around 3.50 in a taxi. We went into the town a couple of times and there are some nice restaurants towards the harbour if you fancy a break from the food in the hotel.
There are a few niggles with this hotel which although didn't ruin the holiday by any means it's good to know before you go.
1 - The beach towels aren't included. You will pay a 10 euro deposit and then 2 euros each time you want to change them. Not a problem if you take your own like we did.
2 - There is no complimentary bottled water in the room fridge. Water is available on tap from the bar, but we found ourselves buying bottled water from the shop at the hotel. It's 0.90c for 2 litres.
3 - We were unable to book into the A la carte restaurant for the whole 11 days we were there. It is only open 5 days a week and the receptionist advised us as there were 1000 people in the hotel at the time it gets booked up so I would advise to make a reservation as soon as you arrive.
So all in all a good hotel and I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel is MASSIVE. Good for choice and variety but prepare to get your walking legs in gear.

Staff were excellent with exception to one or two grumpy waiters who struggled to so much as crack a smile. The others were helpful, cheery, articulate and intelligent. Able to switch between languages with no effort.

Because of it's size the hotel attracts a wide range of people from many different nationalities. Most are happy, cheery folk but you do get the odd group of inconsiderate customers that really take the shine off your holiday. Not the hotels fault, just more of an indirect consequence of trying to appeal to all.

The closest shop is a Spar that is .55km down a huge steep hill. There's also the beach a little further on and looks stunning with the golden sands and turquoise water.

There was a decent selection of food at meal times but I would have liked a little more variety and if I could be picky, would have preferred the vegetables to be prepared in a different manner as many times the greens were very sloppy.

Plenty of fish, pork, pasta, salads, fruit and sweet things. Veg and lean meat / chicken was a little more scarce.

Wine, beer and squash on tap but didn't taste great. More choice at the beach and lobby bars but be prepared to pay for branded alcohol. Bottled water is chargeable, but water from a tap is provided should this be your disposition, tasted ok to me and it didn't give me a bad tummy :p

My biggest gripe is somewhat centered around the issue of chargeables. I've been on plenty of all inclusives in the past so Im accepting that there's no true sense of ALL inclusive, but it does seem somewhat unbalanced in this hotel. Take some money with you if you prefer to eat and drink a little better.

Be prepared to pay for a safe. I find this is where Barcelo fails the most. 3€ a day for use of a small safe that they could and should provide free of charge, especially as without one your holiday insurance will most likely be invalidated. On a 2 week holiday this may be 42€ you hadn't budgeted.

Towels are provided for the room but if you need some for the pool or beach then they are 10€ each (deposit only) and 3€ each time you want them cleaned.

We took a seaview room, it was a good sized room but we didn't end up using the balcony at all and in hindsight would have been happy with a standard room as the surrounding grounds are so well presented and maintained regardless of situation.

My partner and I tend to retire to our room earlier in the evening than some to enjoy a bit of tv to unwind. There's only 4 English speaking channels, 2 are news and the other shows entertainment straight out of the 90s, it's also streamed through an old Windows XP PC that has a problem to last more than a couple of hours before breaking and waiting to be reset. Not a major problem as you're there to enjoy the Island more than the room, but would be nice to fix for future likeminded guests.

Barcleo Mar provides you with various entertainment if that's your cup of tea. We went to a couple of shows but they were not really our thing (dancing over some music, felt a bit like a school end of year presentation), we didn't take part in the pool activities but they did sound like fun and there's a particular tune they play, which is pretty catchy.

The pools are excellent, fairly spacious and with plenty of beds. Kept reasonably clean, but the wind does tend to send rubbish and cups flying. A lot of cigarette butts also by the pool area, I find it disgusting how some guests can be so untidy and inconsiderate to others in a communal situation.

There are 3 shops in the hotel for souvenirs and essentials.

The alternative restaurant, which is by reservation only, was a nice way to break up the weeks but be warned that the service time can be terribly slow. The food is a la carte and is tasty, you start by helping yourself to side salad / antipasti, then have a plate of pasta followed by a main of either meat or fish (your choice) and an end course / sweet.

If you walk the grounds you'll notice several cats, the hotel has some sort of association with a cat rescue sanctuary. You can buy some cat food from the local supermarket and leave it in a shelter down the side to help them survive.

Noise. This is something my partner and I are very sensitive to and we specifically look to avoid as best we can. We were on the top floor of block 4, which was a decent distance from reception. Even though we wear ear plugs, we did hear the music played until about 23:30 each night but it was mostly acceptable.

The gym equipment is a little basic but functional (mostly), there's an indoor pool and sauna in the spa alongside the treatment rooms. My girlfriend really enjoyed her hot stone massage and my sports massage was easily the most painful but thorough massage Ive ever had.

Overall, and with the exceptions Ive raised still in mind, I would say that the Barcelo Mar has enough variety to cater for most walks of life and for the parts it misses there's enough outside the doors to fill.

Maro Jable, the old town and the port is about 50mins+ walk away where you can find shops, bars and restuarants. You can hop in a bus or cab if walking isn't your thing, and is very cheap.

For a great windsurfing / kite beach, make your way to the sota vento beach by bus for 2.30€

Oasis park is a fun day out at the zoo if you like your animals, you can do a camel trek over one of the hills, hook up with lemurs or go swimming with sealions. That costs 24€ each (adult)

If you want to see a little more of the island you can jump on a jeep safari (or hire your own car), we went over to the West coast where you can find beaches with 5+ft. waves, great for the brave!

For those travelling with Thomas Cook, there is a free day out provided by PAL, which guides you around the island for a small bit of your time for some direct marketing about mattresses and wool products. I would recommend this tour as you get to learn lots and even the marketing presentation is entertaining.

Lastly, we went late September to mid October. The temperature rarely went below 29C. Sun is copious, wind wasn't too bad with exception to a couple of days and the clouds, though rare, was a welcome break (and I worship the sun), we also had some rain on one day if you want to call it that. It was as if someone had put a sprinkler on for 3 mins then turned it off.

I fully expect you would have a good time at the Barcelo given little effort even without knowing you. The holiday is as good as you make it after all.

Room Tip: From the pool bar to the top level of Block 4, we counted 100 steps. We're young and fit, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just returned home from our 4 day short stay, we regret to say we wont be returning. What spoilt our stay was the constant queuing, The reception is chaos, if they had the forms ready for your arrival the check in time would be halved. 45 minutes to queue and check in. no organisation in that area. any problems or questions is a nightmare queuing session. The rooms are modern and fresh, the Pool area is clean and tidy, except you could never get a sunbed, people reserved and not using. the food was average mostly the same everyday but enough selection to always find something. the food area is too small, wasnt a relaxing experience, Not enough bars in the evening only the lobby bar and outside pool bar, The main problem with this hotel is the constant queuing. The staff are polite and friendly. the best point!

Room Tip: Advisable to request a room in 1,2 block low level, reception area, the lifts are not available for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Visited the Jandia Mar 28th Sept for a week, with family, was as good as I remembered from our last mini break two years ago. Rooms were lovely, nice balcony, bathroom lovely, with a bath and shower. we were in block 8 which is to the back of the pool area, which was ideal. Restaurant was varied with plenty of choice for breakfast lunch and dinner, although we ate at lunchtime in the snack bar by the pool, there was plenty of choice even there. we were on all inclusive so drinks were available till 11pm, cocktails were lovely, beer cool and refreshing(don't worry you wont get drunk on the beer) but sangria and cocktails were fab.
Entertainment team were brill, there was different things going on during the day, and you don't have to join in if you don't want to, we just sat and watched. On an evening the shows were hysterical and entertaining well worth a visit, not your west end stuff but that's what made it enjoyable. Staff were so helpful, would recommend to anyone, not sure about the child facilities but there seemed to be loads going on for them and most mums and dads seemed happy.
Trips- we did Oasis Park, this was amazing up close and personal with animals, fed giraffes, elephants, got loads of pics of the meerkats. My son and girlfriend did jeep trip and was really happy with it enjoyed seeing parts of the island.
If you fancy a English beer go to the Boot and Ball you get a lovely welcome from Andy the host, even though we were all inc its still nice to get out into the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
37.0 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fuerteventura Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Mar

Property: Occidental Jandia Mar
Address: Playa del Jable S/N | Barranco de Vinamar, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Pajara
#9 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#16 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy more than 50,000 m² of fun, comfort and entertainment in a privileged setting. The Barcelo Jandia Mar**** hotel, which has been awarded the Thomas Cook Marque of Excellence, is situated opposite the spectacular Jandia beach, in the south of Fuerteventura. The hotel offers a wide range of services and activities for you to enjoy your holidays to the max. Relax and pamper yourself in our health and wellness centre, which boasts a sauna, gym, solarium and massage services. For sports lovers, the hotel offers an extensive range of activities including: mini-golf and multi-sports court, water sports, windsurfing, scuba diving and sport fishing. And for the little ones, we have the Barcy Kid's Club. With the Barcelo All Inclusive programme, you can enjoy all the hotel facilities and its superb restaurants (the All Inclusive service finishes at 23.00). The Barcelo Jandia Mar hotel is the perfect choice to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Jandia Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Mar Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Mar
Barcelo Hotel Pajara
Fuerteventura Jandia
Occidental Jandia Mar Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing