We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utterly Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Mar
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Pajara
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Utterly Brilliant”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed for 9 nights and it was a complete joy from start to finish. Despite arriving at just before midnight we were told that the restaurant had been kept open as they were expecting late arrivals (nice start). I am not a fussy eater (but do enjoy my food) however my wife and 4yr old Daughter can be a bit picky. No worries on that one great selection of great tasting food (as my expanded waist line will testify to). The staff, from housekeeping to entertainment, made us feel very welcome and appreciated they are, to a man, all smiles at all times. I cant recommend this hotel enough if your in two minds then go. You will not be disappointed. Oh yeah the hill that everyone mentions... Yup there is one and yes if you choose you may have to walk up it, honesty my 4yr old managed it and she never walks anywhere if she can help it...

Room Tip: Get a suite the bath alone is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    1,792
    786
    260
    169
See reviews for
1,668
2,124
77
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

just came back from a great week at the barcelo mar with my hubby and friends , The hotel was clean , staff were friendly, was good value for money , The only criticisms I have is although there was plenty to eat it was normally just warm no were near hot enough to enjoy it , Also there were no parasol's to have a break from the sun ok you might think that's petty but one of our party likes to sit shaded from the full glare of the sun , not everyone is a sun worshiper , There was also a shortage of pint glasses in the piano bar , which only left wine glasses or paper cups, But all in all we had a great time and would defo go back again,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisydelfonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed for 1 week October half term,coach journey really long but hotel is really nice.staff friendly.the only thing we found we didn't like was the food. There is some choice but they didn't cater for children unless ur children are happy eating pasta and chips,food was always warm never hot.italian restaurant we enjoyed.jandia beach is amazing white sand crystal sea.look for chipmunks they are so gentle and love cucumber.....shops and restaurants about 10 mins walk.if u fancy a meal out the cappuccino steakhouse and pizza restaurant is lovely :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loubyabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Like many of the other reviews about the hotel here is another positive one. We have just returned after a week and our only regret is that we didn't book for two. We had a superb time and really want to visit again as loved every aspect. Hotel is first class, Jandia beaches are stunning and weather was fantastic. We have been to the island twice before and stayed in Barceló Club El Castillo, Costa Caleta [2010] (where the food was poor) and Suite Hotel Atlantis, Carralejo [2009] (which was very good) yet this was by far the best!

.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

If your looking for 7 star accommodation this isn't for you, but if your looking for 7 star value for money then this is the place to go. We have just returned after a two week stay, our second visit, we enjoyed it so much last year we went back again this year and it was just as good as last year. Once again we found it spotlessly clean resort with exceptional staff. The restaurant although very busy is exceptionally well managed and run with precision. Brilliant selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner anyone who has a problem with the quality or choice of food here have a got a problem of their own. If you want to be amongst the hive of activity then you can, but there is always a quiet table away in the corner for you. We arrived on the 10th October and for the first week there was twice the sunbeds available for those who were there, even when it got busy with half term then there were still sunbeds available. Pool and surrounding areas are spotless, the snack bar and bar area stocked with branded drinks, plenty of choice even for those who are fussy. The hill to the beach is yes steep but there is a shuttle bus that runs 3 times in the morning and 3 times in the evening which is free to the beach and the local town, and the taxi will only cost you 3.50 euros or ten minute pleasant walk. Wonderful place to stay and its much warmer than the other end of the island.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I love Jandia. I honestly don't know why the majority of the Brits stay up north or in the God awful Calete de Fuste. This was our second trip to Jandia and we were looking for an inexpensive good standard hotel and we got it. Good pool areas. Clean. Access to food and drink whenever you need. Tireless animation team. Only three minor points, try to stay away from the overworked reception, they generally only have one person on to sort the whole hotel out and as helpful as they are it is very slow going, be patient or don't bother. Parking, we paid to park on the premises and got a full refund as the barriers to the car park are impossible, you get locked in, you get locked out. Take a chance and park on the street, there was no problem. Finally we booked a double room for our family of three, assuming the two double beds would suffice, however the "double" beds were more like large singles and not suitable for two adults in one. We bought a lilo and made it into a bed for our nine year old, luckily she is young enough to think of it as an adventure. There are family rooms which consist of two bedrooms and two bathrooms which would be more appropriate. Other than this, and if you're clued in prior to planning your holiday, you will have a lovely time. Please dont be put off by what I'm writing, they're just heads-ups for you to take note of. We enjoyed and we were sorry to come home. Ps lots of steps watch out if you have mobility issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karryanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We too have just returned after a weeks stay. The only problem we had - was leaving !!! Requested a quiet sea view room and that's exactly what we got. It was perfect - very nice sized room, comfy beds, high ceilings, air con (and fan), fridge and large bathroom with bidet. No complaints at all on the food. The Pastry Chef needs a very special mention as does the lady chef who danced the tarantella (?) with a guest. Brilliant. Yes, the hotel is on a very steep hill .... but we cheated ..... walked to the hotel ( it's a Barcelo too) across the road - got their lift down two floors, walked through the hotel grounds (very nice) then out to the small (very tidy) shopping centre where there is another lift to take you down another two floors. Much better way to get to the beach - and even better on the return !!!!! It's a nice walk either left or right, and includes sightings of chipmunks/parrots/ibis/donkeys. Quietest area we have ever been too ... Blackpool or San Antonio it is not.
Staff at the hotel, without exception, were polite, helpful and courteous.
Would we go back ........oh yes !!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Yve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
37.0 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fuerteventura Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Mar

Property: Occidental Jandia Mar
Address: Playa del Jable S/N | Barranco de Vinamar, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Pajara
#9 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#16 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy more than 50,000 m² of fun, comfort and entertainment in a privileged setting. The Barcelo Jandia Mar**** hotel, which has been awarded the Thomas Cook Marque of Excellence, is situated opposite the spectacular Jandia beach, in the south of Fuerteventura. The hotel offers a wide range of services and activities for you to enjoy your holidays to the max. Relax and pamper yourself in our health and wellness centre, which boasts a sauna, gym, solarium and massage services. For sports lovers, the hotel offers an extensive range of activities including: mini-golf and multi-sports court, water sports, windsurfing, scuba diving and sport fishing. And for the little ones, we have the Barcy Kid's Club. With the Barcelo All Inclusive programme, you can enjoy all the hotel facilities and its superb restaurants (the All Inclusive service finishes at 23.00). The Barcelo Jandia Mar hotel is the perfect choice to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Barcelo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Jandia Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Mar Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Mar
Barcelo Hotel Pajara
Fuerteventura Jandia
Occidental Jandia Mar Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing