We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Mar
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Pajara
Bray Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to go back”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the Jandia Mar from 8th to 22nd October and have decided that it is the best allround hotel we have stayed in (including hotels we stayed in on half-board basis). The value for money was amazing. We booked on the Barcelo site in June and got a very good value rate. We have stayed in Barcelo hotels before but this was by far the best. Do not get put off by the comments about the hill up to the hotel, Some people make it sound as if the hotel is on the side of a cliff ! There is a gentle incline up to the jandia Mar. You are on holidays - take it gently ! Also there is a lift from the shopping centre at the bottom of the hill up to the Jandia Playa which is just across the road from the Jandia Mar, Take the lift in the Jandia Playa up to reception and cross the road to the Jandia Mar ! Also for those people moaning about having to queue for coffee or for food that the chefs are cooking on the spot for you - lighten up ! You are on your holidays not rushing for the tube. Speaking about the food - it was wonderful. The best fish (all freshly cooked) I have ever tasted. Leg of lamb - falling off the bone, wonderfu selection of vegetables (hot) and every kind of salad you could imagine. Soups both at lunch and dinner were really tasty and varied. Theme nights such as Japanese and Mexican were a big treat down to the last detail. I saw people pile their plates high with the wonderful food on offer and only someone who knows nothing about food could complain. Plenty of fresh fruit, ice-cream (4 different types and desserts that could turn a person into a total glutton ! During the day for those who dont want to leave the pool area the pool bar serves a great selection of snacks - burgers, hot-dogs, chips, salads, help yourself ice-cream and even a chef cooking the biggest piella I have ever seen on one occasion. What more could anyone want. The indoor pool and jacuzzi is very popular as it is a few degrees hotter than the outdoor pool. I saw people moaning about the temperature of the outdoor pool in August!. For me it was tolerable in October and even the smallest of babies went into the small children`s pool and played happily for hours. I also do not know how people could moan about the drink ! The bar in the evening did great business with a cocktail of the day (which people helped themselves to) and a great variety of drinks and cocktails made with local (and for a token amount of €2 - Smirnoff or Bacardi or well known brands) - quantities being probably 4 times a U.K. shot. What more can I say - there are 4 english channels for those who want it and I cannot understand people moaning about this. Do they go on holidays to watch TV ? There was a wonderful mix of nationalities in the hotel, French, English, Scots, Welsh, Irish, German, Dutch, Italian and plenty of Spanish. It is by no means a hotel for "one
nationality only" as has been implied by some reviewers. Finally - the staff - the most competent and friendly I have ever come across. They should be proud of the wonderful professional service they give their customers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DolBrayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,672
    1,940
    846
    291
    183
See reviews for
1,891
2,243
80
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Spent 4 days here all inclusive. The view from the terrace of the sun setting over the sparkling blue sea was absolutely beautiful. The first reception man was a bit rude when we complained about our tiny, viewless balcony so we decided we might end up worse off and said no more. All the other staff were delightful. The room was clean and pleasant and we were glad to be in the main part of the hotel. There were no oppressive queues while we were there and a great choice of food and drinks which I thoroughly enjoyed. As everyone has mentioned the walk up the hill from the beach was a bit of a killer but I am no spring chicken and I managed it. There was a hotel bus morning and evening for the faint hearted. There wasn't much to do other than resort type stuff, far from ideal for walkers unless you're into barren brown rocks and low scrub under the beating sun to infinity and beyond. The resorts were like mini oases in an endless rocky desert. No night life for young set (suited me).The sea was fab especially when tide came in, great waves, I would have bought a body board and a mask and snorkel if we had longer. Plenty of shops down the hill to buy holiday type stuff. We had a Shirley Valentine moment in the village of Morro Jable sitting at a cafe right by the sea but even there was a bit more resorty than I expected. If you want a lazy relaxing resort type holiday or you are a lover of fun in the sea then this is ideal but for me a week would be more than enough. The transfer is long but the resorts closer to the airport seemed a bit honky tonk for my taste.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maluspurpurea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed for 9 nights and it was a complete joy from start to finish. Despite arriving at just before midnight we were told that the restaurant had been kept open as they were expecting late arrivals (nice start). I am not a fussy eater (but do enjoy my food) however my wife and 4yr old Daughter can be a bit picky. No worries on that one great selection of great tasting food (as my expanded waist line will testify to). The staff, from housekeeping to entertainment, made us feel very welcome and appreciated they are, to a man, all smiles at all times. I cant recommend this hotel enough if your in two minds then go. You will not be disappointed. Oh yeah the hill that everyone mentions... Yup there is one and yes if you choose you may have to walk up it, honesty my 4yr old managed it and she never walks anywhere if she can help it...

Room Tip: Get a suite the bath alone is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

just came back from a great week at the barcelo mar with my hubby and friends , The hotel was clean , staff were friendly, was good value for money , The only criticisms I have is although there was plenty to eat it was normally just warm no were near hot enough to enjoy it , Also there were no parasol's to have a break from the sun ok you might think that's petty but one of our party likes to sit shaded from the full glare of the sun , not everyone is a sun worshiper , There was also a shortage of pint glasses in the piano bar , which only left wine glasses or paper cups, But all in all we had a great time and would defo go back again,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisydelfonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed for 1 week October half term,coach journey really long but hotel is really nice.staff friendly.the only thing we found we didn't like was the food. There is some choice but they didn't cater for children unless ur children are happy eating pasta and chips,food was always warm never hot.italian restaurant we enjoyed.jandia beach is amazing white sand crystal sea.look for chipmunks they are so gentle and love cucumber.....shops and restaurants about 10 mins walk.if u fancy a meal out the cappuccino steakhouse and pizza restaurant is lovely :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loubyabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Like many of the other reviews about the hotel here is another positive one. We have just returned after a week and our only regret is that we didn't book for two. We had a superb time and really want to visit again as loved every aspect. Hotel is first class, Jandia beaches are stunning and weather was fantastic. We have been to the island twice before and stayed in Barceló Club El Castillo, Costa Caleta [2010] (where the food was poor) and Suite Hotel Atlantis, Carralejo [2009] (which was very good) yet this was by far the best!

.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

If your looking for 7 star accommodation this isn't for you, but if your looking for 7 star value for money then this is the place to go. We have just returned after a two week stay, our second visit, we enjoyed it so much last year we went back again this year and it was just as good as last year. Once again we found it spotlessly clean resort with exceptional staff. The restaurant although very busy is exceptionally well managed and run with precision. Brilliant selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner anyone who has a problem with the quality or choice of food here have a got a problem of their own. If you want to be amongst the hive of activity then you can, but there is always a quiet table away in the corner for you. We arrived on the 10th October and for the first week there was twice the sunbeds available for those who were there, even when it got busy with half term then there were still sunbeds available. Pool and surrounding areas are spotless, the snack bar and bar area stocked with branded drinks, plenty of choice even for those who are fussy. The hill to the beach is yes steep but there is a shuttle bus that runs 3 times in the morning and 3 times in the evening which is free to the beach and the local town, and the taxi will only cost you 3.50 euros or ten minute pleasant walk. Wonderful place to stay and its much warmer than the other end of the island.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
37.0 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
36.3 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,015 reviews
54.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Mar

Property: Occidental Jandia Mar
Address: Playa del Jable S/N | Barranco de Vinamar, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Pajara
#10 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#17 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy more than 50,000 m² of fun, comfort and entertainment in a privileged setting. The Barcelo Jandia Mar**** hotel, which has been awarded the Thomas Cook Marque of Excellence, is situated opposite the spectacular Jandia beach, in the south of Fuerteventura. The hotel offers a wide range of services and activities for you to enjoy your holidays to the max. Relax and pamper yourself in our health and wellness centre, which boasts a sauna, gym, solarium and massage services. For sports lovers, the hotel offers an extensive range of activities including: mini-golf and multi-sports court, water sports, windsurfing, scuba diving and sport fishing. And for the little ones, we have the Barcy Kid's Club. With the Barcelo All Inclusive programme, you can enjoy all the hotel facilities and its superb restaurants (the All Inclusive service finishes at 23.00). The Barcelo Jandia Mar hotel is the perfect choice to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Occidental Jandia Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Mar Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Mar
Barcelo Hotel Pajara
Fuerteventura Jandia
Occidental Jandia Mar Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing