We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel For The Value Minded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Mar
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Pajara
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel For The Value Minded”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Me and my girlfriend booked this hotel with the intention of having a value-for-money week holiday somewhere hot and sunny.

This hotel did not disappoint. It is spacious and offers plenty of room for sunbeds and lounging by the pool. The rooms and the hotel itself are kept incredibly clean and the food choice was superb - plenty of fish, meat and speciality dishes. There was some overlap in the rotation but the sheer range meant only the fussiest of eaters would find this a problem. The inclusive drinks menu was fantastic too - covers a whole range of spirits, cocktails and beer and includes a 'cocktail' of the night option.

During our visit it looked like there was a good mix of families, couple and seniors so it really did look like a hotel to cater for all. Due to the hotel's location there is not much in the way of nightlife but this isn't what we went for.

Pros:

Great value for money
Spacious resort - plenty of room around the pool and inside the hotel
Clean, comfortable rooms
Fantastic range of inclusive food and drink

Cons:

Set on a steep hill - could be a problem for some
Not a great deal to do in the town - some tourist shops and a couple of restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aglazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    1,792
    786
    260
    169
See reviews for
1,668
2,124
77
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Brilliant hotel with huge grounds and very friendly staff; I loved the all inclusive food with great variety and fresh produce! Fabulous pools with a outdoor bar. Very clean room and great communal chill out areas with plush sofas. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antikrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

When you arrived you felt very welcome. The staff members are very helpful and always smiling. The food is fabulous and worth every penny. The hotel it self is beautiful and very very clean. The entertainment and activates are outstanding for both children and adults. The bar is also very nice though out the day into the evening and the atmosphere is brilliant. The spa and gym is very good apart from the treatments can be a bit pricy but apart from that it's all very good. I recommend this hotel for adults more so than children because there is quite a lot for the adults to do here. I think it's been one of my best holidays I have been to. And also your very close to the beach and a hour away from the zoo witch I think is very worth the money also. I'll be going back next year because I loved every moment staying at that gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StaceyTottman2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just been for a week and glad it was only a week.. 2 hour journey to the resort from the airport. No way this is a 4 star. Poor choice of food always cold.. They don't even provide cups for coffee after a meal all machine hot drink all served in plastic cups.. Not a tea spoon in sight. Hotel is some distance from nearest shopping centre requires taxi ride if you take kids. Room backed on to a car park extremely thin walls in the rooms.. Would not stay again that's for sure.. This is 3 star at a push hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyhp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the Jandia Mar from 8th to 22nd October and have decided that it is the best allround hotel we have stayed in (including hotels we stayed in on half-board basis). The value for money was amazing. We booked on the Barcelo site in June and got a very good value rate. We have stayed in Barcelo hotels before but this was by far the best. Do not get put off by the comments about the hill up to the hotel, Some people make it sound as if the hotel is on the side of a cliff ! There is a gentle incline up to the jandia Mar. You are on holidays - take it gently ! Also there is a lift from the shopping centre at the bottom of the hill up to the Jandia Playa which is just across the road from the Jandia Mar, Take the lift in the Jandia Playa up to reception and cross the road to the Jandia Mar ! Also for those people moaning about having to queue for coffee or for food that the chefs are cooking on the spot for you - lighten up ! You are on your holidays not rushing for the tube. Speaking about the food - it was wonderful. The best fish (all freshly cooked) I have ever tasted. Leg of lamb - falling off the bone, wonderfu selection of vegetables (hot) and every kind of salad you could imagine. Soups both at lunch and dinner were really tasty and varied. Theme nights such as Japanese and Mexican were a big treat down to the last detail. I saw people pile their plates high with the wonderful food on offer and only someone who knows nothing about food could complain. Plenty of fresh fruit, ice-cream (4 different types and desserts that could turn a person into a total glutton ! During the day for those who dont want to leave the pool area the pool bar serves a great selection of snacks - burgers, hot-dogs, chips, salads, help yourself ice-cream and even a chef cooking the biggest piella I have ever seen on one occasion. What more could anyone want. The indoor pool and jacuzzi is very popular as it is a few degrees hotter than the outdoor pool. I saw people moaning about the temperature of the outdoor pool in August!. For me it was tolerable in October and even the smallest of babies went into the small children`s pool and played happily for hours. I also do not know how people could moan about the drink ! The bar in the evening did great business with a cocktail of the day (which people helped themselves to) and a great variety of drinks and cocktails made with local (and for a token amount of €2 - Smirnoff or Bacardi or well known brands) - quantities being probably 4 times a U.K. shot. What more can I say - there are 4 english channels for those who want it and I cannot understand people moaning about this. Do they go on holidays to watch TV ? There was a wonderful mix of nationalities in the hotel, French, English, Scots, Welsh, Irish, German, Dutch, Italian and plenty of Spanish. It is by no means a hotel for "one
nationality only" as has been implied by some reviewers. Finally - the staff - the most competent and friendly I have ever come across. They should be proud of the wonderful professional service they give their customers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DolBrayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Spent 4 days here all inclusive. The view from the terrace of the sun setting over the sparkling blue sea was absolutely beautiful. The first reception man was a bit rude when we complained about our tiny, viewless balcony so we decided we might end up worse off and said no more. All the other staff were delightful. The room was clean and pleasant and we were glad to be in the main part of the hotel. There were no oppressive queues while we were there and a great choice of food and drinks which I thoroughly enjoyed. As everyone has mentioned the walk up the hill from the beach was a bit of a killer but I am no spring chicken and I managed it. There was a hotel bus morning and evening for the faint hearted. There wasn't much to do other than resort type stuff, far from ideal for walkers unless you're into barren brown rocks and low scrub under the beating sun to infinity and beyond. The resorts were like mini oases in an endless rocky desert. No night life for young set (suited me).The sea was fab especially when tide came in, great waves, I would have bought a body board and a mask and snorkel if we had longer. Plenty of shops down the hill to buy holiday type stuff. We had a Shirley Valentine moment in the village of Morro Jable sitting at a cafe right by the sea but even there was a bit more resorty than I expected. If you want a lazy relaxing resort type holiday or you are a lover of fun in the sea then this is ideal but for me a week would be more than enough. The transfer is long but the resorts closer to the airport seemed a bit honky tonk for my taste.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maluspurpurea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed for 9 nights and it was a complete joy from start to finish. Despite arriving at just before midnight we were told that the restaurant had been kept open as they were expecting late arrivals (nice start). I am not a fussy eater (but do enjoy my food) however my wife and 4yr old Daughter can be a bit picky. No worries on that one great selection of great tasting food (as my expanded waist line will testify to). The staff, from housekeeping to entertainment, made us feel very welcome and appreciated they are, to a man, all smiles at all times. I cant recommend this hotel enough if your in two minds then go. You will not be disappointed. Oh yeah the hill that everyone mentions... Yup there is one and yes if you choose you may have to walk up it, honesty my 4yr old managed it and she never walks anywhere if she can help it...

Room Tip: Get a suite the bath alone is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
37.0 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fuerteventura Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Mar

Property: Occidental Jandia Mar
Address: Playa del Jable S/N | Barranco de Vinamar, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Pajara
#9 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#16 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy more than 50,000 m² of fun, comfort and entertainment in a privileged setting. The Barcelo Jandia Mar**** hotel, which has been awarded the Thomas Cook Marque of Excellence, is situated opposite the spectacular Jandia beach, in the south of Fuerteventura. The hotel offers a wide range of services and activities for you to enjoy your holidays to the max. Relax and pamper yourself in our health and wellness centre, which boasts a sauna, gym, solarium and massage services. For sports lovers, the hotel offers an extensive range of activities including: mini-golf and multi-sports court, water sports, windsurfing, scuba diving and sport fishing. And for the little ones, we have the Barcy Kid's Club. With the Barcelo All Inclusive programme, you can enjoy all the hotel facilities and its superb restaurants (the All Inclusive service finishes at 23.00). The Barcelo Jandia Mar hotel is the perfect choice to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Jandia Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Mar Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Mar
Barcelo Hotel Pajara
Fuerteventura Jandia
Occidental Jandia Mar Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing