We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think twice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Mar
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Pajara
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a beautiful hotel/resort. The hotel is well maintained with all the small jobs being undertaken all the time. The garden being looked after, the bulb being replaced, the leaves being swept. There is an obvious desire to keep the whole place looking good which is no mean feat in a very well used establishment. The food isn't haute cuisine but you would be hard pushed to not find something that you could eat, there are always plenty of choices. The staff are always friendly and smiling and are quite obviously happy in their jobs. It was my partners birthday whilst we were away. This had been picked up by the hotel and on our return from a day out there was a bottle of 'bubbly' and a large plate of prepared fruits awaiting her. This is a well run but busy establishment and is definitely value for money. The hotel is on a steep hill but the walk up will be in the shade, if you have difficulty with hills this could be a deal breaker. There is a spa/health centre on site but we did not take advantage of the facility.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 5,163 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Recently back from a lovely stay in a lovely hotel and surroundings, firstly lets get the hill out of the way, it is a little steep and people with walking difficulties will struggle but there is no need to struggle as there is a bus available for the return trip down to the beach which is 5 mins away, the hill can also be all but nullified by using the elevator in the Ventura shopping centre and going through the Barcelo Jandia Playa directly in front of the Jandia Mar.
The room was large and spacious with clean towels and bedding every day, only stayed for a week so cant comment on the food being repetitive the second week, the food was very good with plenty of meat, fresh fish, veg, themed nights and an array of desserts and fruit. The AI drinks were better than most places I've stayed as they were mostly self serve, red wine, white wine, beer, rose & sangria, you had to ask the barman for cocktails, spirits and cava.You would have to be particularly fussy to not like anything on offer in the buffet restaurant and you could even use the pool snack bar, salads, chips, bread, hotdogs, burgers & some specials through the day such as chicken breast and paella or stews, the children would like the snack bar because along with the above there is ice cream and slush on tap.The town itself is nice, not too busy with plenty of shops and bars though most bars are German, only one British bar I found was the Boot and Ball above the shopping centre, wait for the market down the bottom on Monday & Thursday for much better prices than the shops. Another great aspect is the fact that the Germans cannot get up at the crack of dawn and reserve all the sunbeds as it is strictly prohibited and their things will be removed by security, The only thing that upset me and my wife during our stay was something that is not directly the hotels fault but they should monitor it is the unbelievably rude behaviour of some guests in the restaurant, to the point of pushing their way in front of people queuing and at one point my wife was being glared at by a lady all night because we were sat out on the terrace having a drink waiting to go and get dessert and she wanted our table! rude people if you read this you know who you are especially the large woman with men's check shirt on who would open the doors and start before the restaurant was even open and barge people out of the way to get to food first! Rant Over ;=), Oh and not much privacy on balcony, do away with the trellis and get something solid.

Room Tip: Get a high room above reception for pool and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank antlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was our 7th stay in this hotel, and it never lets us down. The food is great and lots of it there is never a time of the day when you can't get food or drink. Friendly staff, entertainment brill.
We did ask to stay in the playa as one of our party of four find it hard walking up the steep hill however it wasn't possible so we didn't get out much but as the hotel was so nice we didn't mind staying in and were given a lovely room with a great view.... Thank you all once again and see you in 2014.... Keep up the good work... June, Nigel Kath and John....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 01793346342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Me and my girlfriend booked this hotel with the intention of having a value-for-money week holiday somewhere hot and sunny.

This hotel did not disappoint. It is spacious and offers plenty of room for sunbeds and lounging by the pool. The rooms and the hotel itself are kept incredibly clean and the food choice was superb - plenty of fish, meat and speciality dishes. There was some overlap in the rotation but the sheer range meant only the fussiest of eaters would find this a problem. The inclusive drinks menu was fantastic too - covers a whole range of spirits, cocktails and beer and includes a 'cocktail' of the night option.

During our visit it looked like there was a good mix of families, couple and seniors so it really did look like a hotel to cater for all. Due to the hotel's location there is not much in the way of nightlife but this isn't what we went for.

Pros:

Great value for money
Spacious resort - plenty of room around the pool and inside the hotel
Clean, comfortable rooms
Fantastic range of inclusive food and drink

Cons:

Set on a steep hill - could be a problem for some
Not a great deal to do in the town - some tourist shops and a couple of restaurants

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aglazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Brilliant hotel with huge grounds and very friendly staff; I loved the all inclusive food with great variety and fresh produce! Fabulous pools with a outdoor bar. Very clean room and great communal chill out areas with plush sofas. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antikrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

When you arrived you felt very welcome. The staff members are very helpful and always smiling. The food is fabulous and worth every penny. The hotel it self is beautiful and very very clean. The entertainment and activates are outstanding for both children and adults. The bar is also very nice though out the day into the evening and the atmosphere is brilliant. The spa and gym is very good apart from the treatments can be a bit pricy but apart from that it's all very good. I recommend this hotel for adults more so than children because there is quite a lot for the adults to do here. I think it's been one of my best holidays I have been to. And also your very close to the beach and a hour away from the zoo witch I think is very worth the money also. I'll be going back next year because I loved every moment staying at that gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StaceyTottman2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just been for a week and glad it was only a week.. 2 hour journey to the resort from the airport. No way this is a 4 star. Poor choice of food always cold.. They don't even provide cups for coffee after a meal all machine hot drink all served in plastic cups.. Not a tea spoon in sight. Hotel is some distance from nearest shopping centre requires taxi ride if you take kids. Room backed on to a car park extremely thin walls in the rooms.. Would not stay again that's for sure.. This is 3 star at a push hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladyhp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
7.4 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
37.0 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
37.1 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Mar

Address: Playa del Jable S/N | Barranco de Vinamar, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Pajara
#9 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#16 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range: £80 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy more than 50,000 m² of fun, comfort and entertainment in a privileged setting. The Barcelo Jandia Mar**** hotel, which has been awarded the Thomas Cook Marque of Excellence, is situated opposite the spectacular Jandia beach, in the south of Fuerteventura. The hotel offers a wide range of services and activities for you to enjoy your holidays to the max. Relax and pamper yourself in our health and wellness centre, which boasts a sauna, gym, solarium and massage services. For sports lovers, the hotel offers an extensive range of activities including: mini-golf and multi-sports court, water sports, windsurfing, scuba diving and sport fishing. And for the little ones, we have the Barcy Kid's Club. With the Barcelo All Inclusive programme, you can enjoy all the hotel facilities and its superb restaurants (the All Inclusive service finishes at 23.00). The Barcelo Jandia Mar hotel is the perfect choice to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Occidental Jandia Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Mar Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Mar
Barcelo Hotel Pajara
Fuerteventura Jandia
Occidental Jandia Mar Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing