We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barcelo the the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Jandia Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Mar
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Pajara
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Barcelo the the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one week in late July 2014,hotel and staff great and the food of a high standard.
Will be going again this was our third trip (why change a good thing)by far the best AI we have been to.

Great location and rooms very clean,pools and gardens well kept.
Only down turn is the hill up to hotel ,just get the courtesy bus.
A five star location.

Al. London

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alan4615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,446
    1,709
    748
    250
    163
See reviews for
1,555
2,028
70
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked this before the start of the season, so checked out some of the reviews in June which left us a bit worried. When we arrived we were welcomed and sent straight to the main restaurant so we could fill in our forms and eat lunch before it closed.
Our room was perfect, spacious and very clean. The rooms were serviced each day to a very high standard and the sheets changed regularly. Unfortunately, the walls are not sound-proof and if you are unlucky enough to be next door to a screaming baby whose parents insist on leaving it to cry you may find it hard to sleep!
There is plenty of cupboard space and the bathroom was also spacious (perhaps lacking a bit of light).
The restaurants, bars and snack bar beside the pool were all excellent. The staff were simply working their socks off to maintain the standard of food and cleanliness all of the time.
The pool areas were spacious, there were plenty of sunbeds and the option for shaded areas too. There were always lifeguards and the spa pool was all very nice (and very hot).
The entertainment was terrible, thankfully this did not impact on our holiday as there were also plenty of space to sit quietly and play cards. It did not start until 10-10.30 and mostly resembled the opening of the Eurovision Song Contest with poor attempts to introduce themselves in 6 different languages very badly! Audience participation games were mostly in bad taste and not really suitable if you had children with you!
Whilst we didn't use the kids club, because we chose to have a family holiday with our daughter, you did see the kids club activities happening around the complex. The level of supervision looked very poor and the staff did not appear to be able to converse confidently with the children in their different languages.
The beach was just wonderful, massive stretches of golden sand, it does involve walking down a long steep hill (and back) but it is well worth it. There is a shuttle bus from the hotel and back 3 times a day.
There is a parade of shops at the bottom of the hill and a SPAR shop (!). very convenient.

Everyone who has been to Fueteventura always comments on the breeze, how cooling it is etc.... do not be fooled, it is bloody windy in Jandia, not too much of a problem during the day but the evenings are cold if you intend to sit outside. Because of the wind, the sea/waves are quite strong.We did adventure to the old town of MorroHable (probably spelt wrong) a couple of times, the beach there is also beautiful but slightly more sheltered from the wind, the water was a lot calmer and you could see the fish etc.
Don't get the bus anywhere, always get a taxi, they are such good value and the buses are far more expensive.
There is a cash point in the hotel next door which you can use.
The hotel do not provide bottled water apart from the complimentary one in you room when you arrive, however, the water on draught from the bars is absolutely fine to drink.
Overall we had a fantastic time, brilliant hotel. We look forward visiting again in the future and will definitely look for the Barcelo brand in future when looking at different resorts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I'm still here but since a lot of people are looking for nice places to go on holiday so i decide to place my review today.
The location is big with an international audience. We came during the wk to avoid the caos of the wk end but it was not enough. Some troubles happened in any case. If you look for nice rooms or suite, ask for 511 or 510. In the main building; really good and with enough space to feel at home. If you are four ask for a master suite. All inclusive formula is needed. Beach is a dream. Unfortunately is not exactly right at the corner; it's 10 min walking but you need to be trained to come back after a must long walk on th sand. Get a car, is better. Overall feedback is good, but it's a pity. They are so close to reach the next level just missing some attention and care on details.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ces F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I and two fifteen year old girls stayed for 2 weeks at the end of July/early August on an all-inclusive basis in the main block on the 5th floor (superior double and twin (interconnecting rooms 519 and 520). Both rooms have sea and pool view and decent sized balcony. The rooms were excellent being well decorated, clean and a good size. Ours had a king size bed. There was no problem with noise as any outdoor entertainment from the terracing below was over at 11pm. We considered it a good location as we had direct access to the reception, dining and pools via the lift. Other blocks were more distant.

Firstly the minus points, which for our stay were really only minor gripes - If you like travelling on local transport you will be disappointed as this area is not serviced by any bus service.
If you like frequent visits to the lovely beach directly in front of the hotel 10 minutes away it's a steep return up the hill. An occasional courtesy bus may help if you time it right and want to stay a while.
No free wi-fi! There is a charge of either 7E a day or 25E a week per device and the coverage was a bit patchy and rather slow.
If you want to change your gratis pool towels it will cost 2E per occasion per towel
The AI drinks finish at 11pm
The pineapple, pears and peaches and fruit cocktail available at the buffet are tinned
If you like activities they come at a cost for eg the 4 hour pirate boat trip will cost 50E each which compared to longer ones we have been on in Turkey are very expensive.

Now the plus points other than those mentioned around the rooms.
The beaches are gorgeous and the sea lovely (and probably warmer than the salt water pools).
Taxis, ordered from reception are cheap - 3,5E into the centre of Jandia where there are plenty of shops, bars and places to eat, but it is walkable in about 15-20 minutes (remember the climb back though)
All the hotel communal areas including the two pools are immaculate.
The staff are very friendly and helpful
The food is very good quality and plenty of variety unless your tastes are limited, As with even 5* AI resorts meal times can be a bit "samey" after 2 weeks
When we were there sunbeds were always available although it was noticeably busier during the second week - no early morning dash with towels!
The animation team were absolutely brilliant especially Diego and Michele who worked their socks off. There was something for everyone who like to join in the games, aqua aerobics, pilates etc. Each day also usually included something different in the programme such as demonstrations making paella,cocktail or aloe vera lotions etc as well as different animals brought into the hotel
The African market each Thursday in Jandia is worth a visit for a bargain
If you fancy a trip to the zoo "Oasis" is worth a visit about 30 minutes away. There is a free courtesy bus from the hotel at either 9.05 or 10.25 and returns at 17.00. The charge was 28E for adults but you can book on-line and save a little. The zoo also offers a half hour camel ride for 12E
From our experience we would class it as a solid 4* hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TigerDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Booked with Jet 2 and got a real bargain.High standards of cleanliness, good food, fair variety but a bit samey towards the end of our 7 days. Disappointing couldn't get in italian restaurant. And no free wifi. Overall though an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank vivliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel mid June in block 5, we had a nice spacious clean room. The experience was overall very pleasant and relaxing. The beach is just amazing, unfortunately if you wanted a sun bed you had to pay...not so much all inclusive. The food is nice but not great, I was expecting to have some traditional Spanish food, which was not the case. Entertainment was average. We enjoyed the sun and we would definitely return to lovely Fuerteventura.
If you are travelling to Fuerteventura take you driving license with you as you can hire a car for a very good price and see the whole island.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nunta2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here early July for 11 nights. After reading the reviews some good/some not so, we decided as often is the case its down to peoples different expectations. So as long as it does not state cockroachers and food poisoning we book with an open mind. We have stayed in several 4 * all-inclusive/half board and would put this one at the bottom of the list. In others we have not had to pay for safe in room or to change beach towels. We found the food very samey and queues do put you off, on pizza night I counted 44 people in the queue. We decided to eat out a few nights for a bit of variation and to experience the local life. (restaurants down on the harbour are very nice) The area in the restaurant where you choose the food, seemed poorly laid out. You get in a long queue to go past the fish, veg, meat then potatoes, so if you want just meat and potatoes you queue to go past the other things, rather than small queues for each section. The dress code for dinner seems a free for all, so some wearing swimwear to dinner while others dressed smartly. The La Toscana restaurant which you can book once during your stay however was very nice. The snack area we visited a couple of times, but had lots of flies on uncovered food, again put us off. Our room was very nice, large and clean. However on 5 consecutive occasions we were unable to access our room after breakfast as keycard did not work, we complained to reception each morning and had to wait for engineer to let us in, on one morning this took one and a half hours! On the 3rd morning manager Juan said the lock would be changed and apologised , two more mornings and the same problem, they say its to do with humidity! On the fifth morning another manager said lock had not been changed and would be that day, so frustrating. He also then offered us a room upgrade which we declined as only had 2 days left. Another issue was I poured a glass of wine from the bar tap one evening after checking glass was clean (which I always do, when i looked in my drink there was 4 fruit flies swimming in it! we think they were up inside the tap, showed it to the barman who was not interested. On a plus the animation teamed worked hard throughout the day with activities around the poor which were entertaining even to just watch. Also no English tv channels in room, didn't bother us too much, but a news channel would of been nice. On the whole its our first visit to a barcelo hotel on our 2nd wedding anniversary, unfortunately we wont be visiting another or recommending.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariahawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - ...
#4 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
37.0 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
54.5 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Mar

Property: Occidental Jandia Mar
Address: Playa del Jable S/N | Barranco de Vinamar, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Pajara
#8 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#15 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy more than 50,000 m² of fun, comfort and entertainment in a privileged setting. The Barcelo Jandia Mar**** hotel, which has been awarded the Thomas Cook Marque of Excellence, is situated opposite the spectacular Jandia beach, in the south of Fuerteventura. The hotel offers a wide range of services and activities for you to enjoy your holidays to the max. Relax and pamper yourself in our health and wellness centre, which boasts a sauna, gym, solarium and massage services. For sports lovers, the hotel offers an extensive range of activities including: mini-golf and multi-sports court, water sports, windsurfing, scuba diving and sport fishing. And for the little ones, we have the Barcy Kid's Club. With the Barcelo All Inclusive programme, you can enjoy all the hotel facilities and its superb restaurants (the All Inclusive service finishes at 23.00). The Barcelo Jandia Mar hotel is the perfect choice to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Occidental Jandia Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Mar Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Mar
Barcelo Hotel Pajara
Fuerteventura Jandia
Occidental Jandia Mar Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing