We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,703)
Filter reviews
6,703 results
Traveller rating
2,214
2,578
1,187
438
286
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,214
2,578
1,187
438
286
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf salad ice cream pork sister hotel indoor pool free bus mini golf plenty of sunbeds great holiday evening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
674 - 679 of 6,703 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Very friendly staff and temperature in the low to mid 20s for the middle of november. Good food with a wide selection available. Be warned hotel sits a top a steep hill but there is a courtesy bus to the beach which is handy. Generally a very hilly area, a little quiet too.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank boltonrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Management at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear Bolton,
Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Jandía Mar. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Guest Experience Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We order double sea view, but get room 1005, with 2 separate beds in different high levels, beds was not possible to move. On terrace there was childrens table and chairs (table high 50 cm) It was Barcy childrens room given to married couple. When we come back, at reception girl, who worked (with blond hairs and glasses) said, that here is some mistake with booking and call manager. Also at reception she didn't explain what does it mean 2nd shift for dinner. Also, I was ordered late check out, but no one said, that I need to come to reception day before to talk about late check out. When we was checking out at 14:00 workers ask us to pay 40€ for late check out.
When we come at second day to change room we wait at reception 1,5 hours ( they said that room will be ready at 13:00, we come at 14:00, go to room at 15:30) but finally get room which we ordered- double sea view.
There was very long quenues in bars. It looks like there is not enough staff in bars and restaurant.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
7  Thank 123sol2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Dear Ms. Skumbina,

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Jandia Mar hotel.
To begin with, we regret to hear that you had a first bad impression of our hotel due to the incident with the change of room caused ,as you mention, by an unfortunate mistake with you reservation at the time of check in. For us, it is very important that every guest stays in a room where they can feel comfortable during their stay, personalizing the service by our team to delight them. We have reviewed your particular case and, as you indicate, a room change was made to exceed your expectations. We are glad to hear that the room finally assigned liked you.
To continue, and regarding to the late check out, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that the extras that have not been paid in advance or during the stay, including late check-out, must be paid upon departure. It is for this reason that you were charged € 35 for leaving the room at 18 pm, information that was cleary identified in your reservation.
To conclude, and related to the queues on the bars, we have taken good note of your remark and regret reading your dissatisfaction, our barmen shifts are studied to ensure an impeccable service throughout the day and are reinforced during peak hours, nevertheless we commit to improve on this aspect of our services so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.
Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

Best regards,

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

arrived at this hotel on the 10/11/17, my husband treated me to a break without our children for my 40th birthday. arrived at reception and was told they had a "Computer error" and that our room wouldn't be ready till next day. I initially accepted this as errors can happen. Reception promised us an upgrade next day, however when we entered our room we were completely shocked to discover that they had split a family room and another couple were in the adjoining room and we had been put in the children's part of the room, two high sleeper beds and one pull out floor level trundle bed. no ladders provided for high beds. patio area shared with people in adjoining room, they had the adult chairs and table and we had the small children's plastic table and chairs absolute joke. returned to reception crying and explained that it wasn't possible for us stay in this room as I suffer from arthritis in my back. Reception couldn't care less told me I had no option. I have never met such uncaring people in my life. we phoned our rep whom phoned the hotel, called me back and told me they were overbooked and I had no other option. we spent a very unhappy night. the pull out bed which was the only one I could access had a high wooden side and every time i needed to get up banged my legs ( I have the pictures of the bruises). went to reception next day to ask when key for our room would be ready was told 12 noon. Went to reception at 12 and told 2oclock, told them no this was unacceptable as still hadn't been able to unpack and that I had had very little sleep. eventually got access to our room at 12.45. room was acceptable, was exactly as we had booked, double room with seaview certainly was not an upgrade !. fridge in room didn't work. food in restaurant was reasonable, however every time we arrived at dinning room it was difficult to get a clean table, restaurant staff worked very hard trying to keep things clean but there just isn't enough of them. Day time snacks are freezing cold, chef there works very hard replenishing the food constantly but food sits under a little heat lamp which then goes cold very quickly.
cleaning staff in this hotel work very hard and kept the room to a very good standard, they were very friendly and professional whenever you walked past them they would greet you (reception staff could learn from them). we were allocated a breakfast and dinner time, 8.15 to have your evening meal everynight is not what I would choose, we like to pick when we eat. overall could be a fantastic hotel but is being let down badly by poor management and poor customer relation skills. to overbook a room is unacceptable hotel being paid by two sets of people for the same room to me verges on fraud.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Kim,

We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our Occidental Jandia Mar hotel, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconsistency you may have experienced during your stay.
I would like to comment you that the room that occupied the first night 1001, is classified as sea view room, what you had booked. For the convenience of our customers we usually use it for families because it has an interior door that connects with the next room, which we open or close depending on the needs of our guests.
To provide you with a better stay the next day, you changed it to a room in the central building, which is considered superior due to having the best location and view in the hotel. We apologize if this superior room did not meet your expectations
On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our cleaning staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.
We sincerely lament reading that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Barceló holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

we stayed between the 10th-17th November. After a long transfer (it is a long transfer) we arrived at the hotel and the staff told us to go down for Lunch before it closed. We then came back to check in and were told where i was room was, no problem at all till we got to the room and walked in to family bunk bed room. I went back down to reception to speak to them to say this room was not what we had booked and wasn't suitable. the reception staff disappeared and came back to say he had spoken to management and due to a computer problem they couldn't move us till the day after and offered us a free safe, a meal in the the other restaurant and a sea view room. Not being very happy about it we accept it and was told to come back tomorrow. When i went back the following day i overheard someone being told when they were checking in they had the same problem and would be moved the following day. i want to know why we weren't told this at check in when they were telling other guests. i was annoyed as it did make the start of holiday not the best. Don't get me wrong the room we moved to was lovely but we didn't feel like we got much of an apology. The hotel is lovely and spacious. We thought the food and the wine was lovely in the restaurant and we always find something to eat. we got the impression when people say the food is cold is probably because your going round looking at all the choices that by the time you get back to your table it would be cold. we didn't have any issues with this. the staff work so hard in the restaurant and do agree there could be more staff needed as some tables were just left or you couldn't find cutlery to make the table up but it was nothing major for us. the pools were lovely we tried to stay round the quieter one as sometimes the noise of the animation team got a bit too much when you are trying to relax. we did feel a bit intimidated by the guy who kept walking round with clip board as you felt he was watching your every move when you moved your sunbed round to catch the sun. just made you feel like you couldn't move them around. total understand you have to make sure all the paths are clear in case of an emergency but even if you didn't move them you felt him watching you.
we found the entertainment in the evening alright, wasn't the best as it was only for maybe 45 minutes maximum. we didn't hear much English which was hard as it seemed to be mostly Spanish and German which was spoken.
I had been warned about the hill before i traveled and as much as it was hard work it wasn't an issue and the beaches are stunning its defiantly worth the walk into the town which was only around 30 minutes to the other side.
i would maybe come again as it was lovely and we did enjoy ourselves apart from the beginning but i would be very wary about the room allocation. if they had been honest from the start i wouldn't of been unhappy but it was the fact we hadn't been told and wasn't a good start to our holiday which we had been looking forward to for the last 6 months since we booked it.

Room tip: p.s take a jacket in the evening as it was little chilly
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Hayley ,
Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Jandia Mar. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 
We like to apologise if you didn't get the room you had expected the first night but your comment will help us to improve our services
It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Hotel was very clean and tidy. It had very friendly staff. Food and bar service very good. All inclusive drinks very nice. Swimming pool very clean and also have heated water. Only downside was a twin bed, it sliding over during the night time.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank lukaszsrebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear Guest,
We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Jandía Mar was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Guest Experience Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews