We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Mar
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Pajara
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I travelled with my wife and two daughters aged 15 and 17and we all had a great time.

Food:
The all inclusive package excellent value for money. There was a wide range of food available at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Meal times were 07:30-10:00, 13:00-15:00 and dinner 19:00-22:00. The snack bar by the pool was open from 12:00 until 18:00 and was always well stocked with food such as burgers, sausages, chips and all things kids love. The ice cream was excellent, probably the best strawberry ice cream I have tasted.

Drinks:
The all inclusive drinks finished at 23:00, which I think is a good thing, last thing you want is people getting too drunk and wandering the corridors in the early hours. There was a selection of wines, soft drinks and water where you can just help yourself. If you want spirits such as vodka and malibu you have to wait at the bars to be served. In the lobby bar there was a big punch bowl filled with different cocktails each night and you could just help yourself.

Entertainment:
The entertainment teams work hard and provided plenty of activites such as darts, aerobics, water polo and such. There was also entertainment provided each evening which good.

Pools:
There were 3 pools. The top pool was the busiest where most of the activities took place. The lower was quieter and more relaxing. There was also a small pool for little kids. There was also an indoor spa with massage and jaccuzzi availble which we didn't use.

Beach:
The beach was a short walk down a hill from the hotel. The beach was clean the waves were fun. Beware on windy days as the sand can get in your eyes if your not careful.

Overall:
We would definately go back for a family holiday. The food was fantastic, the hotel staff were always helpful, the hotel was clean, there was always plenty to drink. I look forward to going back ond day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cHeZ_Jackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,086)
There are newer reviews for Occidental Jandia Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,687 - 1,693 of 5,090 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

Last minute holiday. Weather as expected in the 80's all week, beware of the breeze! Booked with First Choice but if you booked with Thomas Cook you could use the sister hotel the Jandia Playa - we couldn't.
First Choice - Was at welcome meeting on the Sunday, no further contact, file etc removed, no details of what time we were being picked up!! We had to make contact with them if any help needed.
Hotel - tired and need of repairs. Air con in public places there but not on!
Food - repetative and samey, best meal of the week was at the Chinese in Jandia. Rooms - Good size.
Animation Team - Hard working but struggled to include English speaking in their announcements/games. Evening entertainment very poor, animation team tried but in my opinion failed dismally.
Hotel staff - not friendly.
All Inclusive - to a point it is but lacked snacks and food on offer was stodgy and samey, Hotel at the top of a steep hill, transport 3or 4 Euros to shops - typical holiday shops. Beach at the bottom of the hill through the underpass, through some dunes but worth it when you get there. Wouldn't go to this hotel again but a lovely island and worth a visit

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gelcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Hotel is fantastic DO NOT be put off by the HOrror hill, it is not as bad as looks, a nice walk down and a fantastic veiw from the top, there is a bus that can take you back up so dont worry the hotel actualy has a bus to take you down. So that is the down side to this hotel. Weather was scorching as Fuertaventura is always 4* HOTTER than the other islands. Barcelo Jandia is excellent from check in to check out, everything supplied all you need to take is clothes and sun cream and toothpaste, I wa surprised to find on arival, shampoo, shower gel, soap, even the big bath towels was a luxey.

Pool area is huge Plenty of sun beds this is the first time you can go to the pool any time of the day and get a longer and pick a spot. Pool bar is self service best idea as no cue's for drinks. Pool snack bar was great only visited it once as breakfast was that good it lasted right through to lunch (English breakfast style REAL sausage and un smoked bacon which again is a bonus) Pool snakc bar, chips meaty burgers, hot dogs,salad onion ring chicken dippers. good quality food something for everyone. Lunch again something for everyone even the fussy eater would not be able to comlain unless they just like to moan. Entertainment: Day time minimal pool excercises, daily boogie to the holiday song everyone always remembers when you get home,lol Evening very good bands,acts,tribute bands drifters were excellent if you get the chance to see them. animation staff best ever always made you laugh which finished at 11pm but then they all move in to the night club which will not keep you awake you wont even know they have one and it does finish at 1am, quietest hotel lovely sleep.

There is a sister hotel below which again looks the part, also has good gift shops which are cheap enough to get everyone under one roof, also go there for your morning english paper.

Barcelo Hotels is the way forward........... Fantstic holiday worth every penny All inclusive go on book you wil not be disapointed.

6 Weeks we are going to Barcelo Santiago Tenerife..... I will compare and let you all know......... Enjoy your holiday

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My wife and our friends arrived late at night and given a map to find our rooms in opposite ends of the hotel thanks to the dutch couple who helped us find our room,i suggest using the golf trolleys to transport guests usually bus boys escort you to your rooms,they do in the sister hotel.I would suggest putting mosquito screens over windows ,the boss likes to sleep with windows open and this would stop the cats from sleeping in your room,wish I had brought my dog. Animation team try their best,but I have to echo the comment of the theatre bar, take out some seats and put in some tables get some entertaines and you might encourage more guests.
OK now that the gripes are out of the way the plus side. The rooms are kept spottlessly clean The food is fine yes lots of different cuts of pork resonable variety of cold meats differnt pasta and salad you can always find something to suit even the fussiet of eater,we had 2 called the wives with us. We have stayed 5* full board costing a lot more and even they repeat menus.The wine and beer are cold ,the spirits are wet,some brits saw it as a mission to try every one on display over 60s lager louts really showed us in a possitve light.the area around the pool is cleaned daily,but guest do mess it up.We were contoversial on holiday and hired a car and left the complex ,we even walked to Morro Jable,the bus is an adventure at a euro each but you can get a taxi for 3.5 euros so no excuse to lounge by the pool all day ,oh yes seeing as how it is outdoors and its always windy it is cold,but be carefull the breeze can mask the sun and you can burn. there are plenty of sunbeds to accomodate the towel pixies who need a bed they never use,get a life not chirrosis.Some of the other comment on this site whilst critical are accurate but some of the problems are created by guests not the staff who are courteous work hard and try to ensure you have a good holiday

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simonthefireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The walls where paper thin in the rooms and you could here things you didnt realy want too. The meals where mainly cold and got quite repetitive. The poolside was littered with empty paper cups blowing around and there was sticky spilt drinks marks all over the place.. Just horrible.. We did complain along with others, but nothing improved in our 2 weeks.. Never again to this place.. Totally disgusted with it..

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4400Gains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Me and my girlfriend have just arrived back from a two week stay at the barcelo jandia mar. We went to this hotel the same time last year and had a really good holiday. The hotel was really nice and we decided to go back again this year.

When we eventually arrived at the hotel at 1.30 in the morning due to delays at gatwick, we were advised to go to the reception by the thomas cook rep and get our room keys, after receving the key we had to locate and make our way to our room by ourselves.

The location of the hotel is perfect, close to the beach and near to shops + restraunts in the next town called pajara. The beach was really nice and sea was fantastic.

The general cleanliness of the hotel was good, rooms were cleaned daily and lobby areas and bars were clean. The pools are nice, although there were multiple days during our stay where we noticed cups and plates and cigarette ends left around the pool and next to sunbeds.

The entertainment team throughout the day were generaly friendy, although each day we found them to be too 'in your face' and to over the top, even if you showed blatent signs of just wanting to relax by the pool and not be interfered. The night time entertainment was poor, the same thing was repeated all the time and was disapointing, It turned out to be very boring each night.

The restraunts were generally ok, the staff were friendly and efficient when clearing plates + cutlery, The food was an absolute disgrace - the choice of food was exactly the same each night, always cold (if your lucky - luke warm) even if you were one of the first in the restraunt. We ended up eating out and different places for lunch and a few occasions dinner as well.

I would say this is not a 4 star hotel and i would certainly not go back again - the quality of the hotel has gone down dramatically in a year and we were very disapointed with the aspects mentioned above. The hotel is in a really nice place and has great facilities it's a shame the above things ruin it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tizzle1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks starting on the 16th June. The hotel itself was abolutely stunning to look at and very clean but looks can be deceiving. Upon arrival at the hotel we went to reception to check in and we were just thrown the keys and left on our own to find our room in a very large complex. This was not only very confusing but also very annoying after a long flight. It took us about 20 - 30 minutes just to find our room, which was down three flights of stairs and along a very bumpy path.

When we did find our room it was lovely and the maids were excellent and the room was cleaned everyday.

The canteen was very clean and the waiters and waitresses were very friendly towards us and a child that we were travelling with. The food however was very very repetitive and was practically the same every night. It was also not very hot at all and always consisted of either pork or fish.

The pool area was lovely but not as clean as it could have been. The pool was so cold it was empty all day and just impossible to get into.

Entertainment - There was no evening entertainment unless you wanted to sit in a room with no tables and smashed glass all over the floor. This is not a great idea when travelling with children.

Overall this hotel should not be classed as a 4* as we have stayed in better 3* hotels in Gran Canaria. I would therefore not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muppet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
7.4 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
36.3 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#6 of 27 in Antigua
4,079 reviews
37.0 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Mar

Address: Playa del Jable S/N | Barranco de Vinamar, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Pajara
#9 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#16 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range: £86 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy more than 50,000 m² of fun, comfort and entertainment in a privileged setting. The Barcelo Jandia Mar**** hotel, which has been awarded the Thomas Cook Marque of Excellence, is situated opposite the spectacular Jandia beach, in the south of Fuerteventura. The hotel offers a wide range of services and activities for you to enjoy your holidays to the max. Relax and pamper yourself in our health and wellness centre, which boasts a sauna, gym, solarium and massage services. For sports lovers, the hotel offers an extensive range of activities including: mini-golf and multi-sports court, water sports, windsurfing, scuba diving and sport fishing. And for the little ones, we have the Barcy Kid's Club. With the Barcelo All Inclusive programme, you can enjoy all the hotel facilities and its superb restaurants (the All Inclusive service finishes at 23.00). The Barcelo Jandia Mar hotel is the perfect choice to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Occidental Jandia Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Mar Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Mar
Barcelo Hotel Pajara
Fuerteventura Jandia
Occidental Jandia Mar Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing