We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Er Occitan

Er Occitan
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Bossost
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$53
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the web page of the Occitan Restaurant. We are located on the Mayor Street of Bossost. In our modern and cozy dining room you will enjoy a dynamic menu which changes with each season along with our extensive wine selection. The restaurant is associated with Slow Food.
Toulouse
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful first visit on recommendation of friends. Lovely dining room atmosphere, great table and service. Patron very knowledgeable about suitable wine to complement our choices. Menu adventurous without being pompous, and quality of cooking excellent. Great value, and well worth the journey.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    54
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We have visited Er Occitan a number of times for lunch over the last few years. As it was my birthday, we decided to stay in Bossost and go for dinner. This restaurant is superb. Service is lovely; where else can you order a Gin and Tonic and get asked if there is enough gin and then have the bottle left on the table for you to help yourself? Not any old gin either. Opihr, a premium expensive gin.

Anyway, the food as always was excellent. Pigs nose and ears may not sound great but it was. I was warned that British visitors never ordered this dish but I decided to go for it anyway. My wife's gyoza's would stand up in any top Japanese restaurant; quite superb.

Always of note is the lovely way the cheeses are served on a slate dish.

Er Occitan is a great restaurant especially for the money. £80 for dinner for 2 including service is great value for money for a restaurant that should have a Michelin star at the very least.

We have met people from Toulouse who travel to Er Occitan for a special meal. That is high praise indeed and fully deserved

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisChaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarbes, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent all round as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had yet again an Excellent meal at Er Occitan, the food is gorgeous, worthy of Michelin star, the service is impeccable, friendly and professional, we always feel welcome and well looked after. It is by far our favourite restaurant, delicious intelligent food, using local ingredients, the chef is a genius! We keep going back, and are never disappointed, an absolute gem! Thank you for such a nice experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing find in Bossost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having visited Bossost many times before, today since it was a special occasion we checked Tripadvisor first and I am so glad we did. What a difference from the standard tourist places we have eaten at before. Er Occitan is truly amazing - sophisticated and delicious food at a reasonable price. Can thoroughly recommend the slow cooked lamb. We will be back! It is advisable to book at weekends

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mardimarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Well, this was my second visit and all I can say is it gets better each time. The quality of the food is very high and the knowledge of the staff and obvious pride in everything they do is evident. It is not the cheapest place in town but you get what you pay for. I am surprised they don't have a Michelin star!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin_HG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Er Occitan also viewed

Bossost, Val d'Aran
Vielha, Val d'Aran
 
Vielha, Val d'Aran
Gessa, Val d'Aran
 

Been to Er Occitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing