We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Llupia, Catalan Restaurant in Espot, Catalunya”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La llupia

La llupia
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Espot
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“La Llupia, Catalan Restaurant in Espot, Catalunya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is an excellent friendly, family-run Catalan restaurant serving traditional Catalan food using local produce. The menu del dia is fantastic value at 16 euros for 3 courses. The service is very good and also friendly. This is highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robbielow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    70
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Traditional Food, very large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I don't think you can eat "a la carte". There is a menu that offers several options for a starter, main and dessert. I chose a onion soup as a starter (with cheese, bread an egg in it), grilled lamb as a main (delicious) and Crema Catalan for dessert. Although the food tasted really good, the portions (especially of the starter) were just too large.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ihadthetimeofmylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

For us, 5 michelin stars. Very nice señora. Good first (local soup) and feiguada, and main course, cod fish with good rice and very souce. The deserts are good as well, caramel cream and a local cream brûlée. I ordered a nice little Rioja wine of the year 2007.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickeyalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

The service was friendly and the food was good. Despite the price of 3 Euros for a bottle of wine they only charged me 1.5 Euros as I was travelling solo.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrific value - more importantly, great local cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

This restaurant should be on the map for anyone who loves to discover great food experiences in out of the way places.
My wife & I had just completed an invigorating hike in the National Park near Espot. Hungry and tired, we thought we would grab a convenient meal in Espot and retire for the evening. After a brief survey of the handful of restaurants along a 200 meter stretch of the town center, we marched up the steps and into the second floor restaurant - La Llupia.
Given the rather low key entrance, the modest decor, and the location, we perhaps had modest expectations. It wasn't long before our expectations were exceeded. The introductory soup, the local wine, the main course and dessert - all made and served with the care and sensibility of a warm holiday meal at mom's house, quickly let us know that we were in the midst of a memorable experience. In the two weeks that we spent traveling and eating in northeastern Spain, this was our most unforgettable meal.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La llupia also viewed

Espot, Province of Lleida
Espot, Province of Lleida
 
Espot, Province of Lleida
Espot, Province of Lleida
 

Been to La llupia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing