We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Rajasthan's Finest Heritage Hotels”
Review of Rohet Garh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rohet Garh
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rohet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I returned with a small group of six to Rohet Garh after an absence of 12 years or so. I had the good fortune of staying there when it first opened in the early 90's and then returning a few times during that decade. I loved it then and only hoped that it had remained as fine. I can honestly say that Rohet Garh has improved (which I would not have thought possible.) The two generations of hereditary owners, Manvender Singh and Siddharth and Rashmi Singh, have expanded the property with such exquisite taste and thoughtful eye for detail that the result is a true bit of paradise. From your entrance through an arched and frescoed gateway into a verdant, flowerful garden oasis flanked by beautiful rooms, your experience is delightful. Each room is unique, each incorporating the traditional architecture with frescos, excellent miniature paintings, antique furniture, comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms. My room was a fantasy of multiple arched windows, and daybed alcove, and a tiled bathroom. Three of our group had rooms remarkably converted from an old stable. Besides large beds, they had pillow-filled divan-alcoves lined with arched windows overlooking a peaceful, tree-lined lake. Their bathrooms had large one-way glass windows overlooking the same exquisite views. Each of these friends wanted to spend as much time in their rooms as possible, reading and enjoying the ambience.
But the food at Rohet Garh, as always, is excellent -- so we didn't want to miss our delicious meals. And we spent part of one day taking a private jeep tour of nearby villages in the desert where our welcome was warm and inviting and our insights into the architecture, crafts and rural lifestyles fascinating. We chose to use Rohet Garh as our center for visiting the city and fort and palaces of Jodhpur. It is only a 45 minute drive to city center and so nice to have the quiet elegance of this heritage hotel to return to after the hustle and bustle of tourist sites.
The staff at Rohet Garh is helpful, discreet, kind and efficient. Siddharth, Rashmi and Manveer Singh welcome their guests warmly into their home, making each feel specially honored by being able to partake in this heart-warming experience. After four decades of travel through India, I cannot rate any hotel more highly!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stiviji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

How can one describe this place? Resort is ineffective. B&B is inferior. Hotel is an insult.

This place is absolutely magnificent....beginning with check in, continuing with staff, rooms, location, ambience, cleanliness on and on ...I could write for hours and everything would be rated the same - excellent! It is worth the cost!

Make sure to see the horses and also visit the Jain Temple while there. Of particular mention is local's policy towards begging. They don't just frown on it, they strongly discourage it. It's nice to be able to move around without being hounded. The shopkeepers are eager salesmen but not overly aggressive as seen in some places. The same with tipping - we were encouraged to tip at end of our stay rather than individually.

This was an all around wonderful experience - so far the best of our 21 day trip!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank TexCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I had the pleasure to spend two night in the "Madonna Room" during our stay in Rohet Ghar Fort Hotel. Great place to be - we spend 3 weeks on a round trip in Rajahstan with a private car.
Hotel is a great place, wonderful garden, food was fantastic and as mentioned we were living in the room "Madonna" did stay 2-3 years ago. What a feeling to "share the bed with Madonna" :)
Enjoy the stay when you have a chance to go there - great place to be, well maintained, clean.

Room Tip: The "Madonna Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wittlinger59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have been traveling in India since 1969 when I hitch-hiked to Kathmandu from Sweden. I have seen many hotels and heritage properties and I have seen that they can vary very much in style, standard and quality. One of my favourite heritage hotels is Rohetgarh outside Jodhpur in Rajasthan.

I have become a repeat visitor to Rohetgarh. I find the place very peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are beautifully decorated, many are quite big. Since the property is an old palace no two rooms are the same. There is a lovely garden with lots of trees and flowers, and peacocks are strolling around. There are some fountains that give a soothing sound of water. There is both sun and shade in the garden and the swimmingpool area. The owners have made a great effort to decorate the place in a traditionally, yet comfortable, rajasthani style. The staff is very friendly and service minded. The service is very good, so is food. Since the owners - a royal family under the Maharaja of Jodhpur - is living here, there is a personal touch. They interact with the guests and explain rajasthani customs and traditions. Since the owner family was the local rulers and most of the emplyees are locals they have very good relations with the population in the village and the area. This means that they can take you to visits in the villages in the vicinity, let you take part in ceremonies and also visit the Bishnoi people and nomads in the area. You can also make excursions by horse back. Since Rohetgarh is located 30 min by car from Jodhpur you can easily do sightseeing in Jodhpur from Rohetgarh. There is no need to stay in Jodhpur.

It's a pity that many guests stay only one night. In fact many such guests regret that they don't stay longer once they have come here and seen the property for themselves. Some people come here for a longer time in order to write books, articles or to do some research.

David Ståhl, Sweden

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidStahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I was fortunate enough to be a guest at the Rohet Garh hotel as well as at it's wonderful camp a few miles away. 5 years later and I'm still in love. We were lucky enough to be given the "writer's room" where, in other times, the family played patron to two writers, supporting the arts. What a room! What a view! Just wonderful.
Peacocks on the property.
A charming old-world bar.
Great spa.
Horseback riding.
Charming hosts - I had the pleasure of sitting down with the owner for over an hour discussing Indian society. Fascinating.

The Camp experience was just beyond words. Magical.

Most reviews are written immediately after a trip. I hope that this review serves to show that this special place creates wonderful, longlasting memories.

Stay several days if you can and get the full experience. One night isn't enough!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michamtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

What a wonderful hotel. Their other hotel had been voted the best boutique hotel in the world and the son who runs it came back that day with the a ward. There was music and cake and a lovely welcome. The owner was incredibly gracious and the staff was amazing. They rea lly understand service. The room was great and we were sorry we only stayed there one night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shesh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We must have been very unlucky as were allocated a very ordinary room ( no, 7) very small bathroom, no hairdryer, curtains that barely covered the window. Lovely gardens and bar area but never had any of the drinks one ordered. Food was good and pleasant restaurant.

Room Tip: Change your room if you are allocated no. 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rohet
8.9 mi away
Mihir Garh
Mihir Garh
#2 of 2 in Rohet
177 reviews
24.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,025 reviews
8.4 mi away
Fort Chanwa
Fort Chanwa
#1 of 1 in Luni
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 96 in Jodhpur
959 reviews
23.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
22.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rohet Garh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rohet Garh

Address: Rohet | Rohet Garh P.O., Rohet 342001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Pali District > Rohet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rohet
Price Range: £123 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rohet Garh 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rohet Garh is a classified Heritage Hotel. Since 1989 it has been nurtured and developed with great love and care by the family into one of the finest Heritage hotels in the country. No new building has been added in the renovation process, but rather, old edifices have been skillfully redesigned to create a heritage property that has few parallels. Situated on the banks of a lake and set in the midst of rural surroundings, it is a haven of peace and tranquility. Sprawling lawns and manicured gardens, which invite a multitude of birds and dancing peacocks, herald your entry into this oasis where the bird song is the only sound you will hear. A superb swimming pool with four charming pavilions entices you for a refreshing dip. Often dinner is served by the poolside as folk musicians enliven the evening atmosphere. An elegant, beautifully appointed lounge, serene verandahs, and terraces with breathtaking views, make perfect venues for relaxation. The thirty-four individually decorated rooms add a touch of class. Pioneers of activities such as ‘The Village Safari’, and offering an array of activities- from an extensive equestrian program to culinary workshops, Rohet Garh has set the highest standards in quality and efficiency, offering its guests an experience beyond compare. Rohet Garh proudly boasts of the finest kitchens in traditional cuisine. The chefs have been trained by the lady of the house, the late Thakurani Sahiba, who was the author of Cuisine of Rohet Garh and Quick and Easy Rajasthani Cuisine, the former published due to popular demand from our guests. Many have called their meal at Rohet Garh, their best in India. The peace and tranquility of the environs have drawn writers from around the world. Rohet Garh has had the honour of hosting some of the most respected names in the literary world. Bruce Chatwin and William Dalrymple practically lived at Rohet Garh for four to five months working on their respective books, The Song-lines and The City of Djinns. Patrick French too is a friend of the family’s and has spent time at Rohet Garh, as did Simon Winchester and Jeffery Morehouse Hotel Facility – Horse Safari Village Safari Royal Picnic Bird Watching Cooking Classes 24 Hour Front Desk Magic Show and Rajasthani Folk on Request Bar & Restaurant SPA – Chargeable Car Rental – Chargeable Currency Exchange Gift Shop Facility for physically Challenged People Florist Health & Ayurveda Centres Internet Access on Common Area Laundry Services Library Lounge Luggage Storage Doctor on Call Parking Telephone in Room Shopping Arcade Travel Desk Airport & Railway Station Pick and Drop - Chargeable Room Types - We have Two Room Types in Rohet Garh - Super Deluxe Room and Suite Room Room Category Under Super Deluxe Room Pool View Super Deluxe Room Lake View Super Deluxe Room Garden View Super Deluxe Room Regular Super Deluxe Room Content Room Facility and Inclusion for Super Deluxe Rooms In Rohet Garh all rooms are unique , boasting its own special Feature , all the while being welcoming and intimate. The frescoes set the rooms apart from the ordinary, and the furniture, designed in-house in traditional hues, is of the highest quality. All rooms have attached modern bathrooms, which are spotlessly clean and tastefully adorned. Room Facility – · King Size Heritage Bed · Sofa set with table · Tea/Coffee Maker · Mini Bar · Hot & Cold Running Water · Shower · AC Rooms · Handicapped Facility Available · Hair Dryer · Ceiling Fan · Attached washrooms · Toiletries · Big Saving Mirror · Large Work Station · Free Wifi Meal Plan Inclusion - For All Super Deluxe Room Category CPAI Plan – Welcome Drink on Arrival , Cookies in Room , Free water Bottle , Buffet Breakfast Included , Free Wifi , Village Safari Included in rates , Evening Cultural show , Magic Show , Free use of Swimming Pool , Free us of Library MAPI Plan - Welcome Drink on Arrival , Cookies in Room , Free water Bottle , Buffet Breakfast Included , Free Wifi , Village Safari Included in rates , Evening Cultural show , Magic Show , Free use of Swimming Pool , Dinner Included ( Buffet Veg or Non Veg ) , Free us of Library Room Category Under Suite Room Pool View Suite Room Lake View Suite Room Garden View Suite Room Content Room Facility and Inclusion for Suite Room In Rohet Garh all rooms are unique , boasting its own special Feature , all the while being welcoming and intimate. The frescoes set the rooms apart from the ordinary, and the furniture, designed in-house in traditional hues, is of the highest quality. All rooms have attached modern bathrooms, which are spotlessly clean and tastefully adorned. Room Facility – · King Size Heritage Bed · Sofa set with table · Tea/Coffee Maker · Mini Bar · Hot & Cold Running Water · Shower · AC Rooms · Handicapped Facility Available · Hair Dryer · Ceiling Fan · Attached washrooms · Toiletries · Big Saving Mirror · Large Work Station · Free Wifi Meal Plan Inclusion - For All Suite Rooms CPAI Plan – Welcome Drink on Arrival , Cookies in Room , Free water Bottle , Buffet Breakfast Included , Free Wifi , Village Safari Included in rates , Evening Cultural show , Magic Show , Free use of Swimming Pool MAPI Plan - Welcome Drink on Arrival , Cookies in Room , Free water Bottle , Buffet Breakfast Included , Free Wifi , Village Safari Included in rates , Evening Cultural show , Magic Show , Free use of Swimming Pool , Buffet Dinner Included ( Veg or Non Veg ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rohet Garh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rohet Garh Hotel Rohet
Rohetgarh Hotel Rohet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing