We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One great place!”
Review of Basil

Basil
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Weston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Irish, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Opened about Dec 2009. Local paper (Wausau Daily Herald) gave it a four star review. We ate there for lunch on 4/30/2010. Ambitious menu, fresh ingredients, well-prepared dishes with good presentation. Interesting wine selections. And the cleanest bathrooms in memory. This is now our first-choice for upscale food in Wausau.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One great place!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

The food, service and atmosphere combine to make this worth a trip. Authentic and creative fare. Full bar service with equally creative martini choices too. A delightful experience for special occasions or just because. Don't miss the Kohler "Ying/Yang" sinks in the rest rooms!

Helpful?
Thank JustPassingThru33931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    26
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Middleton
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Client treated me to dinner here recently, and I can't wait to return. Wonderful fusion menu, good wine list and very pleasant small restaurant feel. More like NY than Weston. This restaurant has got it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlsonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

This menu is unique. A variety of evolving dishes all made and served with perfection. The new fried bacon and egg fried rice is crazy good. The open faced turkey sandwich with mashed potatoes on eye is a must try. Many new items.

Helpful?
Thank QCWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful restaurant ”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

For the four of us, this was our first trip to Basil. As you drive up toward the restaurant don't be turned off by the fact that this is in a little strip mall. Upon entering the restaurant you quickly lose fact of the mall location.
We had a few appetizers which were all good. I have to say that the calamari was outstanding, you really have to give it a try when you go there.
For our entrees, we had three different dishes. One of the specials was a rib eye steak covered with a very good brown gravy. On top of the gravy were stacks of oriental noodles with a blend of shallots, cilantro, etc. One of our diners had wild salmon which was excellent. Our last diner had curry dish that easily on a par with the rest of the entrees
As I said, this was our first time we dined at Basil and we certainly will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Northern-WI-charle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My husband and I love it”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It is a great restaurant. We love their unique food, decoration and service. We recommended 100%. Actually every time that we get family or friends visiting us from different cities or countries Basil is part of the places that we take them to show them the interesting points in the city.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing