We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with minor problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Weston
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and found it excellent each time. This time, however, I was put in room 206, which is above the furnace/mechanical room. Every 20 minutes or so a loud noise came on that sounded like a shopvac. This went on all night. I will definitely be back, as the staff, rooms, breakfasts and amenities are terrific, but I will know which room not to stay in.

Room Tip: Dont stay in 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jd318us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

My staff and I want to thank you for your kind words. We will definetly check that room to see what is going on. We want to invite you back during your next stay in Wausau.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

This property delivers typical HI fare when it comes to amenities, but excels when it comes to guest service. This review is not about the property, its about the people. I have been a guest numerous times across the years, and the one thing that always stands out for me is the people. From check-in through check-out, every employee I've ever encountered has been genuinely friendly and accommodating. I choose HI for consistency from property to property, but can definitely say that the staff here excel in their attitude of service to their guests. Location is convenient. Breakfast is above average. Employees are the #1 reason I keep coming back to this property!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomanceWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

My staff and I want to thank you for taking the time to let the hotel hear our responses. We work hard to make sure your stay is a enjoyable as possible. Please continue to visit when you are in the Wausau area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at many HI's before and this one had the typical HI amenities. I liked the workout room and the beds were comfortable. I was a little disappointed that they didn't have individual creamers for coffee but that is something small. They did have a TV in the bathroom though.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heyroth, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

My staff and I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We always supply indivual creamers in our coffee area. I will definetly check into the reason they were not there. Our pool was not closed down entirely for repair, We block it off when we are adding chemicals and doing readings. This is for the safety of our guests.
With your feedback we can stive harder to let the guests be more informed . We would like to invite you back during your next visit to the Wausau area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have stayed in a number of Holiday Inn Express facilities. This facility fit the general pattern. There were also some things that were unique of worth mentioning. We were surprised to find two TVs, off course there was one viewable from the bed, but the was also a TV in the bathroom. All of the staff that we encountered greeted us and were friendly. Unfortunately the breakfast area has a pinball and game room next to were the food is, and a jaw breaker machine in the eating area. These will certainly cause problems for some families. We used the fitness facility, but the elliptical machine did not seem to work smoothly. There was an interesting pool for tots in the swimming pool area, but it was roped off for repairs. That would be a disappointment for some families with children.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svenskjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear svenskjim,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I booked this hotel over the internet. My wife and I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels, but never at this one. The staff was very knowledgeable and made check-in fast and fun. Our room was large and very comfortable. It had all the amenities including coffee maker, mini-fridge and microwave. Our only complaint was that the bed was a little softer than we like, but that's a personal preference. Breakfast was very good and included their famous cinnamon rolls. Check-out was as pleasant as check-in. We will definitely stay here again if we're in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

My staff and I want to Thank you for your positive feedback. We try to make every guests stay a pleasant one. Please visit us again when you are in the Wausau area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

they let me check in early (on my lunch break) and check out late.. comfy beds, pretty good breakfast, and a "managers reception" where you get 2 free drinks (beer or soda) along with popcorn, chips n salsa, and pretzels.

I stay here Monday through Wednesday every week for business.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

We appreciate your business. Thank you for your kind feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The room was well laid out and very roomy.
Bed was a little more comfortable than the usual hotel bed.
Nice breakfast.
Very large and nice pool area. There is kids splash area, unfortuneately the water was not turned on so my son was not able to play in it. The next morning it was on; my son saw this and he wanted to go in but we had to leave. That was the only dissapointment during out stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words. We want you to enjoy your stay everytime you are with us. Next time you come please let front desk know you would like water features on. We do not run them all the time because of conserving energy. We would be more than glad to accomadate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wausau
4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Weston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau

Address: 4210 Barbican Ave, Weston, WI 54476-4187
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Weston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Weston
Price Range: £76 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Wausau, WI near Central Wisconsin Airport. Our Wausau hotel offers you ideal amenities and a convenient location off W-29, just a few miles from St Clare's Hospital, 9-Mile Recreation Park and the scenic Granite Peak Ski Area. Your family will enjoy staying at our pet-friendly hotel in Weston due to its close proximity to area attractions like the Grande Theater, Leigh Yawkey Art Museum and many choice skiing and snowmobiling areas, including Rib Mountain State Park. There are also plenty of shopping spots within four miles of our Weston hotel, including the Wausau Mall and the Cedar Creek Outlet Mall, where you can find great bargains. Business travelers looking for lodging in Wausau, WI will be pleased by our accommodations in Weston, which offer an ideal location near area businesses including Greenheck, Weyerhaeuser, Siemens, WPS, Kruegers and Lignotech. Our Wausau hotel near the Central Wisconsin Airport (CWA) offers premium services, such as a 24-hour business center, free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and a meeting room with seating for 80. During your stay at our hotel in Wausau, WI, you can enjoy the heated, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and a separate kid's pool with a small water slide. Hotel facilities also include a 24-hour fitness center, a gift shop and a game room. Check out our great Wausau, Wisconsin hotel room deals and book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wausau
Holiday Inn Weston
Weston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing