We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food, poorly trained staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ivy House

The Ivy House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A beautiful flint and brick old English inn, The Ivy House is right in the heart of the Chiltern Vale and renowned for its excellent food, real ales and extensive wine list. With quaint accommodation, it's also one of the best places to stay in the Chiltern Hills.Everyone gets a warm welcome at The Ivy House, and we pride ourselves on being one of the area's best child-friendly pubs. With baby changing facilities, outside seating and enough garden for the kids to enjoy, this is a great spot for a family meal. Just 40 minutes from central London, we're surrounded by stunning countryside that provides a great escape from the city. Walkers, ramblers and lovers of the outdoor can enjoy the area's open green spaces - and then a great meal at The Ivy House!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food, poorly trained staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

For a restaurant that seems to market itself as a step above standard pub fare, i was disappointed.

Firstly, I had read the menu online and had spotted a few things that took my fancy. However, when i arrived i was handed a much more basic menu, essentially either Pie, Steak, and fish and chips. i had the scallops to start which were average, and the steak for mains, which was also average.

When i ordered a £24 bottle of cabernet sauvignon, i wasn't offered to taste it at all, and was even asked if i would like it poured?! (i was hoping so). The staff were not trained for a restaurant setting at all, and were quite clearly just barmaids.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie_994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    52
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
436 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Modern Fresh look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This Pub/restaurant has been given a fresh look which belies it's staid traditional exterior. The food is very good and imaginative with pleasant service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really, really good, but beware service charge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A quiet pub with surprisingly good food. To be clear, this was a weekday, lunchtime visit. Welcome was warm, the bar area was clean, smart and tasteful. We chose to order from the bar menu which was not extensive, but looked very good. This turned out to be the truth - a small, well chosen, simple menu that was delivered very, very well. Fish and chips x2 was ordered, and without doubt (and I don't say this lightly), they were the best fish and chips we have ever tasted. The fish was succulent, skin & boneless and covered in perfect crispy beer batter. The chips were absolutely perfect; a small amount but perfectly formed. One minor(ish) gripe: A 10% service charge is automatically added to the bill. I paid it before realising it was there. Two objections here: 1. I would like to be asked if I want to pay a service charge before I pay it - it is my decision how much to tip isn't it? 2. Is it really appropriate to charge for service for a meal ordered from a bar? That aside, I would not hesitate in recommending this pub for food, I merely suggest the service charge policy be reviewed. A shame to spoil the ship for a hapeth or tar. The food is AWESOME. Don't get me wrong.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RPM1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We live a couple of miles away from this inn. Over the years the new owners have disappointed us. We thought we should give this a try and were highly delighted. They have specialist beers, a good wine list and sold a very nice procecco in small bottles. We arrived quite late but the young manager couldn't do enough. The menu is small but my sea bass with samphire in a cream sauce with foam was excellent. My husband had fish and chips. The batter was thin and melted in the mouth.

At last some where local to go without it being overpriced average food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
175 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Simple food very well done ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The chef has now really got things working well. Simple menu. Well priced. Cooked brilliantly. Fresh and vibrant. The bubble and squeak starter was a stand out. Fish and chips massive and excellent. Lovely hand made pie. Bit more special than menu suggested as really was a Spanish chicken pie with olives and chorizo. Lovely sauce. The lemon tart was excellent. Sharp and sweet with perfect pastry. We went twice in a week. Will need to employ more staff if it gets busy which it certainly should.

Helpful?
1 Thank drrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ivy House also viewed

Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Chalfont St. Giles, Buckinghamshire
 
Seer Green, Beaconsfield
Chalfont St Peter, Gerrards Cross
 
Chalfont St Peter, Gerrards Cross
 

Been to The Ivy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing