We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ivy House
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross(Beaconsfield)(Great Value!)
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ethorpe Hotel(Gerrards Cross)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull Hotel(Gerrards Cross)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Amersham)
US$187
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Beaconsfield Central(Beaconsfield)(Great Value!)
US$71
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Denham Grove(Denham)
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
66
38
14
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
38
14
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbusy roadbouncy castleannual christmassunday roastpiebirthday mealfish and chipsbeer gardenbooked a tablepuddingexcellent breakfastcar parkstayed here for one nightshort staysaturday nightsandwiches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Lunch with a friend. We both had soup - sage and Jerusalem artichoke, which was very good. I followed with steak, tomatoes and extra crisy chips. My friend had rabbit pie. Puddies included hot baba, with home made ice and a sweet sauce.

This was an excellent meal and very good value as it included a glass of prosecco.

Both food and service were excellent.

The only snag is a very steep wooden staircase between the car park and the pub door, which gets a bit slippery in the rain.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RamblingRose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Have been going to The Ivy House off and on for many years, and have had some excellent meals and one or two dire ones. Had read that it had improved hugely since the new person had taken over so decided to give it a try. There seemed to be only one member of staff on duty when we arrived who was serving in the bar so we stood there for some time before she acknowledged us although once she did, she was pleasant.
I ordered the wild rabbit pie and was told it would take a long time as it was made from scratch. I said I was happy to wait but it was a very long time. The pie was quite tasty but tasted more like chicken than rabbit. The shredded cabbage with cream was OK but not very warm. And the way in which the new potatoes were piled on the plate was rather off-putting. I only ate one and it was fairly tasteless. Only two of my friends had dessert, parfait, which they said was lovely. Nice glass of Merlot, and the coffee was good. And the waiter, who has been there for years, was as lovely as ever!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marionsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We visited the The Ivy House on Wednesday evening and loved the new look of the place, although it was a bit quiet, which we expected in January, we have a lovely meal, we had breads and oil and white bait to start which was great followed by Steak with peppercorn sauce and very tasty chips, vine tomatoes, mushroom and watercress salad, we both had our steaks cooked differently and they were both cooked to perfection, we couldn't fault the food and the staff were very helpful and attentive and loved the soft music in the background. Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I'd heard the Ivy House was a pretty shoddy experience so when the owner of our local pub , the Jolly Criketeers,recommended it I was slightly surprised. However, we were told the Ivy House was under new ownership and had a serious make over. How true. We had lunch there with friends on New Years Day and perhaps because of the old reputation were able to book a table for 4 adults and 3 kids on the same day. How fabulous the place is! The interior is fresh, cosy and comfortable. The staff were increadibly attentive and welcoming (even when my daughter made a mess) and the food was great. The rabbit pie was full of well cooked tender meat, the fish and chips fresh and tasty and the kids enjoyed the lovely home baked bread, fish and chips and sausages. I would definately recommend this to other familes, couples and those looking for a well cooked, wonderfully fresh and reasonably priced meal. This place deserves a better reputation and more interest. The owner was behind the bar, interested, friendly and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseHolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Having avoided the Ivy House due to very poor experiences in the past what a treat it was to have a lovely family meal there on Sunday. The new management have completely changed the menu and the quality of the food. The menu is varied and interesting. The portions are a good size and all our food wash well presented and very tasty.The staff were attentive and the service was excellent. We will definitely be be booking to go again

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews