We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas is a bad time of year to stay at this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa da Eira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa da Eira
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Christmas is a bad time of year to stay at this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Casa da Eira for one night while hiking the Rota Vicentina. Unfortunately we stayed a few days before Christmas and staff levels were somewhat lacking. When I came to check in the reception was empty and I had to wait for about 25 minutes for someone to arrive. Check in was quick and easy, and we were given a lower rate for a nicer room given the low volume of people staying. That said, we were not looking to stay at a budget hotel. The room(2B) had an ocean view which was nice and a balcony which was also a plus. When it came time to take a shower we discovered there was no hot water. We tried to go down to reception to see if we could get the problem sorted out and found that reception was not only empty again but locked up for the night. There was no courtesy phone to call for assistance downstairs and there was no phone in our room either. Also, and perhaps related to the hot water issue, the power outlets on one side of the room were all non-operational. I believe that this hotel given higher staff levels (ie not around the holidays) would be a nice place to stay. Also FYI, no breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
540 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We were suprised to find that this 'hotel' did not serve any food, not even breakfast! We had to walk up the road to the local cafe where they had arranged for us to have breakfast. there we were offered cheese or ham sandwiches or toast, they didn't have orange juice - all very unsatisfactory. Our apartment at the hotel itself was big enough, separate twin room for children and a kitchen equipped well enough to self-cater if you wanted to. All very clean. Big shower room. Noisy road outside with loud traffic waking us up before dawn. Garden at the back of the hotel so you could enjoy a beer here (assuming you had walked to the local supermarket to buy it!). Milfontes was a nice enough little town but not worth more than a day visit. I would prefer to stay in one of the sea-front proper hotels where you could get a lovely evening meal and look out at the river/ sea view. You need a car here to visit surrounding areas. You can arrange an enjoyable canoe on the river with a local company - great for the children.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zusmarshausen, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The appartment house is located five minutes walking to the centre of Milfontes and five minutes from the beach.
The house and the apartments are very clean and in a very good condition. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The hotel provides a little garden with tables for having a cup of coffee, your evening beer or just a rest. Furthermore there is a small place for kids.
The wireless is working but directly at the reception only.
The apartments provides sufficient room, are clean, got a nice atmosphere and the view to the laguna is more than spectacular.
The kitchen provides everything for breakfast or a simple meal.
We have been there in September 2012 the third time and hope it won’t be the last time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnerein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matosinhos
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Nice guesthouse in the center of Vila Nova de Milfontes Town. The rooms are very simple but very clean and gorgeous. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. Near the guesthouse you have supermarkets and a lot of good restaurants.
From there you can get the wonderful beaches of Alentejo but you should have a car to explore all area. The best beaches are between 10-40km from the guesthouse but you can get there easily by car. In Alentejo you should relax... don´t worry about anything. It´s a very peacefull place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRegufe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We had the best three night stay at Casa da Eira. The room was simple but very clean, with a bath and shower in the bathroom and a balcony with views to the estuary, sand dunes and ocean beyond. We had a very good room - corner room on the top floor, closest to the water. The hotel has a good pool also.

The staff were quite casual but very chilled out and accommodating. For me, this really contributed to the relaxed vibe. They helped us out with a number of things - ice for our room, extending our stay and keeping our room, as well as other things. This kind of service is not what you always get at a budget hotel, especially when you've booked through a special deal website.

The location was great - this hotel is within walking distance of everything (not too difficult though, as Milfontes is not such a large place), but is about a one minute walk to the loveliest beach I went to in Portugal, on the estuary. It is also close enough to the old part of town.

There are of course many pensions you can stay in in Milfontes, which we did also, most of which aren't available to book on the internet. They generally worked out to be about 5 euros less per night per person than what we paid at Casa de Eira. In my opinion, the extra euros were worth it for the space and relaxation.

We did visit in the off season, which probably contributed to the quiet. Many of the hotels around this one were closed. I would certainly recommend Milfontes at this time of year (October), and would also recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I will be back!!!! I love it! Sun, Sea and nice people!
Very clean and you can feel at home, very cosy!
Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This is a basic hotel on a busy side street. The room was very small although the balcony was large. Unfortunately since it overlooked the street, it was not very pleasant and got almost no sun.T.V. was good as useless.Room cleaning was sporadic.Breakfast, served in some sort of converted garage, was very disappointing. It was at 8.30 am with no flexibility and again was very basic. The only hot option was scrambled egg...every day! Supplies eg cereal & yoghurts, ran out as the week progressed and were not replenished.
Human contact was almost non existant...a young woman who was mostly absent. There was no cafe, bar or "water cooler" to meet other guests and the garden offered no beds or seats, although illustrated on the web site.
I would recommend a garden view room if you must stay here or earplugs!

Room Tip: garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Milfontes
0.2 mi away
Duna Parque
Duna Parque
#3 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
HS Milfontes Beach
HS Milfontes Beach
#2 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casazul
Casazul
#1 of 24 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Castilho Guest House
Castilho Guest House
#18 of 24 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patios da Vila- Boutique Apartments
Patios da Vila- Boutique Apartme...
#8 of 28 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eira da Pedra
Hotel Eira da Pedra
#9 of 26 in Odemira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Eira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Eira

Property: Casa da Eira
Address: Rua da Eira da Pedra, Vila Nova de Milfontes 7645-258, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Vila Nova de Milfontes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Vila Nova de Milfontes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa da Eira Boutique Houses: a shelter of Costa Vicentina In the "soft opening" phase, Casa da Eira Boutique Houses announces that it has a new owner and that it is in the process of improving its services to meet your preferences. Casa da Eira Boutique Houses is located in a privileged and quiet location in Vila Nova de Milfontes, right in the Natural Park of Costa Alentejana, just 300 meters from the Mira River beach and a few meters from the historic center of the village. We have at your disposal a set of 5 apartments and 8 double rooms with cheerful, relaxed and contemporary decoration, all with balcony and part of them with sea view. Casa da Eira Boutique Houses also offers a generous garden area that invites to rest. All apartments at Casa da Eira Boutique Houses are equipped with free wi-fi, lcd tv, safe, amenities, hairdryer, central heating and kitchen appliances. Some of the apartments offer a magnificent and relaxing view of the sea and the river. The apartments located on the ground floor are a great choice for people with reduced mobility or for families with children. The rooms are refurbished with a modern decor, all with private bathrooms, with hairdryer and amenities, free wi-fi, central heating, minibar, safe and lcd tv. Benefiting from a personalized reception service, we are at Casa da Eira Boutique Houses to complement your choices. You can count on tourist information service, bookings and reservations, car / bicycle rental, transfers, boat / jeep tours, bird watching, public parking, laundry / ironing service, luggage storage, online check-in, everything Always at your request. You can enjoy a late afternoon reading a book in the garden or if you prefer to go outside you may take one of the routes of the Rota Vicentina, a beach day, having at your disposal the beach of the Farol, Furnas, Franquia or Malhao, among many others or the practice of extreme sports. The airports of Lisboa and Faro are only 2 hours away.Live live with us Vila Nova de Milfontes and enjoy the Nature and the gastronomy of this friendly village! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Casa da Eira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Eira Hotel Vila Nova De Milfontes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing