We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of HS Milfontes Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HS Milfontes Beach
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We drove into Milfontes Beach around 7 pm with no reservation anywhere and were happy we found this place. They had 2 rooms available for us. Its a nice spot with good size rooms, split king beds( nice to find a big bed in Portugal). Beds were comfortable, good shower, our ocean view room had an amazing view as well. Free wireless as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    70
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
35
89
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for a few nights at the end of May. It is located on the river side and from the first floor level restaurant terrace area one can see across the river & out of the river mouth to the sea. this view is also available from the balconies of the superior rooms at the front of the hotel.
It is well priced but is a little tired in places.
The upper floors are accesed by central spiral staircase or the 'ramp' that surrounds it which makes access for the less able or those with wheeled bags or tired legs very easy. Our room had a large hammock dominating the balcony but it was well used during our stay.
Swimming pool was unheated located in a compact area behind the hotel with a selection of loungers, a large hammock & some four poster beds with voile curtains that offered some shade from the afternoon sun. However, these were very close to rooms at back & one could hear conversations in rooms through open windows, luckily I didn't speak Portugese so was not forced to eavesdrop.
Breakfast was self service but adequate including scrambled eggs & bacon & freshly squeezed orange juice that staff were doing on a machine close to food.. Generally food was good but would not recommend hot buffet. All the staff we encountered were very friendly & helpful.
The location was great for a stroll in to town fantastic Tapas Bar if you turn right iut of hotel and walk a couple of hundred yards up road on right hand side or up to the headland at the mouth of the river which had a great beach restaurant which is hidden down in the beach accessed by wooden steps & walkway. There are marked walks stretching along the coast north & south of the hotel and many walkers staying in the hotel.
We would recommend it as a great base for walks for a few nights but not as a hotel holiday destination.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for superior room we stayed in 206 which was good location & larger than our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meherabad, Ahmednagar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Their photos are quite misleading so I expected a lot more for my money. I paid the highest price for a room with a balcony and "sea view." Unfortunately, the wall surrounding the balcony is at least 1 1/2 meters high so the sky is the only thing visible from the room or the balcony unless you stand up and peer over the wall. However, there is a good view from the common area. The restaurant is dreadful -- do NOT eat here unless you're a masochist.

The room is sort of okay but they don't even provide water glasses and you have to buy water since none is provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cinlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vila Nova de Milfontes hotels

Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel is located in a nice spot overlooking the river and out to sea. It has a good terrace for eating & drinking and a typical restaurant. The room we had had a sea view with a balcony with table, chairs and a hammock....(we didn't try it). Friendly staff, good simple food (but no fish!) and the spiral ramp as an alternative to stairs makes it a great place for the less able to stay - which is why we had a party from a "Lar De Idosos" staying! Short walk into Milfontes itself where there is a big choice of bars and restaurants, shops, banks etc Mosquitoes can be a bit of a problem, but take a mozzie machine and that sorted that out. We will definitely stay again..

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Algarverobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The hotel appears to be undergoing some refurbishment but there is still a long way to go. The bathrooms particularly need updating along with the plumbing , cold water pressure was very low. The swimming pool was lovely....BUT...where the surround should have been paved there was sharp gravel which was painful to walk on and became trodden into the pool. The hotel was echoing and noisy. The breakfast was poor with machine coffee. On our third day a large party of adults with special needs arrived. This put great pressure on the breakfast service and although we applaud the hotel for their hospitality we think other guests should have been made aware that it caters for such groups. The location is very good overlooking the estuary and is within easy walking distance of the town. Take a superior room on the front

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayRCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovar, Portugal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is very average and it would benefit from a renovation but the location is excelent (faces the beach) and the rooms are ok and clean. It was good to stay there for 2 nights but I wouldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaJones286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Spacious rooms, nice balcony, Perfect view, a little too expensive, matresses could be renewed, friendly stuff at Reception, breabfast can be enjoyed on the outside terrace...............................................................................................................

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jayb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Milfontes
0.3 mi away
Duna Parque
Duna Parque
#3 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa do Adro
Casa do Adro
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
258 reviews
6.7 mi away
Herdade da Matinha
Herdade da Matinha
#1 of 2 in Cercal
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Moita Mar
Hotel Rural Moita Mar
#3 of 25 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
65 reviews
3.9 mi away
Orbitur Sitava Milfontes
Orbitur Sitava Milfontes
#16 of 30 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casazul
Casazul
#1 of 25 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HS Milfontes Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HS Milfontes Beach

Property: HS Milfontes Beach
Address: Avenida Marginal, Vila Nova de Milfontes 7645-272, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Vila Nova de Milfontes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vila Nova de Milfontes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — HS Milfontes Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your HS Milfontes Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing