We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Mil Reis!!!”
Review of Mil Reis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mil Reis
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
530 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Don't miss Mil Reis!!!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This is one of our fave coastal places in Portugal. Such a cute and interesting town!
The guesthouse has been modernised and is lovely with top modern bathroom and a fantastic view from the terrace. Very mod room even if a little small , totally lovely.
Paparoca restaurant down the road is great and cheap for home cooked generous meals too.
Definitely recommend this quaint stay in gorgeous location!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
98
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A tasteful and calm little oasis in a very central location in the older part of Milfontes. The roof terrace has great views over the town and the shore; and the ground floor lounge has comfortable sofas and space to relax. Recently renovated with quiet air conditioning in all rooms.
Breakfast was good. Two free wifi options - whichever works best for you - the wifi signals seem stronger on the lower floors. Friendly and helpful staff; we borrowed a parasol for the beach. We had no problem parking the car nearby in the second week of September.
Although charming the rooms are not very spacious. There is some street noise in the late evenings and early mornings owing to the central location - not enough to bother us.
Milfontes is an atmospheric place with lots of restaurants and a range of beaches to suit different people. There are exciting cliff top coastal paths nearby. Well worth a visit and I'd be happy to return to Mil Reis.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downhill-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have stayed as this hotel and were impressed with the attention to every detail. It feels welcoming right in the reception and all the way to the room. I wished we could stay more. Top quality little place. Just know that there is no elevator and if you have a big luggage, it might be a bit tricky to maneuver. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACT - Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Central location. Difficult to find parking nearby in peak season. Room options range, two groups with us, one in an apartment and one in a 'suit' which is basically a tiny room with a terrace (with funky mondo grass flooring and great views). Because of the location it's noisy at night with the windows open but there is aircon in all the rooms. Kitchen in the apartment is functional with vented cooking facilities but the food nearby is reasonably priced so not much need for it. Breakfast included is the standard European fare. Swimming options nearby are varied and great for families with small children. Staff are all very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J79guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We loved our stay here at the end of May/ beginning of June. Convenient position in the centre of the town. Beautifully, spotless and tastefully decorated with friendly owners and staff. Being British and liking our cups of tea, we were swiftly provided with a kettle for our room. Looking forward to returning in September.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank greg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
193 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is quite easy to find in the centre of the older part of Milfontes, and in an ideal position from which to walk up the beautiful coast north of town.

Our room was very nicely set up and beautifully clean. We paid a bit extra for a 'suite' which, although most attractive, was really only a small bedroom with a very small sitting area attached, and the premium really wasn't worth it. Our room was up two flights of steep, narrow stairs, and we were carrying too much luggage, so I would just carry overnight essentials next time. However the beds and pillows were very comfortable indeed, and the shower was good.

Minor deficiencies were that the hotel's wi-fi did not reach our room, there was no hair-dryer provided and the window blind in our bedroom was translucent, so the morning sun woke me up much too early.

Breakfast kicked off at 9.00, and there was plenty of variety and decent fruit and coffee.

Overall this was a lovely welcoming little place, with a couple of quirks that would not stop us returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Great B&B. Stayed here with some friends off the back of the good reviews online. Excellent, friendly service. Recently renovated very clean rooms (albeit a little small - we chose the cheaper rooms though). Central location, (the town is lovely by the way) with wifi and restaurants close by. Good breakfast as well. Would definitely go there again if I was in Portugal again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CRatatatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vila Nova de Milfontes hotels
0.4 mi away
Duna Parque
Duna Parque
#3 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
HS Milfontes Beach
HS Milfontes Beach
#2 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa do Adro
Casa do Adro
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casazul
Casazul
#1 of 25 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Moita Mar
Hotel Rural Moita Mar
#3 of 25 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.7 mi away
Herdade Do Freixial
Herdade Do Freixial
#6 of 25 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mil Reis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mil Reis

Property: Mil Reis
Address: Largo do Rossio 2, Vila Nova de Milfontes 7645-310, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Vila Nova de Milfontes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Vila Nova de Milfontes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mil Reis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing