We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful end to our walking holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tres Marias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tres Marias
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful end to our walking holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This place is heaven if you like to be well off the beaten track. We arrived by foot from the coast along sand paths and through eucalyptus woodland. The whole feeling is one of space and light and there are loads of places to curl up with a book or relax in the sun. The rooms are well designed with polished concrete floors and ours had a galleried bedroom over a generous sitting area and sofas and chairs out on the covered terrace. Fantastic views, good local food and delicious breakfasts. Plus the company of 5 donkeys and an ostrich in the field. What more could you want? Would love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    16
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pays d'Ajaccio, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

A wonderful place to spend a relaxing few nights. Slightly off the beaten track, at the end of a dirt lane surrounded by fields and eucalyptus, midway between Vila Nova and Porto Covo. Evening meal and breakfast truly wonderful and very welcoming team, on hand and always eager to help. Rooms very natural, comfortable and sympathetically decorated, surroundings very peaceful and loved the sheep, donkeys and especially the ostrich! Beaches nearby (approx 3km) wild and stunning. Great area for walking and cycling or just getting away from it all. Only thing that would make the hotel better would be a pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nbelbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

A gorgeous location albeit a little off the beaten track. But this is part of its attraction. Quiet and peaceful. Balthasar arranged a taxi to collect us from nearby Porto Covo. He then laid on a fabulous evening meal cooked by the wonderful Isabel. The next day he delivered us to a nearby town so that we could continue our Portuguese adventure.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Tres Marias is an amazing little oasis in the Portuguese countryside. We stayed for two nights as part of a bigger walking trip through the area and fell in love. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. The grounds are gorgeous, with wildflowers, sheep, donkeys and an ostrich. The staff is helpful and accommodating, but like another review said, invisible. Breakfast was great, a beautiful set-up. And dinner was a great mix of traditional and modern, a real treat. The nearby countryside was gorgeous for local shorter walks. Overall, a fabulous little place- I wished I lived closer, as I would spend a weekend away here whenever possible!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darlene08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a week long cycling trip. It is located down a sandy track some way from the road, really peaceful. Our room had a lower floor with small kitchen area, room for a child's bed and a sofa. Upstairs on the mezzanine floor was a large double bed. We also had a small patio area to sit and enjoy a beer offered as soon as we arrived in the afternoon. Meals are lovely. Super variety and quality at breakfast; great bread and rolls, various fresh yogurts and fruit, cereals, fuirt juice. All served on the covered veranda overlooking the fields. Dinner is served in a small dining room, again lovely food and local wines. All of the staff were very helpful. Our bags were moved on to the next hotel by the owner while we cycled the route. I enjoyed our stay and could have spent a few more days based here. As long as you have a car to tour around you can reach lovely local beaches north and south within about half an hour. You can also reach the coast by bike but a car gives access to a bigger area of the coast which is worth seeing.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

This farm, in the middle of the fields, with a large view of the small mountains on the East, and the Alentejo's plain, is the perfect place to relax, read, write, paint or just meditate. The staff is very helpful, although somehow invisible, to keep the privacy of guests.
It is very close to the wonderful Malhão beach, umpolluted, one of the few reminders of how the coast when they were pure wilderness.
We could say, properly, that Tres Marias, if there was not an adjective too much and to often misused, is Zen.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I booked this place for 8 nights in may to go on my july holidays as I read about it on the casasbrancas.pt webpage and I thought the place would be an idilic post surrounded by nature and near the beaches, as they mentioned there. (Taking into account it is quite expensive)
Nevertheless it is all the opposite. The access to that place was awful. The road is a neverendless dirt track and the only nature that surrounds the house is a plain with yelow dry grass. If you wanna break your car, do not hesitate and go there. We couldn't stay ther 8 days! Each time we went to the beach, or to the village...we had to pass through that awful long road!
The first day, when we finally got the place we were very dissapointed for all that and told the employees that we didn't expect that at all. One of the employees called her boss Balthasar Trueb and exposed our problem. The employee told us that her boss didn't want to have 'sad guests' in his house so they would give all our reservation back as they can understand the problems of access that the place have. So we finally left the place and start searching for a place to stay in HIGH season...we lost the whole day! But that is not all. After that, Balthasar Trueb wrote us an e-mail to tell us that he would just give us back 90€ of our reservation! INCREDIBLE. A FRAUD.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raqueltap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Milfontes
2.4 mi away
Herdade da Matinha
Herdade da Matinha
#1 of 2 in Cercal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
4.9 mi away
Duna Parque
Duna Parque
#3 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
5.0 mi away
Casa do Adro
Casa do Adro
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Monte do Zambujeiro
Monte do Zambujeiro
#14 of 24 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casazul
Casazul
#1 of 24 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Moita Mar
Hotel Rural Moita Mar
#3 of 24 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Marias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Marias

Property: Tres Marias
Address: Apt. 44, Vila Nova de Milfontes 7645-065, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Vila Nova de Milfontes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Vila Nova de Milfontes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tres Marias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Marias Hotel Vila Nova De Milfontes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing