We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Kerela”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best of Kerela”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have absolutely no words to describe my experience of stay at Raviz,Kollam. We were coming back from Maldives and quite used to some great stay and hospitality there. But our stay at Raviz was nothing short of Excellant. This was made possible by the best ever service and hospitality warmth of each and every person at Raviz right from Siva and Jude at reception to others at the travel desk, the backside security personal and regular housekeeping staff. Its definitely a must visit place for every tourist in Kerala looking for a great relaxed stay with spectacular view of lake all around. Also one should not miss the opportunity of a magnificent spa in the hotel. Overall a 10/10 rating to this place is well deserved. Great Guys!!!! Keep up the good work. We are sure to visit this place for a longer duration very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have a fabulous view guys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 717kerela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    177
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
323
184
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you want to have a breakout...move away from your hectic schedule... away from the city bustles.. Raviz is what i would recommend for. It was a visual treat when we entered the premises having the lake so close by. Rooms were luxurious and offered magnificent view of the lake. Services rendered by the hotel staff are commendable and they are always around if in case, you require any assistance. They have lot to offer on the food and ofcourse, various entertainments, games & other activities in and around the premises.

The walk-way near the lake is the icing on the cake. You have nice couches/beds arranged in the outskirt and one can enjoy the cool air, view and the silence around. They also have a organic farm which host so many medicinal plants and it was a learning for me and my family.

Overall, very impressed by the property as this was my first vist and i would surely recommend the same. Special thanks to Mr.Dudley who was very friendly and made our stay memorable and also to Ms.Chitra who provided good service from check-in to check-out. Thanks.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms which offer lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulKv_Travelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have nothing but the highest of compliments for the Raviz team; from Dudley the GM through to his supporting team (Aslam, Aswath, Avinash, Chitra, Isaac, Jude, Chef Jamal, Endhosen, Tarez, Deepak, Afsal the housekeeping boy, the security guards and everyone else I have not been able to name, but highly appreciate).

My family were hosting my sister's wedding over a 3 day period at the WelcomHotel Raviz from June 5-8th. I stayed at the hotel for 5 days, each of which where we received the highest levels of attention and excellent service. Staff were impeccably trained, right from the moment we were welcomed into the hotel with a welcome drink and the placing of the traditional tikka on the forehead.

Attention to detail can be summarised by the following experience: My sister and I were having breakfast when she gave me a pancake from her set of 4. Shortly after, the waiter came to our table and replenished my sister's serving, something that stood out for us as the team going out of their way to ensure that we are well taken care of. There were a couple of other similar incidents over the next few meals we had at the hotel (food was excellent with a wonderful variety of dishes)

The hotel itself is beautiful, set by the beautiful Kollam backwaters, which I personally like as this is off the beaten path, and I expect to start gaining a lot more tourist attention over the coming years. Of particular beauty for me is the lobby, and the motor pulley-operated fans which seemed to be a thing of the past, and beautifully fitted in with the general ambience (That said, it probably was not as effective as a functional fan, however the general breeze with the open ventilation of the hotel design was more than sufficient).

We welcomed a group of international travellers to the hotel to celebrate the wedding, and EACH AND EVERYONE had the highest levels of praise for the manner in which they were attended to and had a memorable stay at the hotel. Feedback I have received from my fellow guests is that they will be delighted to make another trip to Kollam, just to have the opportunity to stay at the hotel again.

The rooms itself were very beautifully done, I had a great jacuzzi in my spacious bathroom and there was great natural light in the rooms itself. I somehow was not able to get sports channels on my TV, but to be fair, it was not something I pursued with - I have no doubt that should I have raised this with the staff, it would have been dealt with immediately, as with everything else I experienced in the hotel. (Furthermore, in a setting like this, sitting in your room watching TV is probably not the best way to experience the beauty of the hotel, its immediate surroundings, and Kollam in general!)

All in all, a wonderful holiday of the highest order with a fantastic hotel and brilliant staff. Will not hesitate to book another visit to the hotel soon!

Room Tip: - get a backwater facing room, and the suite is highly recommended!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sachith_Nair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We booked Raviz due to ITC affiliation & I must say, we were not disappointed. It is one of the best hotel property in Kollam.

We were a group of 10 including kids & infants. We were welcomed by a lady in traditional Kerala Style The rooms were of adequate size with a small balcony which had nice view of the Astamudi lake and the Sun Set. Hotel had fantastic ambience, efficient staff, quick service, yummy food, and other amenities. Evening cruise was amazing. There were good number of activities for the children. We also revisited history while looking at 300 year old cottages.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms on the higher floors if you wish to have good view of Ashtamudi lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amark79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the Raviz, Kollam from 14th to 21st April 2014, and were very spoilt. Excellent hotel, Issac and Arun looked after us so well and made sure we had a great room with a beautiful view of the lakes, they made sure we knew where everything in the hotel was and also outside. Food was excellent and a lot of choice was available. Waiters could not do enough for us and made us feel very special. Pool was in a delightful setting and the photos online really show what to expect. Having travelled for a local wedding in the area, we had a fabulous holiday. The town is a short rickshaw journey away, about 100 rupees (current £1.00). Kollam town has many shops, head for the clock, and you will be in the centre of the shops. Thank you everyone at the Raviz for ensuring we had a great holiday. Hope to come back one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view of the lake or over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sp0ngeb0b59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were there for a two days stay. A beautiful and serene place gifted by backwaters. Just fascinated by the architecture and the traditional snake boat placed inside the lobby, the interiors were so specifically beautified with traditional brass vessels.. My daughter was so excited to see the traditional fans with pulleys which we could rarely see anywhere.

The moment we entered the hotel we could see smiling and energetic faces asking Can I help you??
We could not ever forget this gentleman Mr. Antony who was there throughout accompanying us for site seeing and he took us to the spa, to the saloon and we could feel comfortable like being at home.

Would like to visit again.

V. Rajeev Kumar
COMPU SHOPPE
Trivandrum, Kerala

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Compushoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

we along with my family visited hotel from 16th May till 22 May 2014 , we found that hotel was excellent, service was so good beyond thought and food was also prepared as per our choice i.e Homely Food vegetarian for us , all the executive staff was so friendly with us and treating us as a VIP , enjoyed the Trip / Vacation and very good Mood and also celebrated my grand son Birthday and my Anniversary during the stay , i always stay with ITC Group Hotel in India due to there excellent Hospitality

Room Tip: inform the Hotel to have your choice of rooms so that they can give the same as per your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandrakant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#2 of 21 in Kollam
255 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
2.4 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nani
Nani
#6 of 21 in Kollam
207 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
557 reviews
8.0 mi away
Aquasserenne
Aquasserenne
#1 of 1 in Paravur
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Property: The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Address: Thevally, Mathilil P.O., Kollam 691601, India (Formerly WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam)
Region: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kollam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#2 Family Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe property on the banks of the serene Ashtamudi Lake. In the heart of Kerala’s lush backwater country, in Kollam. The Raviz skilfully redefines luxury combining a historic ambience with modern luxuries. This five star deluxe resort, Spread over 5 acres of beautiful landscaped lush green gardens, boasts 93 guestrooms designed with subtle touches while incorporating the finest comforts of contemporary living. What's more, the 93 exquisitely furnished rooms and suites including heritage villas and private villas with pool, provide an astonishing level of comfort that is hard to match. At The Raviz you will indulge in nature’s luxurious surroundings and tranquil waters, while you are swept away and enchanted by its beauty. The serene Ashtamudi Backwaters exude stillness and calm, while its exotic beauty, freshness and purity welcome you. Welcome to the untouched and unseen Heaven in God's own country, Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raviz Resort And Spa, Ashtamudi Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing