We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real homestay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tata Caro Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tata Caro Homestay
Ranked #12 of 39 Kollam B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real homestay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is the best place we have stayed in all of India. The house is beautiful with wonderful gardens that grow almost everything you could need. The house is very clean and comfortable and in a quiet part of kollam. It costs only 60RP to get to the centre.
But the real reason to visit is to meet Sita and eat her delicious food! In all of India I've not had such delicious, authentic food. Healthy and tasty! She spoiled us and even taught me how to make a few dishes! She makes everything from scratch from her bountiful garden and she evens de us pickles to take back to uk. We had the best banana leaf meal you could imagine. We visited at the beginning of July and loved it so much we went out of our way to come back 2 weeks later to relax and eat before heading to Sri Lanka. We can't wait to go back one day. The food is a very reasonable price. 9 HUGE meals for 2 people AND a packed lunch for the train for 2,500. We are vegetarian so let her know in advance if you are too, otherwise I've heard her meat dishes are to die for!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sprattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend Tata Caro Homestay enough. The house itself is beautiful and comfortable. The bedrooms are spacious and airy and the owner is a wonderful woman who is very friendly and an amazing cook. She provides 3 delicious meals a day and an extra afternoon snack. The food is all high quality and healthy, we booked one night but stayed for three and then returned for another two nights on our way back through Kerala. The building itself is set just a short ride from town about 60 rupees in a tuktuk and there is no wifi but I felt so relaxed and at home that I didn't miss it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Slatedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was my first homestay, and I enjoyed my stay a lot. Aunty ( Ms. Sita Faria ) is an very caring person and a very good cook. I enjoyed every which was prepared by her. The house is also very good and clean, the rooms are spacious, there are trees around, there is a balcony. The food made is of the best quality and definately you will put on some words when you stay here. I will recommend this place to all........,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vvnfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at Tata Caro Homestay in the 1st week of Jan. 2014. It was, I should say "more than a homely experience". The hospitality shown by Ms. Sita Faria, the hostess was indeed something that will make any person look forward to their next visit to this destination. I would recommend this homestay for any family desiring a quite and peaceful holiday with a homely atmosphere all around- Suresh Nair, Bangalore.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ash8868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kollam hotels
0.0 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
0.0 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
0.0 mi away
Ashtamudi Villas
Ashtamudi Villas
#2 of 39 in Kollam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Munroe Island Backwaters Homestay
0.0 mi away
Tamarind KTDC Easy Hotel
Tamarind KTDC Easy Hotel
#24 of 39 in Kollam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tata Caro Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tata Caro Homestay

Property: Tata Caro Homestay
Address: Sams Residence | Punnathala, Thirumullavaram, Kollam 690512, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kollam
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conferred the status of a Diamond House & Children friendly by the Department of Tourism, Tatacaro homestay is a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city to relax, read and write or snuggle up to a cup of coffee in our rooftop terrace. At ground level is the garden with a pond and sprawling orchard of fruit bearing trees. Each guest is personally attended by the friendly hostess, Sita S faria who will invite you to experience outstanding service and quality accommodation.• Private verandas to lay back and relax• All rooms with bathrooms attached• Homely Indian / Western Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Snacks can be provided on guest request. • Taxi/ Auto can be arranged for airport transfer or sightseeingGetting around•Taxi / Auto ( tuk-tuk ) can be arranged for pick & Drop or to visit some places when your are here at tatacaro homestay.• Elephant rides, house boat trips along the backwaters, ayurvedic massages and treatments can be easily arranged. Our homestay is• 15 Minutes drive from kollam railway station• Just 1/2km from National Highway• Free Parking available• 1 Km = Famous Astamudy Lake• Thirumullavaram beach = 500 Meters• Tangasseri beach = 1 KMThe NeighborhoodJust 1/2km from National Highway, this homestay is conveniently situated close to some of the must see attractions in and around Kollam including The Portuguese vestiges, Light house, Vishnathukavu temple, Ancient religious places and so on. Easily accessible by road, it can also be a handy stopover enroute the capital city of Trivandrum.Other Things to Note• The price is for 2 Adult, kids below 5 years free.• We can accommodate 4 adults in our king size room each with separate bed. Extra adult in same room will be charged so do indicate while booking if you would like two separate rooms.• We can also provide Breakfast, Lunch,Dinner, Laundry, Taxi / Auto hire facilities available at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tata Caro Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tata Caro Homestay Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing