We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing on the Backwaters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Relaxing on the Backwaters”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel is an Indian hotel, so everything works in a slightly different way to hotels in Europe. Fragrant Nature is billed as a 4-star hotel, but in many ways does not quite meet these standards or its European equivalents. The hotel has some rough edges, but you're in India... so if you are happy to go with the flow then it shouldn't be a problem.

We were met at the airport after a night flight and were too tired to really notice the somewhat scary hour and a quarter journey to the hotel.

Arrival in the middle of the night was smooth and although we were not actually due to check-in until the morning we were given a temporary room for the night and moved to our villa after breakfast.

The setting on the Backwater is superb, with all rooms looking out onto the water. The tranquillity of the Backwater, the variety of birdlife, the occasional passing boat and the sunset makes sitting on the balcony relaxing and enjoyable. Our villa 408 at the far end of the site was one of the new ones. It was very clean and modern, and well air-conditioned. The beds are on the firm side.

The food options are middling. Nothing wrong with the food, but it is not an Indian dining experience and the restaurant is a little soulless. Breakfast was disappointing, and better suited to Indian guests. It still amazes me that Indians can't make a decent cup of tea.

Lunch and dinner are the same menu, with a mix of local and regional Indian dishes and a few non-Indian but done with an Indian interpretation. The food is simple but well cooked, particularly the fresh fish dishes. They will also provide dishes that are not on the menu. Service is slow so a two course meal took, on average, 2 hours. That didn't bother us too much as there is little else to do in the evenings, and it was actually quite nice to relax and talk.

Organisation is not a strong-point, so the times of three out of the six short activities we had booked were changed at the last moment. The complimentary massage is excellent and very cheap if you want subsequent sessions. The cashew nut factory visit comprises of watching women cleaning and sorting cashews in a very hot concrete shed - I wouldn't recommend going.

The one-hour boat trip around the Backwater is very pleasant. The short visit to the Elephant sanctuary is interesting as you get to feed an elephant, although 'sanctuary' is not quite the word to describe the surroundings. We didn't get to do the village tour or cookery as they changed the times to when we were otherwise engaged.

The hotel grounds are quite beautiful, but the immediate surroundings don't offer anywhere to go on foot. Unless you take a taxi, you are stuck there for the duration.

The staff, without exception, could not have been more friendly and welcoming and I do not recognise the negative criticism of some earlier reviewers.

All things considered, we have enjoyed our stay at Fragrant Nature. It's an Indian hotel with all the standards of the region and if you come with that in mind then you ought not to be disappointed. Would we come back again?... very probably.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Fragrant Nature and taking time out to share your feed back on your recent stay.

I am very much pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay close to nature with us.I have also noted the points which have mentioned were we have scope for improvement.Your kind words on our spa,boating and landscaping is much appreciated .

Thank you once again for staying with Fragrant Nature and we look forward to welcome you back next time when you are in Gods own country ,Kerala.

Best Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    155
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
235
208
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

What makes this place the best is the staff and nothing beats their helpful attitude. They listen to you, understand what you really want and help provide that to you. On the day of arrival we were greeted by the lady at the reception. After waiting for a short while we were taken to our room and what a wonderful sight it was!! The view of the backwaters was amazing. The deal i booked included meals, backwater cruise, massage etc. On the day of arrival i went to Varkala Beach close by for which the taxi was arranged by the staff at the reception. The driver was very polite and guided us whenever we requested for something. On the same day we also went to Maha Vishnu temple. Tired we returned to the resort and upon reaching headed straight for dinner. The food tasted very good took some time to prepare but was worth the wait. We retired to bed and woke up fresh the next day. The breakfast was the way we expected it to be! Had a balanced combination of traditional southindian and western. Thereafter we requested the reception to arrange a cab which was done very promptly. We went out for shopping and an elephant ride and the driver guided us all around. When requested that we wanted to have a traditional lunch he even took us to a restaurant based on our requirement. After lunch we returned to resort and had the first ayurvedic massage at the spa. The masseurs were super good again and made us feel comfortable all along. After the massage we went for the backwater cruise which was an experience in itself and we had a good time in a boat (capacity of 12). The cruise was a long one and at no point did they try to wind things up in a hurry. After return from the cruise we sat an enjoyed watching the sunset from the resort strolling in the park and later playing Table Tennis in the recreation room. It was then time for dinner and again we were not disappointed in any way. After the dinner we went back to the room and then went off to sleep after watching TV for a while.The next day we checked out of the hotel at 09:30 after an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhawani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing you feed back on your recent stay with Fragrant Nature ,Kollam on tripadvisor.It was a pleasure to have as our guest.

Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm hospitality . We make every effort to make our guest comfortable in all aspects and I am much delighted to know that we were able to achieve the same during your stay. Thank you for recognizing our efforts .

Once again thank you for this positive feed back and we look forward welcoming you back on your next holiday with us, close to nature.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Having travel throughout India staying in some of the best hotels the country has to offer we arrived at the Fragrant Nature Hotels & Resorts - Kollam.

On arrival we were greeted by the welcoming and helpful reception staff and our luggage was swiftly taken to our room, which was extremely clean and spacious and with a well-appointed bathroom. The cottage had a balcony facing the beautiful backwaters. A refreshing glass of local pineapple juice was offered to us with a warm wet refreshing towel, very much appreciated after our long journey.

Once unpacked we ventured down to explore the beautiful surroundings and landscaping of the property. The setting of this resort is simply lovely, with a blue water pool in the centre. A houseboat and other small boats were always at our disposal to go to the backwaters. We had a complimentary Ayurvedic head massage at the SPA

You will simply love this place for its ambience and greenery. The early morning devotional music heard from a distance at 530am really is a pleasantry to the ears. Oh you won’t hear it if you are in your room, so don’t worry about it as it won’t wake you up.
You can actually jog around the hotel setting and sweat it out and go for a good breakfast or go to the fully outfitted gym.

The captains at the cafe are very helpful, courteous and pleasant. Special mention to the Executive Chef who puts his best culinary skills to satisfy us with Kerala dishes, be it lunch or dinner. He was there to ask what you would like to have for dinner or lunch or what would you like tomorrow. Being a frequent business traveller never had a Executive chef going round and talking to guest and recommending what to try in the menu next.

Service is par excellence in this hotel with personal attention to the guest by friendly staff. Also an excellent Guest Relation staff who deals with guest in a kind and professional manner seeking feedback to see how to improve further the image and services of the resort. A special mention about Sajeesh, General Manager, who was interacting with us on regular intervals to ensure everything was up to our satisfaction.

Rooms were neat and tidy, housekeeping was excellent. Room service were prompt and the friendly staff. There were sun bath beds as you step just outside the rooms where you can lay and relax by the pool. A pleasant setting indeed. It is a perfect
location for a company seminar or a retreat.

Looking forward to another holiday in Kerala at the Fragrant Nature for a relaxing stay.

Stayed June-2013, travelled as a family of 3

Jay
Dubai U.A.E.

Room Tip: All the rooms are waterfront !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubaijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you feed back on your recent stay with Fragrant Nature ,Kollam on tripadvisor.It was a pleasure to have as our guest.

Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm hospitality . We make every effort to make our guest comfortable in all aspects and I am much delighted to know that we were able to achieve the same during your stay. Thank you for recognizing our efforts .

Once again thank you for this positive feed back and we look forward welcoming you back on your next holiday with us, close to nature.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELHI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I had been to Kerala for the first time and wanted to spend some quality time amidst the nature. Fragrant Nature is the perfect place for this. It has everything you would expect for the ideal Kerala getaway experience.

The staff gave us a lovely welcome and guided us to a beautiful villa in a private location. The atmosphere was extremely peaceful and serence. The room itself was neat and well decorated. The staff gave us all round attention and would be there within minutes to provide for all your needs.

You can indulge in many activites as part of your stay including fishing and boating in the lake that overlooks the resorts and book a houseboat.

The food suited me very well as it wasn't too oily. I love seafood and you can get fresh crab and spicy prawn curries made to order.

Please make it a point to visit this resort anytime you are in Kerala!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina_varghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination and for taking time out to share your feedback on your recent stay with us in trip advisor.

We are very much delighted to know that your stay was comfortable and you have enjoyed every aspects of our service.Your positive feed back is certainly a inspiration to all the staff and this enables us to do better.

Thank you once again for supporting us and we look forward to welcome you back to this paradise close to nature.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights over New Years Eve 2014. We had booked it on Small Luxury Hotel of the World, and (guess what?) we expected a small, luxury hotel.
This was the first time that we used this booking agent, and this will be the last...

We emailed the hotel the day before leaving our previous hotel in Pondicherry, asking for a transfer to be arranged from Trivandrum airport. Within 2 hours we had a reply, simply stating that we had cancelled our booking. We had indeed cancelled a booking, only to book the same room again at a lower price. In other words we had made a booking and indeed I had the email confirmation to prove it.

I immediately forwarded the reply to SLH customer services, which may not exist as far as I know. I'm still waiting to receive an acknowledgement of my email, let alone a reply or even an action to resolve.

Having forwarded my booking confirmation to the hotel, they then replied to inform me that they had a room available and my booking had been reinstated. Note "reinstated", because as it turned out later it was the booking I had cancelled that had been reinstated - at the higher rate, and without the amenities listed... I guess you're starting to get the gist here, but it's not over.

Transfer was on time, clean car, nice driver, and the welcome at the hotel at night was pleasant. We were getting more and more excited. It was dark outside, and we were guided to our "exclusive villa designed with couples and privacy in mind". It didn't look exclusive, rather standard with tiled floors, and the "flower arrangement" promised was a single flower in a glass. Note that I care much about a flower arrangement, but it rings more alarm bells when the description is so outrageously misleading.

The first thing we noticed was a chatting noise. A bit like someone is sitting in the room having a chat with a child. Not shouting, just talking. The room had a communicating door to the next "exclusive villa design with couples and privacy in mind", and we could literally hear every word of their conversation.
The bathroom smelt of damp and we quickly uncovered the highlight of the evening: a brown (presumably dirty) pair of woman underwear (I think) hanging at the back of the bathroom door. Needless to say, the housekeeping manager runs a tight ship... not.

We immediately asked to be moved in another room, and were indeed moved to an exactly identical room (with the exception of the "flower arrangement", the "fruit basket", the communicating door, and the woman underwear hanging at the back of the bathroom door).

Food at the buffet is below average (but cheap), service is more proactive than attentive, the swimming pool can only accommodate 8 couples at a time.

Should I mention the safe incident, when the in-room safe broke (yes I know, never seen that before either), and the staff (including, wait for this, the "engineering department manager") seemed to ignore the fact that I kept telling them that we hadn't forgotten the code. 3 different people proceeded to try 50+ keys to open the safe in turn, before eventually agreeing that it needed to be broken into. Which they did and apologised for.

Fast forward to check out when I'm presented with a bill 20% higher than what I expected. Remember the "reinstated booking" before. Rude, aggressive, arrogant, insulting and ignorant reception staff eventually agreed (with agreement from the hotel manager who I only met once - on that day).

This place is a nightmare. Don't go there unless you like sloppy, overpriced service and arrogant staff. Don't.

Room Tip: I don't there are any, but you may want to be close to the swimming pool and restaurant as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank froginlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It is unfortunate that you were unhappy about some elements of your stay and we apologise for any gaps that happened from our side. We do our best to avoid technical and mechanical errors, and If at all any system fails, we rectify or replace. We have noted all your points and will bring in more stringent audits to ensure a flawless service and experience.

Our percentage of positive comments will itself vouch for our commitment in offering exemplary service to all our guests and we will certainly go an extra mile to better it!

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed in this resort from Jan 31St to Feb 3, 2014 with my wife in lake facing room.The property is amazing and people at the front office are very polite.We also availed transport from their travel desk for 4 days it was quite nice.Mr prashanth and Mr.Ram sing were very polite and help full other people at the reception were also quite decent hospitable.Restaurant can be still better in terms of food quality and tariff is slightly on the higher side,my over all experience was really memorable and in my next visit to Kollam i will never think of any other hotel.True to its name not only resort even the whole staff are fragrant and natural.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramesh v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feed back on your recent stay with Fragrant Nature.It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We are very much delighted to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were truly pleased with the service of our ambassadors as well as the facilities we have on offer.We strive hard to make our guest feel comfortable in every aspects.Thank you for recognizing our efforts

We look forward welcoming you back to Fragrant Nature on your next holiday to gift an unforgettable holiday experience close to nature.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Had a very relaxing n rejuvenating holiday. Was very warmly greeted by front office reception folks... boomi n ramsingh... these guys vere terific.. the resort is mind blowing with serene views... we got an awesome speedboat ride.. the spa was just out of the world...
The healh center was open 24x7.. simply wonderful place to start our new life.. highly recommend this place for honeymoon
The only drawback that we felt was such a star class resort could have more lavish menu... especially more of authentic kerala food like kappa puttu etc...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amluNsumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feed back on your recent stay at Fragrant Nature ,Kollam.It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

I am very much delighted to read this wonderful review about Fragrant Nature and much pleased to know that you had a rejuvenating holiday with us,your kind words about our staff is much appreciated and have conveyed the same to them.We have noted your valuable suggestion and have started working on our menu.

Thank you once again for recommending Fragrant Nature and we look forward for for your next holiday with us .

Sincerely

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
8.4 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
8.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#3 of 22 in Kollam
267 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
6.8 mi away
Nani
Nani
#6 of 22 in Kollam
206 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Property: Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Address: CP11/709 Nedungolam P.O, | Paravur, Kollam 691334, India (Formerly Fragrant Nature Hotels & Resorts - Kollam)
Region: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kollam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kollam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kollam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Nature is an exclusive 4 star Luxury Lakeside Resort offering the ultimate in relaxation and seclusion from the hustle and bustle of city life. The natural rural village setting of this Luxury hideaway, gives you the chance to see and experience the authentic Keralean way of life. The Resort is also well located for travelling and exploring the excitingly diverse wildlife, geography and rich culture of Kerala. Price range(per night) : £85 to £315Breakfast is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrant Nature Retreat And Resorts Pvt Ltd
Fragrant Nature Retreat & Resorts Pvt Ltd Hotel Kollam
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing