We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Montalto
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I can't say enough about this place!!!
The bedroom/main rooms: extremely clean and comfortable. The dining rooom is beautiful and the views from the terrace were breathtaking...looking over the rolling Tuscan countryside.
The food: amazing...we couldnt wait to get back to see what Cinzia had for us each night! Seriously....Im drooling just remembering!!
The Owners/Staff - wow....what can I say to do them justice? Absolutely incredible. Very welcoming and personable. Alessandro was hilarious! His tour of the vineyard was very informative and fun....he entertained us all the time, from the tour to the wine tasting to the food service. Each of the owners took the time to speak with us a little each day and we never got the feeling that they were just going through the motions....they were honestly interested in our conversations.
The Pool: big clean pool, very relaxing and private!
The Wine: wow, was great....had a very informative tour and tasting.

I loved this place so much I ended up proposing to my then girlfriend there (was supposed to wait til Venice). The sunset and view was perfect! The staff was amazing during this, they snuck some pics during the knee drop and sent them to us after.....they even popped a bottle of champagne for us.

I really cannot say enough about our experience there. We will be back and Ill be recommending this place to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Montalto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was our second visit to Montalto. Cinzia, Allesandro & Andrea are lovely people; kind and friendly and helpful. The rooms are perfectly adequate, clean and well furnished. The pool area is a sun-trap and a great place to spend an afternoon. Cinzia conjures up delicious meals for dinner. They are always wonderful, cooked with care and attention to detail. Allesandro is justifiably proud of his wines which are delightful. Montalto is a lovely peaceful place to use as a base for exploring the area and it's great to return at the end of the day to the pool and then a beautiful dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgriturismoMontalto, Proprietario at Agriturismo Montalto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

We thank you very much for this feedback, we do not have any words. It is a pleasure to have kind guests like you, we really hope to see you soon in Montalto again.
Kind Regards
Cinzia & Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We received a very warm welcome from Cinzia, Alessandro and Andrea. Lovely location and great accommodation. The food throughout the week was outstanding, and Alessandro's wines are to die for! The children had a great time running around outside playing with the cat and swimming in the pool.
The location is ideal, 30 mins from Pisa, Florence and the beach, with other famous Tuscan sites only a little further away. The view from all sides of the hill where the house sits are just amazing. We had a great week and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

...wonderful people at a great location (great sunsets at a superb tuscany hills landscape, and easy to reach Pisa-Lucca-Florence-Siena-etc.) making their best to serve delicious refined meals accompanied by their own very good red wine and olive oil. All this in a cheerful and discreet family ambiance making all guests feel at home and socialize. These young hosts do their best to run this nice business in an elegant and efficient manner, therefore one feels like supporting the right drive. Nevertheless, do avoid to get there with a clean car and let your low ground clearance Ferrari at home.:-)))

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulysse2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We liked the quality of the location and the good food served. We tour during our holidays on our motor bikes and therefore like places where food is served in the evening and breakfast in the morning. Why not 5 stars? Well, no service during the day (agriturismo is no hotel, we understand that) but there is no refrigerator for self purchased drinks. No place to lounge during the day, as the main area is closed. This limites possibilities a bit if you decide to stay in.
4 stars well deserved

Room Tip: No specifics
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joost S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at Montalto for 5 nights in September 2012. It’s a beautiful place on a hill, with views of Toscana and a nice swimming pool. Use your navigationsystem to find it! The service is excellent and the rooms simple, specious and clean. The food and wines are great. With a special request the chef will serve you all kinds of traditional food: great antipasti, pasta and delicious meat(s). The dining room has an old romantic touch. Breakfasts is great, especially the fresh coffee, which also can be enjoyed outside. We also enjoyed a traditional Italian wedding that took place in Montalto. From Montalto you can easily drive to San Miniato, Pisa, Lucca, Florance, Siena, San Gimignano and other (small) villages. But don’t forget to relax and enjoy a prosecco or nice wine before dinner. We are definitely going back! M&F

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michiel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed in this agriturismo in July 2011 (3 couples) and really enjoyed it. The building is situated on top of a hill with fantastic views of the surroundings. It is very near to the autostrada (motorway) FIPILI which makes it very convenient to travel around but at the same time it is far enough to be in a very tranquil area. The pool is very big and the surrounding grounds very well kept. Food at the restaurant is extremely (especially the pasta) good and value for money.

However i won't be giving this place 5* due to the lack of Air Conditioning in the rooms. In honesty we were told beforehand that the rooms did not have AC but i never would have thought that not even a fan! not even when we asked for one :( Some nights were so hot that we could not sleep, there wasn't even a breeze in the room. We were told that it is only a couple of days a year that it was hot, could be ! so we were so unlucky to be there in the hottest days in 2011. If i were the owner i would keep a couple of fans handy in case guests ask for one.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have big windows so make sure to ask for a room with big windows especially since ther...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dundrinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgriturismoMontalto, Direttore at Agriturismo Montalto, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

I thank you so much for your kind feeback and I am sorry about the hot considitions you found, as informed there were some of the hottest nights of the year because generally it is always fresh here, being on a top of a hill.
We do not have air conditioning and we do not want to put it, being not properly eco-friendly and to differentiate the policy of an Agriturismo Vs hotels.......it is different, more rural and more natural, that's it....but we have now some fans...
Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miniato
13.6 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
4.6 mi away
Marrucola
Marrucola
#20 of 34 in San Miniato
56 reviews
9.7 mi away
Agriturismo Colleverde
Agriturismo Colleverde
#1 of 18 in Terricciola
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Agriturismo La Pisana
Agriturismo La Pisana
#1 of 38 in San Giuliano Terme
153 reviews
4.2 mi away
Agriturismo La Canigiana
Agriturismo La Canigiana
#19 of 34 in San Miniato
12 reviews
5.0 mi away
Azienda Agricola ed Agrituristica Cafaggio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Montalto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Montalto

Address: Via Vaghera 25, 56028, San Miniato, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Miniato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in San Miniato
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Montalto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Typical Tuscan farmhouse of the 18th century situated midway between Pisa and Florence; its position overlooks the southern Valley of Arno river at 360°.Ten comfortable and bright bedrooms with private bath and shower, furnished in a Tuscan poor style Our kitchen invites to relish good home-made cooking and typical products of the area such as salami, steaks, hand-made pasta, bruschetta and vegetarian dishes match our delicious Extra Virgin Olive Oil and range of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Montalto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing