We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best small hotel for quality/price range you can find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Sonnino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Sonnino
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Miniato
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best small hotel for quality/price range you can find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazingly well equipped, professionally managed and has amazing charm and feel of Italian Villa.
Staff is extremely professional and hardworking. Since we arrived late, restaurant was open until 00:30.
Food and wine were exceptional.
Breakfast is not going to win any special award for variety and assortment, but again, it was very well organized and everything tasted good.

To sum up, if you have a car and traveling to Firenze, this hotel is excellent choice.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 345mike678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    39
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
61
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We visited Villa Sonnino after cancelling a reservation at a nearby hotel, which failed to meet up to our standards. We were impressed that upon arrival, we were greeted by a member of staff, who was clearly welcoming and willing to help us. Fortunately, the Villa had a room available and we were impressed by its quality (for the same price as the other hotel). Villa Sonnino has a charm all its own and although previous comments have been made about its sedateness, we enjoyed our stay there. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We dined there for two nights and the meals (and service) were more than satisfactory. We particularly enjoyed the starter of Tuscan crostinis, meats and cheeses. Breakfast was fairly standard but more than adequate. It appeared to us that the Villa catered more for business people than tourists, but that should not be a deterrent. It is extremely well placed for both Florence and Pisa Airport and is very good value for money. Would we stay again? Yes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 49brianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The villa is a delight and is very secluded and quiet - I can't quite put my finger on what is lacking because on the surface it is all there but there was a lack of atmosphere and warmth. The room was great and very very spacious ( spoilt by a tiny TV seemingly miles away) and with a modern and well composed bathroom - the bed was comfortable and the staff were attentive. Perhaps we picked an 'off' day in the restaurant as the other reviews seem to rave about the food - the meal we had was ok, but could have been better.

Overall it is so nearly there but just misses the point - the courtyard's could be used more fully because they were lovely and pretty.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank boomboom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is a delight of past splendor of grand living of the wealthy Italian aristocracy. Villa complete with chapel and nice gardens for weddings. Located in lovely village between Florence and Pisa. The beds were great with no back pain in the morning, When we entered the room the hotel came compete with complimentary local wine as a bonus! Breakfast here was divine with local fresh fruit with a wide assortment of cheeses. Add to these you get coffee with yoghurts and local pasteries YUMMY! Delight ful interior reception and courttyard afternoon lounging! We recommend this hotel as a quiet and easy place to relaxxxxxxxxx!

Room Tip: Front side rooms preferable for quiet living!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rev Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We drove up from Rome, nice drive but at the end we got a flat tire on the rental car. The owner of the villa went above and beyond to help us out while on the phone with Sixt in Pisa. Regarding the hotel, huge room, clean and with a great view. The breakfast was excellent and well appointed even a gluten free section! If we have more time we will definitely come back to Villa Sonnino!

Room Tip: I don't see a down side from this Villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

By all means we will be visiting this hotel again. One of the best stays on our honeymoon. The food was excellent and should be on the Michelin list as was the restaurant in San Fele. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very large and well kept.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastiano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Villa has been lovingly restored by its owner and is a credit to her and her staff. It is run very smoothly but firmly and has the most calming of surroundings. A great place to hideaway from any hustle and bustle.

We were staying there and attending the wedding of our friends so there was a little more excitement as is usual and this was fabulous. The food was wonderful a mixture of traditional Tuscan food.

A fantastic venue for a wedding. Extremely well organised.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miniato
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Miniato
Hotel San Miniato
#2 of 5 in San Miniato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#3 of 5 in San Miniato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#1 of 6 in Pontedera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
EmpoliHotel
EmpoliHotel
#2 of 4 in Empoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albergo Quattro Gigli
Albergo Quattro Gigli
#1 of 2 in Montopoli in Val d'Arno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Borgo Bucciano
Borgo Bucciano
#4 of 29 in San Miniato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sonnino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sonnino

Property: Villa Sonnino
Address: Via Castelvecchio 9-11 | La Catena, 56028, San Miniato, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Miniato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Miniato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sonnino 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Sonnino, built in 500, when the Restaurant Castelvecchio, and situated halfway up the slope of a hill in the heart of Tuscany halfway between Pisa and Florence in San Miniato.The eye of the attentive observer will sense the presence of a church on the hill near the recently restored and housing which it dominates: Cigoli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Sonnino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing