We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tex-mex in easygoing way”
Review of Amarillo

Amarillo
Ranked #36 of 65 Restaurants in Kouvola
Cuisines: Mexican, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff
Finland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tex-mex in easygoing way”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a leaving party in Amarillo and had wonderful time. Maybe bit too much peperoni for my taste but othervise good. Friendly service and quite fast though we were quite big crowd. Do not take a table close to front door during cold weather - there is always people going in and out. Easygoing place !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roinila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pricy and heavy food”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The place was crowded so we had to sit at the bar but it wasn't a problem. Unfortunately there was almost no fish in menu although Kouvola is known for lakes and great fishing spots. The only choice for me was grilled salmon with grilled vegetables for 18,90 eur. Veggies were ok but fish wasn't good enough for this price, it was too pepper and oily. Whiskey chicken was better but also very heavy. But staff was nice and helpful. There is menu in english!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trinvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

There is not so much choice in Kouvola in terms of restaurants, so I followed the recommendations of this site and went to Amarillo.

I did not have a reservation, which was not a problem. The restaurant is quite large and I doubt that this would ever be a problem actually.

I went for traditional Mexican fajitas and was surprised by the huge quantity of food that was brought to me, considering the fact that I was alone!

The service was pleasant and friendly, and the food very good.

I would go again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnergizeMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours, Centre, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very American”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I really liked this restaurant, the feel and the food made me feel as if I was at an American Restaurant. If I'm completely honest, Finland really reminds me of the USA.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amarillo also viewed

Kouvola, Kymenlaakso
 
Kouvola, Kymenlaakso
 

Been to Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing