We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kouvola
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurant and pub dowmnstairs. I even saw my favorit hockey game live there. Friendly bartender who proposed me one of the best gognags I've ever have. Rooms are nice, clean and quit. I can recommened.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jukka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    64
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
18
8
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

If you just want to sleep then this place is fine, ordinary and bland.. but fine. If you need any help with anything you wont get it here. I checked in for one night before catching the train to Saint Petersburg. I dont speak the local language and asked if the staff could help me figure out long term parking at the train station. I had gone to the station but there was no one there, I called the train number but there was no information on long term parking. I understand that the hotel is not the train station but to dismiss me with "you can call the station" is not at all helpful. I work in accommodation and one should have said "I'll see what I can find out for you". I was stressed and tired and worried that my car would be towed while I was away. It was obvious I needed help but got nothing from Sokos.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj123WT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I've mailed to the hotel for reservation. The speed of the answers is incredible. We have completed booking in 10 minutes after 3-4 mails. I've been offered three options for a family stay.
Room is quite, standard, nothing special. Iron and iron board was surprising. Reception is quick and staff smiling.
Even if the hotel is aged, it is clean and everything is working.
Breakfast is more than average for such type of hotel. Breakfast area is very classic style, nice to spend time.
I do not understand why to make paid parking, when you have free option just across the street and why to put signs everywhere to remind people for parking payment.

Room Tip: Use free parking just across the street. No kettle in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Overnight stop on the way up to Lappeenranta, travelling with one year-old son. Crib provided as requested. Check in pretty busy, had to wait a while, but they did try to comfort our upset baby with a book.

Hotel restaurant on the expensive side, food good, though not amazing. Dinner was fine, as was breakfast.

Parking at the hotel is pay per night. However, across the main road, there is public parking (24 hours) for free. No point, as far as I could see, of paying to be all of 1 minute's walk closer to the hotel.

Would stay again if we were on the way somewhere, but otherwise there wasn't anything special that would make me select this hotel over any other.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Nice quiet hotel, standard sample of the Sokos chain. Good sauna.

Tip: the hotel parking is no longer free, but there is no need to use it, as the nearest free parking is just 50 meters away (Hovioikeudenkatu street).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy_spb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The staff was really helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean. The hotel offers complimentary sauna and gym, which is nice but the sauna is only available during evenings. :(The breakfast was a disappointment when compared to Nordic standards in general but the restaurant and pub are ok. The playroom for kids was great fun for the youngest in the family though.Good stay if your in the area and well worth the buck especially if you plan to go to the local amusement park, they sell tickets and bracelets conveniently at the hotel, so you don't have to que at Tykkimäki. :)

Helpful?
Thank AndyLA76
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Good location, easy to find, not in the very center but close to shops and highway, quiet, calm. When we stayed in this hotel there was free parking, now as i know it costs something. Room is nice and spacious enough. Strong free wifi and wired internet. Bathroom floor got wet since the door in shower cabin closed not very tight. Sauna was a pleasant bonus after long day. Stayed there for one night so didn't find any negative points.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glamour85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kouvola hotels
0.4 mi away
Cumulus Kouvola
Cumulus Kouvola
#2 of 3 in Kouvola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelli Sommelo
0.6 mi away
Hotel Turistihovi
Hotel Turistihovi
#2 of 5 in Kouvola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Saaramaa Camping
Saaramaa Camping
#2 of 6 in Kouvola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
7.6 mi away
Leo Hotelli
Leo Hotelli
#4 of 5 in Kouvola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
20.5 mi away
Yli-Kaitalan Lomamokit - Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Address: Hovioikeudenkatu 2, Kouvola 45100, Finland
Region: Finland > Kymenlaakso > Kouvola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kouvola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing