We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Reviews (4,543)
Filter reviews
4,543 results
Traveller rating
2,542
1,335
406
148
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,542
1,335
406
148
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthani wingjunior suitecoconut barfisherman's wharfchom talaymassage ladiesocean frontsiam smiletuk tukkids clubthai restaurantkata townmini martrelaxing holidaygames roomour honeymoonmonsoon season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,879 - 1,884 of 4,543 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The location is great if you're looking for a peaceful and secluded beach resort. It's ideal for families with young kids looking to stay away from the more crowded and noisy patong beach. Patong is 10-15 mins away by tuk tuk so not such a great hassle to get there either.

The rooms were spacious enough although the restaurants at the resort were kinda pricy. The hotel has a private beach which is just beautiful. The service was very impressive as well. Oh and its impeccably clean! If you're looking for a relaxing vacation this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaharPaliwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

About an hour's drive from the Phuket airport, the journey seems long the first time you try to get here.Its best to make sure you have arranges for a pick up, else book a taxi from the airport.They have a booking counter just outside the arrival gate and the rates are fixed. Once you locate the property ....it almost at lands end up a hill, its worth the journey. We took a Junior suite, sea facing.......it was a loooooooong walk from the reception but again worth it. They drop you to the room in a golf cart if you don't want to walk .The room was large, spacious, clean, well planned. The suite had a living area ending in a small verandah sit out and then the sea! A patch of lawn separates you from the beach.. We spent hours just lazing in the verandah with only the sound of the crashing waves in the background. The hotel has a drop to the Patong beach area( where the night life exists) and a fixed hour in the evening and the same bus gets you back to the hotel at around 11 pm. You have the option of taxis which will charge you a bomb just because you are exiting from Katathani. If you choose to spend more than a couple of days here, it best to hire a car (self driven) or a motor bike else you will be pretty much grounded in the hotel .
The property has 3 swimming pools and they limit one of them for adults only....so you can have a lazy swim without bumping into super enthusiastic kids ! There are deck chairs all around where you can have a massage by hotel staff right next to the pool or on the lawn. The pool bar serves limited eateries and ample drinks ! A few steps from the pool is your own private beach! That was a super treat. Right on the beach there is a massage place...very basic.....they cover up the bamboo poles with plastic when it starts to pour. the place is run by locals. To get a body massage done on the beach, next to the sea while its pouring cats and dogs around you was an awesome treat !
We tried the room service food...which was very good and they have an all night menu too. I tried my hand at learning Thai cooking which was conducted in the hotel. There are various activities planned during the day which you can sign up for.Right outside the the hotel are few eateries. A provision shop located bang opposite does your laundry too if you want!

Room Tip: The junior suites have a good view of the sea and are very spacious. Do consider hiring a car or bike to have access to the main town .
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RanjiniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is a huge property, with lots of high rise buildings. It's somewhat tired and does need refurbishment. The junior suite we had booked is similar to a superior room or deluxe room in Bali. We were somewhat disappointed with our room (junior suite) and did asked to be moved due to the smell and the ordinary decor. The lawns are lush and green, the views from the Thani wing are beautiful. It was extremely windy the full week we were there, so used the Bhuri Pool instead. Pool service is very ordinary in the Bhuri wing, you may as well go down the shop and get takeaway which we did. One of the pools is under repair and also one of the accommodation wings. It shouldn't spoil your stay, noise wasn't an issue, and there are plenty of pools to choose from. The spa is overpriced, but you have the option to cross the road to get massage. One important point.... When you are taken from the foyer to your room, you may be disappointed at the hallway, which is dingey and looks like the back service area. No WiFI in the rooms which means a long trek to the reception area to pick up emails.

Room Tip: Choose the Thani Wing for pool and beach views. The Bhuri Wing is actually lovely too with pool views. Decor is dated in the rooms. We stayed in 3320. The Grand Suites are similar to Junior Suites, but with a large spa bath in a very dark bathroom. Not worth the extra $
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeavemeinBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

we left our hotel at Surin beach and looked desperately for a comfortable place for ourselves with toddler...this was not it. If you don't like feeling part of a very large crowd in an oversized hotel, this is not for you! One look shows you the hotel is vast, spread over way too much area with too many people.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank kdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear kdreaming,
Thank you kindly sharing your feedback regarding the stay. We are sorry that our Resort didn’t meet your expectation due to our generously sized property with five pools, four Jacuzzis and two fitness centers etc. Our hotel website clearly informs about the property size along with our location at Kata Noi Beach which is in fact esteemed of the most silent and secluded beaches in Phuket Island.

Best regards,
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our room was musky stuffy and unclean, room service always came late and cold, hundreds of bugs hung around front door, frogs were super loud. Breakfast was average. We won't be returning it wasn't just 1 thing there were many and for this reason alone choose to stay elsewhere. It really did take away from our trip because most people think they get what they pay for. Bummer

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesswestaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Jesswestaway,
Thank you for kindly providing feedback regarding your stay. We have noted the areas requiring improvement and will certainly brief the necessary heads of departments to ensure only the best service and options are delivered to our guests from the breakfast to room service and the effect of humidity. Please kindly be informed that during the monsoon season and especially when it is raining, sometimes harmless bugs or loud frogs can be found due to our close proximity to nature. We hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you again and see our improvements reflecting your valuable advice for the Shore of Serenity.

Your Sincerely,
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews