We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foto Hotel(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orchidacea Resort(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The SIS Kata(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,539)
Filter reviews
4,539 results
Traveller rating
2,539
1,334
406
148
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,539
1,334
406
148
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthani wingjunior suitecoconut barfisherman's wharfchom talaymassage ladiesocean frontsiam smiletuk tukkids clubthai restaurantkata townmini martrelaxing holidaygames roomour honeymoonmonsoon season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,706 - 1,711 of 4,539 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The resort is located right on the beach and provides a number of pools to enjoy. The highlight was the great beach with pristine water. Although the resort has a number of restaurants near the ocean, the food was average. My wife and I were very disappointed with the service we received by the resort staff. They had a negative attitude when asked about anything that did not have to do with the resort. They also charged for WIFI in your room and the internet reception was poor near the pool. We stayed in the Bhuri wing which was nothing special. Overall, we were disappointed with our stay, but enjoyed the view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bluedevil07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Bluedevil07
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
I am sorry to hear that your stay here at Katathani didn’t meet your expectations.
There are 6 different restaurants at Katathani that offer several types of cuisine; Thai , international, Italian, and seafood. This allows us to satisfy the different preferences of most of our guests. I am sorry that our food didn’t meet your expectations.
We’re sorry that you received service that preempted you to write this complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that it has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we’ve notified the proper department of your complaint, and we will do our best to improve the service of our employees.
Please be assured that we’ve taken corrective measures to prevent such occurrences in the future.
Thank you again for your feedback, and I am glad that you enjoyed the magnificent view of Kata noi!

Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Overall, we found this a bit too sedate (dull) for us (not that we were looking for a wild time, either). Limited choices for food or entertainment in the immediate (walkable) area, although the breakfast buffet was nice.

Our first room in the Bhuri wing was disappointing, and the ocean views were a little distant and obscured by palm trees. After several problems with our room, management very kindly upgraded us to the Thani wing (thank you very much to the helpful staff), which was indeed a beautiful large, comfortable room with a very good view.

(There is a 3rd, older, cheaper wing further away, and you need to cross a small access road to get to/from the beach and main pools from there).

The staff were very friendly and the resort was well maintained. But apart from the great room (Junior suite) in the Thani wing, overall this did not live up to our expectations and we would not stay again or recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tobyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed one week at Katathani with our little one (20 months) and we fully enjoyed our stay. Our kid loved the Andaman pool, which is a great pool to learn swimming, they also provide many toys for free. Almost all rooms at the newer Thani Wing were we stayed have seaview, so this was great as well. We requested a top level room and there was no noise from street. Service was also very good, prompt and friendly, we complained about mattress and within 30 minutes they replaced them!

The only thing keeping me from giving this 5 points are the Dinner options, which we found average but at high cost and the architecture, which is one massive three level building. The breakfast was very good though with tons of options and speedy service, and the many palms they planted make you feel at home. For Dinner we went out mostly.

Note - they have two providers they work with for elefant trekking:, Siam Safari, a very good one according to tripadvisor ratings, and Amazingbukit, with some less stellar tripadvisor ratings. I suggest you consult information on you operator prior to booking the elefant trekking, to avoid any surprises.

Room Tip: Thani Wing has much larger pool areas and you do not need to cross street when going to beach (unlike Bhuri wing).
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarcSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear MarcSwiss
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am very happy to read that you and your family fully enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your kind compliments towards our service and facilities.
However I am sorry that our restaurants didn’t meet your expectations.
I hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the katathani. The hotel is so well kept and the beach is beautiful. I would definitely recommend staying in the Thani wing over the Bhuri wing. Rooms are much nicer and outlook is much better. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a junior suite in the Thani wing. It was just perfect as we have two small children. The room was spacious, well set out and well appointed. It was nice and light and airy. The pools are amazing. The kids loved the slide and we loved the Coconut bar at Sunset. The resort is massive so be prepared to walk. Kids club is situated in the Bhuri wing so it is a fair hike from the Thani wing. The food was cheap and all nice. There are heaps of different restaurants to eat at. We didn't get to sample any as it was a bit hard to take the kids out as they were exhausted by six pm. My husbands sister got married while we were there. The weddings they do are fabulous. The setting is amazing, the food is fabulous and they have a good selection of beverages including white wine. It is approx a $15 ride each way to patong.

Room Tip: Go the Thani wing. More expensive of course but worth the extra cash.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emwhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Emwhal
Thank you very much for your kind review on TA.
Your compliments towards our staff and facilities are very much appreciated.
I am very happy to read that you and your family really enjoyed your stay with us.
Congratulations to your husband’s sister wedding! Indeed our weddings here are very romantic and well organized.
I hope you and your family will come to visit us again in the near future!
Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

There are two wings of the Hotel -- you definately want the Thani wing as it is on the beach. In the Thani wing there are "ocean front" and "ocean view" rooms -- not much difference; it's all good. Pick a second or third floor room if you want to see the beach/ocean; first floor rooms are blocked by low bushes. The pools are great as are the restaurants. The buffet breakfast is very good, but gets a little old if you stay a week (as I did). The room rates go up Nov 1. Nov gets much more rain than does Dec, Jan, Feb, March (per local data). I was there late Nov and had rain the first three days, clear the next four. You never know, but keep this in mind when considering when to go.

Room Tip: Thani wing; second or third floor to get a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlennDetrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear GlennDetrick

Thank you very much for your review on TA.
I am very happy to read that you had a great stay.
We all hope you will visit us again in the near future.
sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews