We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foto Hotel(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orchidacea Resort(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The SIS Kata(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,538)
Filter reviews
4,538 results
Traveller rating
2,538
1,334
406
148
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,538
1,334
406
148
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthani wingjunior suitecoconut barfisherman's wharfchom talaymassage ladiesocean frontsiam smiletuk tukkids clubthai restaurantkata townmini martrelaxing holidaygames roomour honeymoonmonsoon season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,672 - 1,677 of 4,538 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th visit in 6 years for my partner and I. We had a 6 night stay on the way to Sydney and NZ, reduced to 5 by a 3 hour delay by BA in London leading to an unexpected and costly night in Singapore.
The best things about the hotel are firstly the plethora of pools. There must be at least 7 and all are immaculately maintained with varying depths in each. There are more sun loungers around the pools and in the gardens than I have ever seen. The other plus factor is the beach, which is public but in effect pretty exclusive. This is probably my favourite sea beach at least in Dec and Jan. Ok you have to pay 200 baths for loungers on it but why bother. The hotel beds are 3 minutes away.
We stayed in the less expensive Bhuri wing. In the past we stayed in the junior suites of the Thani wing but unfortunately prices have gone through the roof. Prices seem to have doubled in 6 years sadly.
The breakfasts are excellent with huge amounts of fruits and a wide variety of foods on offer. One piece of advice. Even if you stay in the Bhuri wing eat your breakfast in the Thani wing breakfast ace. The food is better, more plentiful and the ambience is pleasanter. One word to management/ why is your coffee always so stewed and so poor. And stop your staff waving it around so it is lukewarm when they serve it.
I only ate at the dinner buffet in the Thani wing once and never elsewhere. I have in the past but the food is too expensive and there is little authentic Thai taste to the meals except in the pricey Thai speciality place.
The nearby Kata town has lost the little charm it ever had. It is now vile and overpriced. By the end of our 4th stay I did realise I was a little tired of the resort. It is rather formulaic and most of the entertainment is cringe worthy - when interesting it is for kitsch value.
But if you want pools, and a great beach for it. I think it is perfect for children.
The

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear NLR

Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that your overall experience was good, and that you fully enjoyed our pools, the beautiful, unique Kata Noi Beach and also our wide variety at breakfast. However I am very sorry that you are re-considering your vacation plans for Katathani and Phuket in general for the future.

Your complaint regarding the quality of coffee served during breakfast has been brought up to the attention of our Food and Beverage director for improvement consideration.

I am sorry that our price range did not meet your expectations. During the 6 years as you mentioned the overall price-range in Phuket in general increased and so did our costs. This forced us to go along. Also we would like to let you know, that during that time we were able to perform many improvements, including room refurbishments in several buildings, extending existing facilities and also took steps to make our resort more environmentally friendly, such as using sustainable materials and products and installing solar panels.

Regarding your remarks towards the price range of our food please bear in mind that hotel restaurants can hardly be compared with local vendors. Our hotel is strictly bound to HACCP and ISO standards serving high quality prepared in internationally measured hygiene standards which you may have a challenge with to find in the local surrounding.

We hope that you had a safe journey back home, and that you will give us another chance to welcome you back for your 5th stay at Katathani!
sincerely
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

General:
We stayed at Katathani Beach Resort in the 2nd week of January with 2 kids (4 and 6 years) and my pregnant wife from Mon till Sun.
The weather was perfect at that time, we only had 1 night of rain, the other days were either sunny or a little cloudy. The sea was always warm.

Arrival:
We arrived at Phuket airport and I booked the Hotel pickup service, which was very nice. As we were 4, they arranged the minibus, which felt a little too big and it was 400 Baht more expensive, - on the return way we booked the smaller "normal" car, which also fit for us. Hotel pickup is around 400 Baht more expensive than a regular airport taxi (1000 Baht from Airport to Kata Beach), but you do not need to negotiate and find a taxi - so this helped us to arrive relaxed after our flight. Also we were greeted with a bottle of water and a cold wet towel, which was very nice.

Rooms:
The Resort was nice for my family. We had a Junior suite with sea view on the ground floor. The room was nice and clean. They have prepared a babybed and an additional bed, and then the room felt a little small. So we requested them to put out the babybed and prepare the Sofa as an additional bed, which was done immediatly by housekeeping. After that, we had a little more space and it was ok.
The first 2 nights our neighbors kid woke up in the middle of the night and screamed for 15min at 3am.... but that was bad luck... and luckily it stopped.
The mattresses were hard (ok for me, but difficult for my pregnant wife)

Internet:
The resort had free internet in the public areas (and also a little bit in our room), but it was slow, so we booked the Room Internet for 500 Baht (7days), which is a little expensive, considering that we expected it including.

Pool & Beach::
The resort had many pools, which was nice for our kids as they just loved to stay there all day long.
Pool Bar and Pool Service was very nice and food was good.
The hotel is located right in front of the beach and has a direct access to the public beach. I have been jogging around the other beaches and I think the Katathani is the only one in that area, which has that kind of access and that was really nice. You could stay at the pool and then easily walk down some stairs to the beach. (At other hotels you always needed to cross the Beach street).

Massage & Spa:
We did not try out the Spa, but we did a lot of Massages in the Garden area. There are a lot of therapists walking around and offering Massage for 300 Baht / 50min. All ladys were very friendly and did a great job.

Restaurants:
We tried out 3 restaurants in the Hotel and of course, they are more expensive. The larger restaurants (where they also serve breakfast) had buffets with all-you-can eat sets and the quality and variety was ok. Not super super delicious, but above average.
We joined the Thai night, and there was some Thai Dancing performance. Dancers were nice, but the stage was not prepared very nice (some sound machines were standing around, covered with some sheets ...) - so it killed a little the atmosphere created by the dancers.
At the smaller restaurants they serve a-la-carte and I really had a delicious fish at Fishermans Wharf (Fire Fish) - they serve it at the table and light it up - that was a great show for our kids.
It is a pitty, that the hotel does not offer a free shuttle to the close by Kata or Karon Beaches, which I would have expected at this price range - but at least you always find a taxi in front of the lobby.
We also tried out some restaurants outside the hotel like Orchid and one restaurant in the street behind Orchid (T restaurant) - and I recommend the T restaurant. Really nice food, and nice staff and a lot cheaper than the hotel.

Summary:
Overall we enjoyed our trip to Katathani Beach Resort - it was certainly not the best resort, we ever visited, but it was perfect for our family and we had a great time.

Room Tip: Junior suite ground floor close to the lobby area was nice as we did not have to walk to far to the breakfast area and there was a pool right in front of us.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear nampa
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am very happy that you and your family enjoyed your overall stay at our resort.
Thank you for your kind compliments towards our staff and service provided. I am glad you liked our new renovated Junior Suite, and enjoyed the delicious food we offer in our restaurants.
Your comments regarding the stage decoration during the dance performance at dinner have been brought to the attention of the concerned department. Thank you for your valuable feedback.
I am sorry about the slow internet connection you experienced during your stay. This problem has also been brought to the attention of our IT Specialist, and has been fixed already.
We actually do provide a note in every room which allows guests to choose their mattress and pillows preferences by filling out the paper note provided. So if you found the mattress too hard our housekeeping team would have been more than happy to change it for you.
I hope you and your family had a safe journey home, and will come to visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We have just arrived here on our honeymoon as travel agent recommended this place.we are very disappointed. Our room is in front of kids and family pool with no view on the top floor. We have to walk miles to get to the adult pool. We have not been made to feel like it is our honeymoon either. This place is full of old Russians and lots of kids. Which is great if u have a family but would never recommend for a honeymoon. It's not very private and very impersonal. Very upset that we listened to travel agent. We have stayed in many luxurious resorts throughout Thailand, and this is the most expensive and the worst!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MOnique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear MOnique R
I am very sorry to hear that your overall stay at our hotel didn’t meet your expectations.
I would like you to know that our guests come from all different parts of the world, and that we have a good mix of nationalities of all ages that come to stay with us. Our website features each room type and their locations relevant to the resort’s facilities and views. I apologize that you have not been adequately informed of the room types that we have available here at Katathani. The experience of each of our guests is very important to us, and I hope that you feel our staff treated you personally and politely.
However I hope that you and your husband were able to enjoy your honeymoon, and I wish you all the best for your future.
Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

It's hard to even begin where to start with this resort. If you're reading this review to try to figure out if you want to stay here in the future please consider these factors, because we wish we did!!! The hotel was a nightmare to deal with, this being the third resort in Thailand we've stayed at the first two in Bangkok and Chiang Mai were beyond amazing! This hotel is more about making money and not customer centered or focused at all. You have to pay 200 baht to rent a lawn chair on the beach, wifi is not free in your room, in fact it was kind of expensive and didn't work well at all! They mis quoted us our room price from the beginning and we had to overpay now it was too late to find another resort. Our first "ocean view" room was behind a fish cooking building which we quickly moved from, Into a room with an extremely high moisture content so we moved again. No room is actually "ocean view" oh well you can see the ocean but not like they describe on the website. After we paid for our wifi the girl at the desk calls a day later to say she gave us too much change and we owed 500 baht. Which wasn't true, they harassed us about it soooooo much (you would think a hotel who made such an error would eat the cost not harass guests). We made them check the security tapes and we were right. They were so quick to harass us but we never received an apology!!!! The manager ended up comping our wifi bill which was nice since it only worked half the time anyways. The room service food was terrible, cheese burger tasted like fish! They charge you for every little detail!! So maybe we were just used to the amazing service at our other resorts, so we had to check out another hotel on Kata Noi for ourselves. We went to the hotel next door for drinks and it was beyond beautiful, not commercialized, very quaint and so much nicer. For the price we paid at Kata Thani you would expect a resort like this one. We wish we stated there!! Oh, and yes lawn chairs on beach were free, wifi was free, staff seemed friendly and they even provided us a free mini bus to go downtown! Now... Don't get me started on the mini bus.... Ok well here I go. Kata Thani charges you 200 baht to go downtown in a taxi (which is walking distance) when other resorts offer it free. When it came time to check out we placed an order for a taxi to the airport at 4:30am and the hotel forgot to book it!! They did apologize this time but now they made us pay 1500 baht for a mini bus because of their error. It was too late to order a taxi and we almost missed our flight. So, if you want a relaxing weekend with good service, look into a resort that is smaller and more customer centered. Not one that only cares about emptying your wallet and harassing you. I've already told our friends and family to never come here and also informed numerous scuba dive companies to stop referring guests as well and they did. We spent 5 days on a liveaboard and the service on the boat surpassed that of the hotel!!! Too bad, because Kata Noi probably is the most beautiful beach we've seen. We wished we stayed next door. The friends we met there loved their hotel! If you want a big commercialized hotel and money isn't an issue and you don't plan on any customer service, then book it because the beach and pools are really nice. That's about it.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you very much for having taken time to review your staying with us via TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to note the stay did not match up to your expectations and would like to comment on some points made.

For the internet problems we would like to sincerely apologize and please be assured that we will investigate the issue further to improve the service of our reception when handling such delicate matters. We are very much confident there was no intention to harrass you in any way, but it might be the way how the enquiry was made came across in the wrong way. Nevertheless we are glad our Assistant Manager handled this matter to your satisfaction.

You made your booking via Expedia or an associated online travel agent and not directly with the hotel, thus the point of a misquotation of your rate is not clear. Also when talking to our Assistant Manager this point has not been brought up to our attention, otherwise we could support you in finding the reason of any misunderstanding or mistake.

About the rooms please note that all rooms in the Thani Wing offer ocean views. Specifically the Junior Suites have all an ocean front and the view is even more impressive compared to our sample pictures that you will find on our website. Specifically the room you stayed in was exactly the room that was first finished during our recent refurbishment and used for the photo-shooting. While the picture on the internet is showing only a fracture of the real view when you stand in the room itself, it is certainly not misleading as for the question of an ocean view while being also not the best representative for this point.

About the taxis / TukTuks in front of the hotel please be kindly informed that they are not operated by Katathani but an independant taxi-cooperative. While we provide the drivers with uniforms and set-up a counter for them to improve the co-operation, we have no influence on their prices, routes and availability.

The beach of Kata Noi is a public beach and sun chairs are operated by the local community. For our guests we offer complimentary sun chairs on the hotel grounds right in front of the beach, around the pools and on the lawns. The internet is free of charge in all public areas.

As for the booking of your transportation we have only the note of your enquiry about the price, not an actual booking. This is the reason why there was no car arranged. The price for a mini-van is regular THB 1500,- and a normal Camry limousine for the lower price of THB 1100,- could not have been arranged due to the amount of luggage you had. The price is determined by the size of the car that is required to perform the transport while following safety standards and traffic regulations, thus a Camry was not possible. We apologize if this point was misunderstood.

Once again, we sincerely apologize our resort did not meet your expectations but hope to welcome you back again on another occasion when you wish to visit the beautiful beach of Kata Noi once again.

With kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have just checked out of the Katathani Phuket Beach Resort. Currently sitting in the activities room waiting for our transfer to the airport. From the minute we arrived, everything has been perfect. We are a family with 2 kids, (10 and 12 years) and have just spent 6 nights here. The resort, staff, service, facilities, food, room are all fantastic. The staff are warm and friendly, so eager to please, the service is refined - even if the translation is sometimes a bit lost. Some staff speak better Russian then they do English! The day spa was great, the pool service was great, the location - better than great. So nice to walk out of the resort to the waiting taxi's, who were all very professional and get a ride into "town", to explore the hustle and bustle, then to return to the peace and tranquility of the resort. The room for the 4 of us was great - didn't spend a lot of time in it other than sleep. Two queen/king sized beds, turn down service at night, fresh towels when needed and a great eco friendly atmosphere. The buffets were good at breakfast and dinner, but the Channada (Thai) and La Scala (Italian) restaurants were better than any restaurant I have dined in. The service was fine dining, traditional fine dining and it could not be faulted. The food was magnificient. Better than gorging yourself at the buffet's. Negatives........ not many at all.... just some of the other guests, which you will get anywhere - arrogant, pushy and bad mannered, and the smoking....... Katathani could embrace what most civilised societies have and ban smoking in restaurants and public areas, especially where children play around the pool. The resort can't possibly be that desperate for the "Russian" dollar to keep them all happy are they??? I really love the ECO friendly mission of the resort - now extend it to the health and comfort of the the majority of the guests. Not just the minority who stink!

Room Tip: Our room was ground floor, right near the entrance and lift.... I am a really light sleeper but never heard a thing! Ground floor garden view, only a little morning sun - mostly shaded - lots of mozzies outside on the deck which unfortunately ended up in the room. A room with the sea view would be better - any level.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OZZIEarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews