We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,536)
Filter reviews
4,536 results
Traveller rating
2,536
1,334
406
148
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,536
1,334
406
148
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthani wingjunior suitecoconut barfisherman's wharfchom talaymassage ladiesocean frontsiam smiletuk tukkids clubthai restaurantkata townmini martrelaxing holidaygames roomour honeymoonmonsoon season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,463 - 1,468 of 4,536 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

grounds are out of a postcard,staff all very freindly and helpfull,romm being a junior suite was amazing overlooking 1 of the 5 pools,4 restaurants to choose from with our fav being the fishermans wharf,no reason to leave the resort at any time unless you want to shop which is 5 minutes away at kata or karon beach,i cant believe any negative posts as we could not fault it

Room Tip: junior suites in the thani wing
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank arguswonderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear arguswonderboy,

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation. Negative feedback are in most cases a result of a different expectation and contribute greatly to improve our service and anticipate guest needs in the future. We are however of course very glad to see that we fully met your expectations and you couldn't find anything to fault.

Once again thank you for having stayed with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back on another occasion.

With warm regards from Kata Noi,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed 12 nights in late July/August 2014 at the Katathani Beach Resort in a Junior Suite.

As mentioned by other reviewers the Junior Suites are in need of an upgrade which I believe is happening later in the year. However, the rooms were clean, the king sized bed was huge and comfortable and Linda from Housekeeping not only kept our room spotless but was always happy to assist with any requests we had.

We had a room on the top floor and a great view over the Kata Noi Swimming Pool to the ocean which was pumping with a huge surf for the whole of our stay.

We were part of a large group of over 40 people attending a 50th birthday at the hotel. This was obviously the highlight of our trip and was held in the Seacret Restaurant/Wedding Gallery area.
Food layout and presentation was excellent. Service was great and the sunset views from the deck were amazing. A great night was had by all.

Breakfast in the Chom Talay Restaurant was always well presented and abundant. Num (our regular waiter) made us laugh every morning and looked after my wife with her daily request for a pot of boiling water. My fried eggs were always cooked to perfection "over hard" with a smile and the crispy bacon was delicious.

We did not eat at the hotel that often for lunch and dinner. When we did we found the food from room service disappointing, as was the meals from the Mango & Coconut Bars.

After eating out most nights earlier in our stay at Katathani, we tried the Chom Talay Restaurant one night and were pleasantly surprised. The meals were between 300 and 500 baht which seems expensive after spending a week in Thailand, but you have to factor in you are sitting in an upmarket restaurant with beautiful views of the ocean and the setting sun. We ended up having dinner there on 3 occasions with our family of 7 people and each time the food, presentation and service was top class. It made a nice change from sitting in small restaurants on the main streets in the hustle and bustle of Kata, Karon and Patong.

One restaurant we did enjoy was the Nong Karn across the road from the Katathani Resort. Meals between 100 and 300 baht. A huge menu of 90 odd pages and generally crowded from 6.30pm onwards.

We tried the "After Sunset Bar" for dinner one night as a very large group. Service was not great and food was average.

There is no mini bar as the shop on the resort and those across the road are very cheap. Beer, spirits, soft drink, chips etc all available. Also, the laundry service at the Katanoi Minimart is amazing. 80 baht for 1kg of clothes washed and folded!

The beach was closed a lot of the time we were at the resort due to rips and the big swell. However, with 4 big pools you could always find a quiet spot away from the crowd. I enjoyed the fitness room which had a good assortment of free weights, machines and treadmills etc. We also had a few games of pool and table tennis in the recreation centre.

One memorable night we got caught in a huge storm at the coconut bar. Thunder raged overhead, lightning struck and the rain was coming in from all angles as the bar staff tried to unroll the protective blinds. We got absolutely soaked, but everyone was laughing and the amazing staff kept working supplying us with drinks while mopping up!

Our family had a wonderful holiday at Katathani, it is in a great location with its own private beach but you are only 10 minutes from Kata, 15-20 minutes from Karon and 30 minutes from Patong. Highly recommended and we will return.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are good value with views over the pools to the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank AussieSnorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear AussieSnorkeler,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback via TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the stay and that the 50th anniversary went smooth and festive and left every member of the group satisfied. Your comments as well as recommendation have been sincerely appreciated by all our staff from the respective department involved.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back to Katathani on another occasion, until then our sincerest regards.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful and well kept. Staff are reasonably friendly. You cannot walk from here to the Main Street but it is nice and quiet. The rooms could do with a BIG upgrade and single beds for me and my best friend was a bit average .... Smells mouldy and definitely not a very nice room as in old and beds are hard as rock.
The breakfasts were amazing and views just as nice. My advice is to not visit the restaurants on the road close to the hotel as they are horrible!!!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pampower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Pampower,

Thank you for your feedback via TripAdvisor.

We are glad to see you enjoyed the location, the view and our breakfast. However we are very sorry to hear you were disappointed by the room you booked.

Since we are offering 9 different room categories, please don't hesitate to check our other room types upon your next visit to Katathani. A softer bedding can be setup by our housekeeping and we are confident to meet your expectations then in all terms for a most relaxing vacation.

Until your next visit our sincerest regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel for families, you have everything you need. But I don't recommend it for couples. I stayed in junior suite room is good clean has wat u need, bed is hard and pillows are cheap quality. The grounds are very clean, but pool and outside of hotel in genereal is abit dingy and looks dated..friendly staff very helpful. Breakfast is good but not wow. Beach is very nice and always cleaned by staff. Town is a 15 minute walk up and down steep hills. You either have to rent a motorbike, or pay 200 baht each way to town. Walking to and from hotel is very tiring and no side walks abit dangerous...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Samo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Samo A,

Thank you for your kind feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor.

As you mentioned Katathani is mainly a family hotel, however for our property being so much spread out and offering such a big choice of pools, bars and restaurants, also couples can find a relaxing spot when visiting us.

About the bed in case of a preference for a softer bedding and different pillows guests can always contact our housekeeping who will be happy to arrange the bedding up to your wishes.

Once again thank you for your kind review and we are looking forward to meet your expectations better upon your next visit to Phuket and the beach of Kata Noi.

With kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Me and husband had a short 3 day stay. This is definitely not a 4 ½ * star hotel as they claim to be. Outdated room with a bad smell. Breakfast wasn't impressive, food reposition had to be asked for several times. Service at the front desk was a disappointment, staff were cold and arrogant at times. Food was expensive, plus 10% service charge, plus tax.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Marina L,

Thank you for your feedback through TripAdvisor and we apologize for not having met your expectations on this occasion.

We sincerely appreciate the points mentioned and you can be assured that a follow up is already in planning. You have stayed in our Deluxe rooms for 2 nights and we are now about to start planning for a refresh/refurbishment project for this room category. Also our main breakfast area has been recently upgraded and the food selection widened as well.

Also please accept our sincerest apologies if the service at our Front Desk was not up to par. We are going to investigate whether there had been any issues coming up and implement your feedback in our training sessions that are coming up in September for further improvement.

Once again thank you for your feedback and if given the chance we will try our best to serve you better upon your next visit to Katathani.

With kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews