We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,538)
Filter reviews
4,538 results
Traveller rating
2,538
1,334
406
148
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,538
1,334
406
148
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthani wingjunior suitecoconut barfisherman's wharfchom talaymassage ladiesocean frontsiam smiletuk tukkids clubthai restaurantkata townmini martrelaxing holidaygames roomour honeymoonmonsoon season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,777 - 2,782 of 4,538 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We have jut returned from our 4th stay at the Katathani and are now planning our 5th and 6th trips for next year. What can I say but the Katathani is the best - the staff are lovely and very helpful, the rooms are great, the food/restaurants are the best and the amenities cover everything you would need.

We love it there and would not think about staying anywhere else. We have taken friends and family with us on previous trips and they all feel the same as we do.

You will not be disappointed if you stay at the Katathani.

Lizzie Melbourne

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelbourneLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

First impressions if you know a four star resort this was not in my opinion,we had just left 4* star resort in Bangkok and this did not come close,the way the layout of the rooms was a Thai version of Butlins,getting into the room it seemed small,cramped and not worth the money i had paid,infact we never unpacked,the room was a junior suite but the bed sheet was not big enough to cover the bed,yes it overlooked the sea but only through the trees and the noise from the birds outside did not let me have a wink of sleep all night,in the morning we complained but other accomodation was fully booked or out of reasonable distance from anything so we viewed the other rooms of the hotel,we opted to down grade to the Bhuri wing which is across the road but have been modernised to a much higher standard just without the view of the sea or a bathtub,over the coarse of the ten days we were there the hotel does grow on you,the food is expensive and we tended to eat out at the restaurants outside the hotel which in my view offered fantastic value,the fresh fish on view where caught that day.drinks are cheaper in the supermarket outside the hotel and there is no problem taking food or drinks back to the hotel,it is worth getting all your laundry done out there,very cheap and saves doing it back at home,Kata(just over the hill)has some brilliant restaurants,Italian,steak,pizza etc. and all love the children when you dine out.The hotel has a twice a week market but you will find the exact same things in Kata cheaper.the hotel offers internet use,we bought a 2 hour voucher but it must be used within 48 hrs,there is an internet shop near the Bhuri wing which is cheaper and would have used that if we had found it sooner,all in i probably would not go back but it was not a total disaster after the ten days.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank besty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

On our visit to the katathani resort phuket the view from the outside looked awful !! on the very end of a run down road with nothing around but for 2 or 3 bars,tailors, massage rooms,mini markets I was beginning to get worried, but once inside the hotel lobby it became clear that this could be a very nice resort,
Friendly staff soon appeared with ice cool flannels and cool drinks to greet us while we checked in, We had booked an junior suite with an sea view but on getting to the room we found it smelly, with condensation running down the walls mirror, TV, and windows, which we wiped to find the so called sea view was more pool view, We could see the sea through a break in the palm trees if we lent out the balcony and twisted our neck !!!, We complained and were given another room that was even worse !!! then a third room was shown to us which was a little better and had candles lit to help stop the smell, We accepted after some debate although we were still not happy and said we would contact our holiday rep ( Alice ) which we did and she told us that Arthur ( another rep ) would be with us the next morning, Not the best first impressions, The next morning we met Arthur and told him we wanted to change hotels if a better more adequate room was not found, Arthur who after a little persuasion came back and offered us a room at the other end of the resort called an ocean view room, This room had been recently refurbished in a Modern contemporary design and had none of the other room complaints, and was a far more what we had expected with views to die for, The rest of the resort was good with five or six pools and just a few steps to a beach with the Anderman sea so inviting and fantastic views out to sea, As for the food, we ate at the Mom tri royal hotel and kitchen, when we stayed in Kata Noi and just had the basics for breakfast although I must say that the majority of other guests really seemed to get tucked in to the food, The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful, The location of the hotel is remote and a tuc tuc or taxi needed to get in to kata center or karon, I could only describe this hotel as fair with a few good rooms with great views more bad rooms and very ugly location.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

As first time travellers to Thailand we had no expectations and wanted the hotel to tell me what there was through the experience of being there. Therefore what is written is what I experience in my time there.
The rooms were more than adequate with no wasted space yet allowing for easy movement throughout the room by two people. The amenities such as bar fridges, cable television, ablutions and sitting facilities were more than adequate for the two of us.
We were able to view the complex, restaurants, pools, bars and the sea from the balcony.
The restaurants ranged from A La Carte, to buffet.
Breakfast was held in the Cinnamon Bar where surely every appetite could be met with variety and a number of breakfasts were changed on a daily basis. Food choices for breakfast ranged from a choice of cereals, pastries, breads, pancakes and waffles: fruit by choice and pre-cut fruit salad with a number of yoghurt choices; vegetarian plates for hot food and a cold salad bar; eggs came in anyway that you required along with choices of hot food to go with them. A wide variety of juices and /or milk and water were offered. Coffee and tea was appeared unlimited.
The main meal was buffet style based on the theme of the day. The choices like the Cinnamon Bar were varied, matched the theme of the day and were of great value. To experience the choices of Asian food and particularly Thai food was very pleasing.
The beverage lists were complete. Wines from around the world, local and imported beers cocktails with a daily suggestion indicated on the table and non alcoholic drinks.
The staffs at the hotel were brilliant. They were courteous, warm, helpful, informative and nothing seemed to be a trouble to them and all things done with a genuine smile. The dress of all was distinguishing and all were excellently groom.
From the managers, to room service, gardeners, pool staff, reception, bar staff, chefs, waiters, masseurs, laundry services, and security officials were always ready to help with any need that was required.
The family unit was looked after even down to the child minding services on the premises and the pools were suitable for everyone but the teenagers had to show restraint. The beach was probably a 50 metre walk across the road.
The hotel and bars were spotless and the bar staff experienced - once again with a huge smile.
If we needed to go from the hotel you only had to ask reception and all things were ready in a prompt and professional way.
Shopping was available close at hand - shops in the street, hotel shops such as Jim Thomson and a market in the grounds of the hotel a number of times a week.
Would we come back - yes just for peace and quiet, the people, the smiles and the service.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AquaRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

The Big Buddha is on the hill behind the Katathani, and what a beautiful resort. From the moment you arrive at reception to the time you say goodbye to the men in blue on the street you wil love every moment at this resort.

We stayed in the Bhuri wing in a fantastic room overlooking the Bhuri Pool and the ocean. Spacious, clean and ambient.

Kata Noi beach is THE best and cleanest sandy beach on the island of Phuket. We travelled Phuket from Surin in the north to Ao Sane in the south, and nothing competes with this beach.

ALL of the staff are so friendly - reception, room attendants, gardeners, security, waiters, chefs - all are so warm and friendly.

The location is perfect. A choice of 4 restaurants at the resort or Mon Tri and the award winning Boathouse within walking distance. Or if you prefer local Thai seafood and curry it's just down the road or over the hill at Kata.

Being away from Patong is great. It's only 12 kilometres if you want to go there, but the shopping/dining/nitelife in Kata and Karon is just as good.

There are plenty of taxis and Tuk Tuks, or if you prefer a moped is an easy way to get around.

This is one resort we were very sad to leave and will definitely be back. Thank you Katathani for a fantastic Phuket experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aus_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews