We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for skiing - gorgeous chalet...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sixt Alpine Chalet

Our fantastic living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our fantastic living room
With it's winter coat! Our family room - 'Cathedrale'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Our fantastic living room
With it's winter coat!
Our family room - 'Cathedrale'
Twin/triple room 'Tenneverge'
Double room 'Rouget'
Twin room 'Cascades'
The chalet in summer!
The back garden in the summer
Amazing off-piste skiing in the shadow of Mont Blanc!
Ski touring in the stunning mountains around Sixt
The Via Ferrata in Sixt - bring your head for heights!!
Walking in the stunning Fer a Cheval
The magical Lac du Volgelle - an easy day hike from the chalet
The village of Sixt in the Spring
The church in Sixt Fer a Cheval, just 2 minutes from the chalet
Le Point de Sales - Sixt
Para-penting at Samoens
Walking in a winter wonderland!!
The 'washing machine' section of the river Giffre, just after leaving Sixt
The slightly more leisurely end to your rafting trip from Sixt to Samoens
The stunning Fer a Cheval - 10 minutes drive from the chalet
The annual dog sled race - 'Le Grand Odyssee' - which passes through Sixt and the Fer a Che
Walking in the stunning Fer a Cheval
The secluded chalet garden is the perfect place to relax after a mountain activity
Amazing walking - all on the doorstep
The chalet is a great place to celebrate a special occasion - like this wedding reception.
The gorgeous 'Tenneverge' mountain in Sixt
Bathroom 'Tenneverge'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Sixt-Fer-a-Cheval, Grand Massif, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
christine...
ely
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place for skiing - gorgeous chalet, amazing service!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2013

We have been here 7 times on the trot for our ski holidays and it has been just the perfect place for us a real home from home.
Door to slope service and collection when you are ready makes it all so easy and the chalet is soooo comfortable and cosy that it is difficult to leave! Nothing is too much trouble - the food is fab, plentiful and of a high standard.
We treat the chalet like we are at home and arrive for breakfast in our PJs!
The rooms are spacious, very comfortable, warm and cosy and all en-suite.
The choice of slopes is amazing from Samoens - all the way to Flaine with a number of resorts closer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personal service and great skiing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian317
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant week”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a brilliant week and loved everything about the chalet. Sean and Julia worked so hard to look after us - from the fab food, to the endless lifts to and from the slopes, and even babysitting our5 year old with Down syndrome when he had had enough of the cold! Way beyond the call of duty but very much appreciated. The number of repeat guests at this chalet speaks volumes. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The warm welcome and great food - especially Julia's cakes
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules76En...
england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simply fantastic”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have just got back from a Ski weekend in Seans stunning Chalet in Sixt.

It's a short hop from Geneva, so ideal for a short break (although we'd have loved to stay longer!) and Sean knew we wanted to ski as soon as we arrived - he asked the ski shop in Sixt to stay open just for us and then drove us right to the ski lift within minutes, we couldn't have asked for better service.

The great service carried on throughout the break, ranging from pickups from the slopes at the end of the day (its only a 5 minute minibus ride to the lift at Samoens), to excellent service at dinner and breakfast. Everything was made very easy for us throughout the break.

The chalet itself is beautiful, with a great log fire at the centre of a very comfortable and spacious lounge, the beds are comfy and the water is always hot - essential at the end of a days skiing !! Our bedroom was really spacious, and the other rooms looked the same.

The ski area is superb with a great variety of terrain, and Sean is happy to coach anyone in need of a few pointers,

I can't recommend this place highly enough, for us it was very difficult to find anyone who would be flexible with short breaks at this time of year, drop Sean a line and if he can help, he certainly will.

Thanks Sean and Julia (and Sean's Dad!)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpart-45
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm and welcome”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in February 2013

We have stayed here 3years in a row, great food hospitality and effortless transport back and forth, just text me on the lift down.... And Sean was waiting, chatting to the kids encouraging the adults and helping us maximise the time. Catered means looked after here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanjones...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite chalet in the Alps”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in January 2012

Having been a few times, we absolutely love Sixt Fer a Cheval, its definately our favourite place in the alps. Wish we could permanently live in the chalet. Peaceful, relaxing, high end comfort with amazing food is how I would describe Sixt Alpine Chalet. Sean has always been the terrific host and looked after our every need. Can't wait to return !

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in December 2012

First skiing holiday with my brother and sister and their families and had a fabulous holiday. Sean & Liam could not do enough for us to make us welcome and look after us the whole time. Always there to take us to the lifts and collect us even when we wanted an early finish. Coming back to a roaring fire and home-made cakes was a real treat and then a delicious 3 course meal meant the waistline suffered a bit!
The skiing was brilliant with Samoens proving the perfect place to learn with a great beginners area. Progression was easy onto harder blues and easier reds and the views from the top are simply stunning. Already booked in for next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service. Food. Super-comfy accommodation
Liked least: Couldn't fault a thing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelRuss20...
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Catered Heaven in Ski Chalet”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

After a busy Christmas, it was great to get away. This was our first visit to Sixt. A lovely French village with a beautiful river running through it. The chalet was gorgeous. Probably one of the best we've stayed in. The rooms were comfortable and warm. The hot water was constant - even at full capacity when everyone comes in from a cold day skiing. My children were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely food and great service. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Sean and Julia, thank you so much for looking after us. A great trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort of chalet
Liked least: telecabin access to slopes
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;