We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely chalet, great location, fantastic skiing!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sixt Alpine Chalet

Our fantastic living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our fantastic living room
With it's winter coat! Our family room - 'Cathedrale'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Our fantastic living room
With it's winter coat!
Our family room - 'Cathedrale'
Twin/triple room 'Tenneverge'
Double room 'Rouget'
Twin room 'Cascades'
The chalet in summer!
The back garden in the summer
Amazing off-piste skiing in the shadow of Mont Blanc!
Ski touring in the stunning mountains around Sixt
The Via Ferrata in Sixt - bring your head for heights!!
Walking in the stunning Fer a Cheval
The magical Lac du Volgelle - an easy day hike from the chalet
The village of Sixt in the Spring
The church in Sixt Fer a Cheval, just 2 minutes from the chalet
Le Point de Sales - Sixt
Para-penting at Samoens
Walking in a winter wonderland!!
The 'washing machine' section of the river Giffre, just after leaving Sixt
The slightly more leisurely end to your rafting trip from Sixt to Samoens
The stunning Fer a Cheval - 10 minutes drive from the chalet
The annual dog sled race - 'Le Grand Odyssee' - which passes through Sixt and the Fer a Che
Walking in the stunning Fer a Cheval
The secluded chalet garden is the perfect place to relax after a mountain activity
Amazing walking - all on the doorstep
The chalet is a great place to celebrate a special occasion - like this wedding reception.
The gorgeous 'Tenneverge' mountain in Sixt
Bathroom 'Tenneverge'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Sixt-Fer-a-Cheval, Grand Massif, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Pangbourn...
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely chalet, great location, fantastic skiing!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I visited with my husband, Mum, Dad, Sister & her boyfriend in Feb 2014. The Chalet is stunning, great views and plenty of space. It's toasty and warm and well equipped. My Mum is a non-skier and enjoyed sitting in the sunshine (yes, really, in Feb!) or by the fire with a book or DVD. The village is sweet with lots of shops and ski hire was so quick and efficient. The rest of us enjoyed the skiing in Samoens, Morillion and Savigny. Savigny was 2 mins on the free bus and relatively empty, we had our own private chair lift! We had great weather during our stay as well, lucky us! Most of the stay we were self-catered, but the first night we enjoyed food cooked for us in the chalet :) The food cooked by Sean & his team was superb, so tasty and generous portions. The Chalet is also convenient for the free ski bus stop and has a lovely, big living room for our group. Also, Sean couldn't do enough to help us both during our trip and prior to our trip. Would recommend and really hope to come again!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The big lounge with stove
Liked least: Leaving was hard!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainFa...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, warm but very chilled - in a beautiful alpine setting!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

If you are looking for a really relaxing time but still want to enjoy some of the finest skiing, an hour from Geneva airport then I recommend Sixt Alpine Chalet in the Grand Massif. I have stayed here five times and it never disappoints. Sean & Julia know how to look after their guests and make you feel totally at home. Close to the mountains but away from any noise its set in the most beautiful location, just wait til you get up and look out of the curtains...

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJS2910
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our favourite ski chalet!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Another fantastic week at the chalet. Thanks Sean & Julia! This is our 5th stay at the chalet. We return time & again because it is cosy, comfortable, relaxed and friendly. The kids love the pancakes and make themselves at home as soon as they walk through the door. We love the squashy sofas & chilled atmosphere. The skiing is great for all levels with easy access to the slopes. Sean & Julia are attentive hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy R
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy & Perfect”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Amazing break, warm and friendly hosts. Beautiful meals, amazing homemade cakes and beautiful chalet. Perfect place to bring children, you can chill in front of a warm log burning fire on comfy sofas, listen to music, watch TV play games what more can you ask for! Definitely will be coming again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The warm ambience of the chalet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Thanks very much for the review Mandy. Hope you are all well!
Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
ely
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place for skiing - gorgeous chalet, amazing service!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2013

We have been here 7 times on the trot for our ski holidays and it has been just the perfect place for us a real home from home.
Door to slope service and collection when you are ready makes it all so easy and the chalet is soooo comfortable and cosy that it is difficult to leave! Nothing is too much trouble - the food is fab, plentiful and of a high standard.
We treat the chalet like we are at home and arrive for breakfast in our PJs!
The rooms are spacious, very comfortable, warm and cosy and all en-suite.
The choice of slopes is amazing from Samoens - all the way to Flaine with a number of resorts closer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personal service and great skiing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian317
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant week”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a brilliant week and loved everything about the chalet. Sean and Julia worked so hard to look after us - from the fab food, to the endless lifts to and from the slopes, and even babysitting our5 year old with Down syndrome when he had had enough of the cold! Way beyond the call of duty but very much appreciated. The number of repeat guests at this chalet speaks volumes. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The warm welcome and great food - especially Julia's cakes
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules76En...
Richfield, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simply fantastic”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have just got back from a Ski weekend in Seans stunning Chalet in Sixt.

It's a short hop from Geneva, so ideal for a short break (although we'd have loved to stay longer!) and Sean knew we wanted to ski as soon as we arrived - he asked the ski shop in Sixt to stay open just for us and then drove us right to the ski lift within minutes, we couldn't have asked for better service.

The great service carried on throughout the break, ranging from pickups from the slopes at the end of the day (its only a 5 minute minibus ride to the lift at Samoens), to excellent service at dinner and breakfast. Everything was made very easy for us throughout the break.

The chalet itself is beautiful, with a great log fire at the centre of a very comfortable and spacious lounge, the beds are comfy and the water is always hot - essential at the end of a days skiing !! Our bedroom was really spacious, and the other rooms looked the same.

The ski area is superb with a great variety of terrain, and Sean is happy to coach anyone in need of a few pointers,

I can't recommend this place highly enough, for us it was very difficult to find anyone who would be flexible with short breaks at this time of year, drop Sean a line and if he can help, he certainly will.

Thanks Sean and Julia (and Sean's Dad!)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing