We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sixt Alpine Chalet sets the benchmark for catered...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sixt Alpine Chalet

Our fantastic living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our fantastic living room
With it's winter coat! Our family room - 'Cathedrale'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Our fantastic living room
With it's winter coat!
Our family room - 'Cathedrale'
Twin/triple room 'Tenneverge'
Double room 'Rouget'
Twin room 'Cascades'
The chalet in summer!
The back garden in the summer
Amazing off-piste skiing in the shadow of Mont Blanc!
Ski touring in the stunning mountains around Sixt
The Via Ferrata in Sixt - bring your head for heights!!
Walking in the stunning Fer a Cheval
The magical Lac du Volgelle - an easy day hike from the chalet
The village of Sixt in the Spring
The church in Sixt Fer a Cheval, just 2 minutes from the chalet
Le Point de Sales - Sixt
Para-penting at Samoens
Walking in a winter wonderland!!
The 'washing machine' section of the river Giffre, just after leaving Sixt
The slightly more leisurely end to your rafting trip from Sixt to Samoens
The stunning Fer a Cheval - 10 minutes drive from the chalet
The annual dog sled race - 'Le Grand Odyssee' - which passes through Sixt and the Fer a Che
Walking in the stunning Fer a Cheval
The secluded chalet garden is the perfect place to relax after a mountain activity
Amazing walking - all on the doorstep
The chalet is a great place to celebrate a special occasion - like this wedding reception.
The gorgeous 'Tenneverge' mountain in Sixt
Bathroom 'Tenneverge'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Sixt-Fer-a-Cheval, Grand Massif, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Billy H
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sixt Alpine Chalet sets the benchmark for catered chalets !!”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This was our first visit to Le Grand Massif so Sixt Alpine Chalet was a new experience. Sean and Julia are the perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble as Sean will advise, drive, collect and deliver at any time. Clearly an experienced "Grand Massif" man with a great sense of humour and a willingness to serve that is seldom met these days. Julia is a chef "par excellence" - never have we eaten food of this quality in a catered chalet and her cakes should win a global award. The chalet is spotless at all times and beautifully furnished. Our room was superb in every way. A 5 star + chalet at a 3 star price. A truly fantastic place to stay.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2017
So glad you had a good time with us Billy - it was a pleasure to meet you both. We both really enjoyed your's and Mary's company and look forward to meeting up again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect base for a week skiing”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We were very well taken care of by our hosts, fabulous meals and yes Julia’s cakes must get a special mention. There is plenty of space and comfort to be able to relax in the evenings and lots of movies, satellite, games, music etc to choose from.

Staying in Sixt and getting to and from the lifts was made super easy and quick for us by Sean it couldn’t be handier. Sixt is a peaceful, unspoilt mountain village, and the elevated location of the chalet offers some truly stunning views.

Even after having visited the Grand Massif area several times before there is still so much more to come back to explore and I would definitely return to Sixt Alpine Chalet.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Thanks Gabrielle for a great review. So glad you had a good holiday with us. See you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edw00dwar...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable chalet, excellent hosts, splendid food.”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

On behalf of our small group, thank you both for your attention throughout our short stay, particularly when two of our group were not feeling 100%. It was one of the most welcoming and friendly chalets we have ever stayed in.

We all really enjoyed our stay, the chalet is lovely, particularly the lounge in which to flop on the comfortable sofas after a day outside and after your gorgeous evening meals.

Not being in Samoens was no detriment whatsoever with the shuttle to and from the lifts and the transfers from and to Geneva made life so much easier and less hassle than hiring a car.

Thank you for being so accommodating with another group member's fickle eating habits. I don’t think he has ever eaten so well on a catered skiing holiday.

We wish you all the best for the remainder of this (somewhat strange) season and for the future and look forward to staying with you again at some point.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Thanks Paul, hope everyone is feeling better now! See you again I hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkmeist...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back - great chalet!”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just returned from a fantastic week skiing in Grand Massif area. We stayed in Sean and Julia's catered chalet in Sixt. The chalet is very spacious especially the communal areas. It is warm and cosy with a wood burning stove. Sean and Julia went out of their way to look after us all when we were in Sixt. Fantastic meals every night. Highly recommend this chalet to anyone considering it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Thanks Adam for the kind review! And thanks for being such great guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor105
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing cakes and beautiful chalet”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just home from a fantastic week in Sixt. The chalet was beautiful, warm and cozy. Sean and Julia were great hosts and Julia's cakes were delicious... Sean provides a lift from the chalet to the lift every morning and evening and also picked us up at the bottom of Cascade a few times... Highly recommended Sixt and Sean and Julia's place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Thanks Conor for the kind review! And thanks for being such great guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKelly_tr...
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An easy 5 stars”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic chalet, which is owned and run by Sean and Julia, who are the perfect hosts. The chalet itself is huge - massive living room with 3 full size sofas arranged around a fireplace and large (toasty warm) bedrooms, all with ensuite bathrooms. The meals are great, loads of wine and there is an added option of packed lunch which came in really handy on some of the says. Some people may be put off by the fact that this is not a ski in/ski out Chalet but really they shouldn't be. Sean and Julia offer such a flexible drop off/pick up service that it's actually better than ski in/ski out because when your legs are about to give way you will see Sean ready to load your stuff (and you) into the bus! Changes of plan etc are not an issue and Sean was able to accommodate our last minute changes etc. The other thing is that the quality and level of service offered in this chalet will not be matched in a ski in/ski out chalet.
Sixt isn't a party town but it has a great traditional feel and there are a number of restaurants and small bars if you feel like venturing out in the evening. The ski run into Sixt from Flaine is a brilliant way to finish the day and at the end you'll find a bar to welcome you back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Hi Paul - great review, thanks so much! Really hope to see you again in the future! And thanks for a great mornings skiing and a great video!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
btrainor9...
londonderry northern ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dead on-Irish saying!”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Brian Trainor-Great trip well looked after by Sean and Julia-no problems recommending Sixt Alpine lodge-recommend La Repossette for apres ski in Vaclane?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing