We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic”
other travellers have booked this property
CHAMPAGNE VALLEY IN FRONT
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
CHAMPAGNE VALLEY IN FRONT
Resort - 50m Cathkin Peak & Champange Castle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
CHAMPAGNE VALLEY IN FRONT
Resort - 50m
Cathkin Peak & Champange Castle
Bedroom 1 en suite
Drakensberg sun resort & pub - 50m
Lounge overlooking the mountain and barbecue
Tranquil turmoil 100m
Dining Room
Cathkin Peak hike
Apartment attached to cottage
CATHKIN PEAK
Champagne Castle
second bedroom
Zebra release, Wildebeest and Impala.
Wood burner in living room
Frontal view
From your back door 200m
Drakensberg House
On the way up
Horse riding 50m
Rrestaurant 50m
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cathkin Park, Drakensberg Region, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, unfortunately bad cleaners”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Hi Tony & Sallyann

I was finding it difficult to contact you and don't feel it necessary to make a complaint on trip advisor in view of other potential guests when clearly from past reviews they have been very positive. However I can not find a direct way of making contact.

I am here on holiday with family staying at the Drakensburg house which has been mostly delightful and superbly situated. However, my husband and I staying in the granny flat attached and luckily the only member of the family not scared of spiders. Under the toilet and along the corner wall was infested with spiders and baby ones too. What also comes with many of those is the sawdust type dust they accumulate. The shower was all dusty and dirty and the windowsill h covered in dead flies. There is also a dead bat under the tv table on the floor. I understand you pay for the location but I find this type of cleanliness to guests
disgusting.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Sarah

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Never have we had such a damagingly thoughtless review and low rating. You are not even the person who hired the cottage. Normally people discuss their needs before impulsively describing cleaners as being poor. Africa is not London and monkeys and spiders arrive overnight.
In addition the glasses were checked pre your arrival and none were found broken requiring people to travel long distance to replace. which you decline to do as part of the guest letter requirements.
our rating to date of consistently been rated 5 star. That will now change.
Regards
Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leora C
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a perfect cottage in a beautiful location. The wonderful veranda overlooks a panoramic view of the Drakensberg Mountains. The house is extremely comfortable full of old-world charm. The kitchen is very well equipped and the open plan nature of the living space and the multiple doors onto the patio means that you are always together. I will be returning to this magical place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Old world charm combined with idyllic mountain setting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon505...
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Peace Perfect Peace”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in March 2014

If you are looking for a peaceful and quiet holiday then look no further than here, the only noise you hear is that of the birds and the thwack of a golf ball being hit. The accommodation is superb and the views are stunning. The only fault I had was when I lit a braii every fly from Joburg to Durban would come for a visit

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola G
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“100% Perfect”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was perfect. Clean and comfortable with everything you could need for the family. Most enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Johannesburg
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kwazulu Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 6 April 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing