We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time delight”
Review of Plough & Harrow

Plough & Harrow
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Aldridge
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,The Plough & Harrow serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lunch time delight”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

For the last couple of weeks my husband and I have been sampling the lunch menu and we have not been let down. This chef is truly amazing at all pasta dishes which were full boom boom with flavour. Just to die for ! Staff are attentive always and service fast and efficient.
tHios will now be our weekly lunch haunt for definite.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyssalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    154
    102
    112
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice bar shame about the food!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

On 3 occasions we have eaten at the Plough and Harrow and all 3 occasions we were disappointed. We were there on Saturday 7th July with a couple of friends. I ordered a delicious sounding Calzone and my wife ordered an £18 rib eye steak. My calzone had bones it and tasted quite average, the rib eye steak had gristle and almost unchewable..for an £18 steak..and bones in a folded pizza..chef shoud be sacked! Apart from that the pub is a nice place to have a few drinks with friends and enjoy the ambiance of the pub and good clientele. The previous 2 occasions we ate here, the chips had to be sent back because they were hard and not cooked and then for the jubilee we went for the bbq and one of the burgers was still raw. So go, have a drink, but would not recommend the food!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trooper777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streetly
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay as far away as possible!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

No one can be bothered, what used to be number one destination gastro-pub for Streetly has become a third or even fourth choice venue. Last saturday night we've arrived to a restaurant that looked like a bomb would have hit it. Never seen it so messy, with fellow dinners being sat with tables not cleared. On the floor from the looks of it more managers than staff, but no-one could be bothered.
Bold guy tried to be in charge but from the conversations we've overheard made them feel miserable.
45minutes wait for food with no sorry. Food arrives and again no-one can be bothered to see if you actually enjoy it, we didn't what we mentioned to one of our many plain shirt server, no actions were taken.
We've paid the full price, left and we will stay away for a while! (we used to visit 3-5x month back in 2011)
Real shame, back to the overcrouded and extra noisy but never failing and always consistant greenhouse.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Used to live nearby and would visit the P&H if we had friends or family down to see us. Great food and drink. A really nice place to relax with friends and family

Helpful?
Thank PUFCMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“overpriced pub standard food”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Champagne by the glass is a seller,but £11 pizzas....come on! Good, extensive menu but nearly always a let down when the plate arrives. Why oh why does a 'Tomato & Onion 'salad arrive with more lettuce than tomato and onion?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldStaffsDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plough & Harrow also viewed

Walsall, West Midlands
 
Walsall, West Midlands
Walsall, West Midlands
 

Been to Plough & Harrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing