We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!!! You won't be disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agriturismo Le Macchie
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I (and young baby) rented the studio apartment at this lovely property. I cannot say enough good things about it. It met our expectation in all respects! The property is wonderfully located with beautiful views of the Tuscan hills from nearly every vantage point. There is a lovely pool with equally breath taking views. The studio apartment is very private, hidden away from the rest of the two larger apartments with a private outdoor seating area. The studio itself is very tastefully decorated, clean with a well equipped kitchen. As we were traveling with a baby, they set up a nice cot for her too. The groundsman is a lovely man Gianmario - he speaks a little English but is more than willing to help you out with any issue. The property itself is located quite near to montechiello - which is a very beautiful town and not nearly as touristy as other ones in the area. It is also about -a 20 min drive from both pienza and montepulciano. Our stay at le macchie was the highlight of our trip. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortunecookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

My wife and I rented Le Macchie in June 2012 for our wedding celebration, and we could not have picked a better spot.

The scenery is absolutely stunning - picture post-card perfect Tuscany. We visited the premises in October for the first time during the scouting trip, but it is summer time that truly gives it justice.

The property itself is well-maintained, the furnishings are rustic and ample. The owner of the property actually vacations there himself, which is reflected in the attention to detail there. Property manager Gianmario takes excellent care of the grounds and attends to any issue that arises in a timely manner -- not be taken for granted when in Europe.

This is not a full-service villa with maid or butlers attending to your every need. It is more of a summer house, and the best way to take advantage of it is to come with a fun group of people who enjoy eating good food, drinking good wines and exploring the surroundings. Perhaps, one of the biggest advantages of Le Macchie is the location. You are right in the heart of Tuscany with easy access to some of the best wineries, cheese shops, pastry shops in the country (possibly the world)

Another nice thing is that it offers a lot of space for exploration and relaxation on the premises - hidden paths through the woods, a ping-pong table areav1 cb, and of course, the pool area.

We are definetely looking forward to coming back here in the future.

Warning: Le Macchie is very hard to find on traditional maps. If you are coming from Rome or Florence, there will come a point where you might as well throw your GPS out of the window. You will need to rely on written instructions so be prepared to spend an extra 20 minutes going in circles. Beautiful, scenic circles.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank brooklyncowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was a gem of a place. We spent a long time looking around the Internet for various places, chose Le Macchie and were not disappointed. It sits in a spectacular setting in the Vallee D'orcia with views that you would not believe, it's quiet and the grounds are immaculately maintained. We stayed in the small Moraiolo apartment (suitable for couples) which is very private, well equipped and has a very romantic ambiance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alpswhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We spent a week here in mid-May, staying in the 1-bedroom studio apartment Moraiolo at Le Macchie. The surroundings are quiet, with wildlife roaming freely (deer, oheasants, hares, etc). We were the only occupiers during our week so it was especially quiet.
The studio is fully equipped, so you can prepare your own meals if needed, but the property is close enough to Montipulicano and other stowns for you to be able to enjoy the local restaurants.
The only problem with the studio apartment is the relative low ceiling near the bed, if you are tall you could have some problems. The manager was extremely helpful, although his nglish was limited, however our elementary italian helped in making ourselves understood.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We had a fabulous stay at Le Macchie. The pool and grounds are wonderful - views absolutely incredible. The house itself is very comfortable with plenty of space and furnished to a high quality. I would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumwithyoungfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

My Wife and I have stayed twice at Le Macchie during the past 4 years; staying each time in the smaller studio unit (Moraiolo). The property is very quiet and secluded. It is surrounded by olive groves and beautiful vistas of Mt. Amiata and the surrounding Tuscan country-side. Despite the seclusion, the property is very close and central to a number of wonderful towns and villages, and is an excellent base for exploring southern Tuscany and northern Umbria. Note: It is impossible to stay there without a car.

The property is very well maintained and the facilities are all in good order. Gianmario (super friendly, but limited English) , the maintenance/handy-man is usually around a few days a week to take care of any problems.

dc

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidOttawa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

I was lucky enough to attend a friend's wedding last summer and she definitely picked one of the most magical places she could. As if Tuscany isn't a treasure itself, this country farmhouse split into apartments is set out in the velvet greenery of the hills and just breathes relaxation into every limb. The views and grounds are absolutely breathtaking and nothing short of inspiring, and I found myself returning from that week nostalgic, with full notebooks and rolls of film. Romantic, yet suited for any occassion, this is a wonderful spot because it offers peace and privacy, but it's still easy to take trips into surrounding towns and cities. It's also special since it has a swimming pool and that can be rather rare, especially at the bargain rate my friend was able to rent for. A nice highlight was when we set up our own little olive oil tasting.....yummmm :) Who would think it could taste so good on BREAD? I mean I knew that, but the olive oil we experienced was something else entirely. Anyway, I'm hoping more friends have weddings and I can convince them to rent Le Macchie, I can't wait to go back!

Oh right, I should note it's NOT a hotel, rather a vacation rental. You can find a full description here: http://www.italiancollection.com/en/Le-macchie.html

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BudgieBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticchiello
1.7 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Monticchiello
112 reviews
1.8 mi away
Agriturismo Barbi
Agriturismo Barbi
#4 of 11 in Monticchiello
91 reviews
3 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
1 mi away
Agriturismo Marinello
Agriturismo Marinello
#24 of 62 in Pienza
38 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo La Fonte
Agriturismo La Fonte
#7 of 62 in Pienza
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Le Macchie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Le Macchie

Address: Via Della Montagna, 53024 Monticchiello, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza > Monticchiello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Monticchiello
Price Range: £83 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Macchie is a farmhouse in Tuscany located in the earth of the Val d'Orcia, close to Pienza, Montepulciano and Montalcino. The Val d'Orcia was added to Unesco's World Heritage List in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo Le Macchie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Le Macchie Monticchiello, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing