We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best stay in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our best stay in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We spent a week in Podere Cunina... and about 4 weeks total in Italy. Of all the places we stayed, this was by far the best. Romantic, gorgeous, quiet, clean, and friendly. Every day was a treat: long walks, drives to neighboring small towns... a day trip to Siena. And our landlords were super helpful and friendly. And if you appreciate architecture, pay particular attention to how this place was restored. No corners were cut, and it truly shows.,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

What an amazing place! You know from the minute you look up the hill and see that beautiful farmhouse on that gorgeous hilly landscape that you've gone to the right place. Add to that the company of hosts Maura and Virno, who make everyone feel welcome no matter where they're from or what language they speak. To top it off, Maura's knock-out home cooking will linger in our memories. Also, a short drive (or walk) from the farm will take you to some of the most lovable towns in Tuscany (our favorite was Pienza.) The Podere Santa Maria is a true find. We felt blessed to be able to unwind in this wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Look no further for one of the best Agritourismo's in Tuscany. Owners Maura and Vierno simply go out of their way to make your stay here one of the most memorable vacations of your life. Practically everything is grown or raised on the farm that you eat, the family is incredible, the wine plentiful, dinner is 3 to 4 hours, the views are amazing, the farm amazing, the air, the smells, everything. We were lost finding the place so Vierno came to meet us in Pienza finally to caravan us to them, the owners are that nice. The rooms are recently remodeled with all the modern comforts, including fast Wi Fi, if you need them. The whole family works on the farm and they love what they do....I can now see why, this is heaven in Tuscany!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceeteetrpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Please don't stay here. Because, if you do, this hidden gem in the midst of the beautiful southern Tuscan countryside may not remain undiscovered for long. This was easily the most impressive agriturismo we stayed at during our trip to Tuscany and Umbria in September 2013, and while we don't usually return to somewhere we've been before, we will make a very rare exception to this rule, to sample the magnificent hospitality of Maura and Vierno again in the future.

The rooms are simply but elegantly furnished, with generous sized bathrooms. Our room also had a back door leading directly to the garden and pool, with beautiful views over the rolling hills.

As there are so few rooms we had the pool to ourselves most of the time - for the 3 nights we stayed all of the other guests were Italians who were out sight-seeing during the day.

The small size also meant that Maura and Vierno gave us a very personal service - the magnificent meals which Maura prepared were shared with the other guests as well as Maura, Vierno and their family. We either ate outside in the garden, or, if the weather was colder or there was an Italian football match to watch, inside the house at the family's lovely dining table. The food itself was magnificent and plentiful, with all the local wine we could drink, followed by coffee and homemade liquors. The perfect way to sample genuine Tuscan home cooking.

Overall, a wonderful experience, which I would strongly recommend to anyone looking for a small and intimate agriturismo with wonderful home cooked food and great hospitality. Faultless.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a long overdue thank you to hosts Maura and Vinno for their wonderful hospitality. We stayed for 4 nights in July at Santa Maria set in the beautiful Val d'Orcia. The countryside has spectacular views of rolling hills and farmland. Our room opened to the poolside, totally peaceful and quiet. The town of Pienza is a short drive away and Monticchiello is just up the hill, both lovely to walk and experience the charming hilltowns of Italy. Maura is a fabulous chef who presented us each morning with a spread of breads, jam, meats, and cheeses,coffee. We enjoyed 2 evening meals prepared by Maura (arrange in advance) which were the most incredible array of foods I have ever experienced. We were served outdoors with one course after the other and plenty of wonderful Italian wine. Can't say enough about this lovely place and our experience there was everything and more than we hoped for.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticchiello
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Agriturismo Il Macchione
0.6 mi away
Agriturismo Barbi
Agriturismo Barbi
#2 of 11 in Monticchiello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.4 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 62 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria

Property: Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
Address: Pod. Santa Maria di Virno Mangiavacchi, 10, 53026 Monticchiello, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza > Monticchiello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Monticchiello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our farm house is in the Orcia Vally between Pienza and Montepucliano.The place is wonderful for your holiday, quite and relax is the best!It's possible reservation the dinner with typical foods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria Monticchiello, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing