We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful Agriturismo at a Beautiful valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Agriturismo Barbi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agriturismo Barbi
Afula, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful Agriturismo at a Beautiful valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Our honey moon to Tuscany wouldn't be the same without our 4 nights stay at Barbi's agriturismo. The apartment and the service were amazing, and the whole village is located in one of Tuscany's most beautiful valleys, and is also close to the lovely towns of Pienza and Montepullciano. We enjoyed our staying very much, and would recommend to anyone who planning a trip to Tuscany not to miss this place. Plus! The owner - Vilmo Barbi is a great friend for a good conversation, recommendations on the area, and has a great food products for purchase.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ido_Mell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

With our 12 day Italy trip coming to a close Tuscany was to be our grand finale. We stayed for three nights in this agritourismo in the heart of Tuscany and it totally exceeded all our expectations. We simply love it.

The apartment is wonderful - tall ceilings, classic wood furniture decor, kitchen with stovetop and a well stocked breakfast pantry with juice, bread, spreads, milk, and an espresso machine and microwave. The bathroom is very clean, modernly renovated with a skylight and washing machine.

The view outside is a stunning panorama - in fact, even just by looking through the bedroom window you can see classic postcard views of Tuscany's rolling hills and Cypress trees. In the evening, we opened a bottle of local wine and sat by the table outside to relax and enjoy the sunset over the Val d'Orcia.

The owner Vilmo is a very welcoming, friendly and open guy who is passionate about showing his guests a silce of the Tuscan lifestyle. He makes sure that everything is all right with the apartment, and provided us with a folder of information he wrote himself with handy information of the local area such as where to park for free when visiting the hill towns, and food recipes for local cuisine to try.

Being an agritourismo this is a working farm, with farm produce that can be purchased by guests and is also being used by the local restaurant in Monteccheilo. Since we liked the food there very much, on checkout day we bought the same farro used in the risotto and olive oil to take back to the UK.

Our next trip back to Italy we really have to focus much more time in Tuscany and we would definitely come back to stay here again with Vilmo!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiwiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just by chance we found this wonderful place to stay.

Monticchiello is a small medieval village in the midst of Creti, that famous wonderful landscape characterized by the smooth fields, winded cypress-roads and lonely houses amidst big fields (short: the typical landscape shown on all Tuscan calendars). And in Monticchiello even the most famous winded cypress-road can be found.

The farm can be found very easily, embedded in a field of olive-trees, a little off the road to Monticchiello. It was totally quiet, nothing could be heart at night, except the birds starting singing early in the morning.
Our appartment lay in the main farm house and was very spacious: A sleeping room for 4, a bathroom with shower, bidet, toilet and even washing-machine. The kitchen was equipped with everything you need, even a Lavazzo-expresso-machine and a microwave!
Everything was perfectly clean, we had the empression that it had been renovated not too long before! The breakfast was also very good, and included also Lavazzo-capsules for the expresso-machine. We would have liked to sit in the quiet garden, and relax some time, but as we only had 3 nights there, we travelled around all day long.

Vilmo is a very friendly, nice, straightforward and open guy, who is very eager to do everything, that his guests really feel comfortable in his house. When we met him in the garden, he always wanted to know if everything is all right. We had lots of nice talks with him, and by the way, he can speak English very good and clear (in contrast to most Italians we met . . . ).

He also has a very good and informative page, take "agriturismobarbi' with the suffix for italian pages, there you can get further information.

The only problem we encountered was directly after our reservation, which was not confirmed immediately. Later we learned that Vilmo had had some problems with his email-provider, this was the reason for the missing reply. So, if such problems should occur: Take a phone and call him directly. This will solve the problems immediately!

Unfortunately we had only 3 nights there. If we make up our minds again to travel through Tuscany, there is no doubt that we will stay in Vilmo's farm again.
And I hope, we will some day . . . !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToAusSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

This is a working farm as well as a bed and breakfast which has apartments you can rent. Here is a link to their website: [-]

We stayed in a lovely apartment with its own porch, kitchen, washing machine, bathroom with shower, and living room which had a great view of the countryside for a very reasonable price for what we were getting. He stocked the kitchen for continental breakfast so we could have breakfast at our leisure. There was no air conditioning but we found we wouldn't have needed it even in July!

The owner Vilmo Barbi was incredibly friendly and accommodating to us. We were flying into Rome, and he let us rent his old Renault car to tour the countryside very inexpensively, and he even picked us up at the train station in Chiusi which was a half hour drive away! I personally think he should start charging for that service, it would still be far cheaper than a taxi would have been.

He produces his own olive oil, chickpeas and wheat to make pici, the local pasta as well as several other products. You can arrange for a tour of the farm, and he also has bicycles you can use.

There is a nice restaurant in the town of Monticchiello where his products are served, La Porta. Once again, he picked us up from the restaurant to take us home and gave us a tour of the town on foot before we left. It is an enchanting and charming small village where Vilmo knows every single person!

He suggested several towns that we should go visit in the area and it was an easy day trip to Florence as well (we parked for free at the Piazza Michelangelo which gave us an amazing sunset view overlooking the city - we took a bus to get into the town center).

Our only regret is that we did not have more time to spend at his lovely farm, it was so peaceful and picturesque it was like living in a movie set.

I can't wait to go back, but when I do I will give us a proper week or two to fully appreciate this property and the surrounding areas at a leisurely pace.

This was our first trip to Italy and finding this perfect place to stay made it so memorable. The warm hospitality of Vilmo and the helpfulness of every Tuscan I met (I don't speak Italian at all) was just icing on the cake.

Oh, and every bit of food and drink we put into our mouths was wonderful. They take it very seriously here and every store had samples of food and wine, and every restaurant had stellar dishes, even the more inexpensive ones.

If you are looking for a nice base to explore Tuscany, or just want to get a feel of Italian culture, this is the place for you!

  • Liked — the peace and quiet of the countryside
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jaxlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticchiello
2.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
1.0 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
4.2 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#3 of 61 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
L'Olmo
L'Olmo
#4 of 11 in Monticchiello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo Palazzo Massaini
5.8 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 61 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Barbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Barbi

Property: Agriturismo Barbi
Address: Podere Montello, 26, 53026 Monticchiello, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza > Monticchiello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Monticchiello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable apartments with breathtaking views of Pienza and the Val d'Orcia, Azienda Agricola Barbi also direct sales of Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Pici, Ceci and Farro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agriturismo Barbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Barbi Monticchiello, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing