We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING WAY TO FINISH A TRIP AROUND TUSCANY!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Barbi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Agriturismo Barbi
Budapest
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“AMAZING WAY TO FINISH A TRIP AROUND TUSCANY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We are a couple and have stayed at Azienda Agricola Barbi for 2 nights in August 2013.

The place is a perfect way to experience country side Tuscany. The house is located in the heart of an olive farm, with very nice views to cities as Pienza and San Quirico. Montepulciano is also close, some 12k far only. Montalcino is 22k away.

Mr Vilmo Barbi, the owner, came personally to welcome us. He has some written suggestions of things to do around the region that helped us a lot - Do follow his tips and you will surely have a good time.

Barbi has a discount agreement with a awesome restaurant at Monticchello (If I recall it well, the name of the restaurant is Osteria Il Portal or Il Porta). You really need to book the restaurant in advance as Vilmo suggests, but it is definitely worth it. I have tried the Ravioli in Cheese sauce with truffles and it was one of my best meals all around Italy. Do mention you are staying at Barbi's place to receive special discounts.

The only thing that could have been better is having a ventilator to stand the hot August weather. Still, the heat was not a very big issue, given the good things and fun we had at the Azienda Barbi.

Mr. Vilmo Barbi, thanks for the lovely stay! Was a terrific way to finish our trip around Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helviolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

It was really perfect to visit great towns close by. The restaurant at Monticchielli was just superb. We had our dinner five of the six nights we were at Azienda Agricola Barbi. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The views were breathtaking. If you think of the Toscan panorama, this house is it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresitaHouston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torun, Torun, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed with my friend at VIlmo Barbi's for a couple of nights and I must admit that it was the best part of our trip to Italy. Everything was perfect. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom was very modern and clean. Vilmo Barbi took good care of us. He was helpful and sociable. Unbelievebly nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We loved the large rooms, the surrounding fields, the friendly owner, and little Monticchiello was an absolute gem. After the whole day of sightseeing it was fantastic to sit outside, watch the glorious sunset and sip wine. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewawet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bauru, SP
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great place! Great facilities and very close to villages like Monticchiello, Montalcino and Pienza, and you can enjoy the beautiful scenery of the surroundings. The sr. Vilmo is very helpful and gives good tips of what to do in the region.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leticia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is absolutely charming place. Go outside the house and you can see outstanding view on val d’Orcia. Pienza is just 7km away. Montepulciano, San Quirico d’Orcia and Montalcino several kms. Even the small Monticchiello is beautiful. Excellent base for excursions (car recommended).
Regarding people. Imagine a smiling guy welcoming you at the house – that’s our host Vilmo Barbi - very nice, friendly and helpful man. I admire his work and what he does for val d’Orcia landscape.
Apartment is comfortable, maybe few additional kitchen equipment would be useful (for example tea kettle – maybe Italians don’t know such) but generally it was OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PawelWehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Really perfect place for holiays!
Very friendly people, exellent and warm rooms (we stayed at Azienda Agricola Barbi on march, and it was even snowing outside, but inside was very comfortable).
Azienda Agricola Barbi has wonderfull surroundings, one cannot stop admiring the scenery!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticchiello
2.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
2.0 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
1.0 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
L'Olmo
L'Olmo
#3 of 11 in Monticchiello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
4.2 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 60 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Monticchiello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Barbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Barbi

Property: Agriturismo Barbi
Address: Podere Montello, 26, 53026 Monticchiello, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza > Monticchiello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Monticchiello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable apartments with breathtaking views of Pienza and the Val d'Orcia, Azienda Agricola Barbi also direct sales of Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Pici, Ceci and Farro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Agriturismo Barbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Barbi Monticchiello, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing