We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Saltee Islands

Saltee Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Split, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Never knew these islands existed. Popped out on a boat with Declan Bates after spending the previous night in The Wooden House. Was shocked that I had not heard of these islands before despite been from the county :) Would highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    20
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magic picnic”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Wet landing means wet landing so wear wellies or be prepared to paddle in! Bring raincoats as it's windy in spots and no shelter if it rains...but it didn't! Great day out! A little hard to find info. Pack a big picnic and definitely go!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Saltees puts the awe in awesome”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A fabulous tour that I recommend to any visitors to Wexford. A hidden gem, few attractions leave you with a lasting impression that surpass a year or so But this one will....I can honestly tell you that what looks like an amateurish and clumsy tour from the docks turned out to be one of the most delightful things I've done in my life... We did not go on the island but took the shorter tour of a boat ride around the perimeter with four children, it was fabulous. That's all I can say. Don't miss out!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank chafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallaght, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Saltee Island Tour”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Saltee Island tour departs from Kilmore Quay in Wexford. The boat tour leaves a 2 pm, weather permitting and lasts approximately 1 hour 30 minutes. It is advisable to book a place on the boat as it only takes a maximum of 12 people on each tour. The tour is not guided but the chap driving the boat, when asked was able to give us some information on the birds on the island.
I took this trip with my trip with my 2 teenage daughters and another couple. The weather was fine and the sea was extremely calm which added to our trip very enjoyable. The boat takes you very close to each of the islands and pausing to give you an opportunity to take photos. I would advise a camera with a good zoom to get the most from the experience.

The boat owner also runs a day long trip to the island which we would like to do some time in the future. This trip leaves at 11:00 am and returns at 4:30 pm. A packed lunch and lots of water is recommended for this trip as there are no facilities on the island.

The cost for the trip we did was €20 per person. There is a charge of €10 for children under the age of 12.

The islands are stunning and wildlife is amazing. If you are in this part of the country take the time to see the Saltee Islands.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Zenaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexford
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“first time visit”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

went to the saltee islands on saturday and really loved it. beautiful place that just takes your breath away . amazing views every where you turn and the birds are a joy to watch. we packed up a lovley picnic which we enjoyed after exploring the island. i would recommend this as a must this summer when the weather is so good. the boat over was lovely.we are living in wexford a long time and this was our first visit.
tips, bring plenty of sun cream , water, tissues, and a nice picnic. its safe to leave your bag when you go walking so you dont have to carry it around. kilmore quay is a bit of heaven also .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jesshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltee Islands also viewed

Kilmore Quay, County Wexford
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 
Fethard On Sea, County Wexford
 

Been to Saltee Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing